We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”
Review of The Wickets Inn

The Wickets Inn
Ranked #20 of 250 Restaurants in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The menu looked limited at first but there was a good selection of specials. Portions are enormous! I had Surf and Turf which included an 8oz Rump Steak and a portion of scampi that would have big on its own. It was like eating two main courses. They came with onions, mushrooms and tomatoes; then they was a large portion of chips and another portion of mixed vegetables. I couldn't eat it all. It was good value and the staff were really helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    45
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and service”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked a table for 2 with a friend of 95 years young and recently widowed. the care she received was excellent the food and service too even phoning for a taxi to return home, she felt safe warm and well fed we hope to make this a regular jaunt, as she no longer drives and widowed isolation is an increasing issue.

I have been several times previously and felt this would make her feel relaxed and comfortable and well fed too, £22 for 2 meals, puds and drinks is in my opinion excellent value for money

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“By chance visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Called in hoping to get lunch but they stopped serving food at 2pm. Very pleasant staff and had a glass of wine and a packed of crisps - would return if we were in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just had a cracking night night out on my first visit to the wickets, having a meal with the family. On entering the place has a very cosy feel to it, added with the Christmas decorations gives it a very relaxed atmosphere. We went on a Saturday evening, and due to the popularity of the place, I would recommend booking a table as it fills up quickly! The barstaff gave us a lovely warm welcome, and whilst ordering the drinks, advised us on a few of the new drinks available at the bar. The restaurant once again is a lovely place and the meals are served hot and quickly. I ordered the chicken and bacon pie and chips, this came as a huge portion and was cooked lovely. Each dish is priced around £7 to &12 pounds and is well worth it. I would only order a starter if you have a large appetite! Also they have a decent Vegetarian menu available. My wife and I will definitely be visiting this place again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good service and value”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Meals arrived in good time. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food was well cooked and hot. Good bar service and good value for food and drinks. Nice locals and wonderful atmosphere. No complaints would go again and recommend to any body to go Many thanks to. Management and all staff

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wickets Inn also viewed

 
Telford, Shropshire
Wellington, Telford
 

Been to The Wickets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing