We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toby carvery, home of the roast - if you're lucky!1”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #246 of 317 Restaurants in Telford
Price range: $8 - $12
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 17, 2015

This place is shambolic. We were staying in the adjacent hotel. One night they had run out if meat by 7 pm - this is a carvery where meat is essential. Another night they were short staffed and tables weren't ready - half the restaurant was roped off as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank voyageuse6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Sorry to here about your negative experience, We are now under new management and hope you will give us another chance. see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 310 of 519 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2015

The food was good but the display at the Carvey Counter was desolate,not dirty but tatty.Perhaps they'd had a rush .They were clearly caught short.It looked awful.
The food we had was good.But not the normal wow Toby experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Sorry to hear about your experience, We are now under new management and hope you will give us another chance. see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2015

We were travelling home on the lookout for a carvery and spotted this one, we went in and it is a nice looking place on the inside possibly a recent overhaul.

We had the carvery which was as usual excellent and we were not inundated with pushy or intrusive staff.

All in all exactly what you would expect from a carvery but some people expect the world for the not to great a price they charge, they should get real and remember what is on offer is just a carvery.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you for you positive feedback. We are now under new management and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015

Unlike Toby's I have visited in the past this one is very poor. Visited on a Sunday evening and there were some customers but certainly not busy, we were shown to a table very quickly and drinks order was taken, we were then asked if we wanted carveries and if so we could go straight up and the drinks would be at the table on our return, all very good up to now.
The chef at the servery was very sullen and finding it difficult to serve more than 2 mouthfuls of meat especially my wife's turkey, the floor around the servery had a lot of spilled food that looked well rubbed into the floor and wasn't cleaned up even when we left. On returning to the table the drinks were not there as promised but I thought they would be there fairly shortly, when I eventually went to the bar I found that they had sat there for at least 10 minutes there was no apology.
When we finished the meal the waitress asked if we wanted anything else and when we said no she immediately almost threw the bill on the table.
I found all of the staff including the manageress (apart from the one who originally saw us to the table) very rude and disinterested
I will not be returning

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mroberts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Sorry to here about your negative experience, We are now under new management and hope you will give us another chance. see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2015

Called in on a Sunday night at 6.50 on our way home from Gatwick. It was still busy but with lots of empty tables that required cleaning. We were told that there would be a 10 minute wait as they had run out of cutlery!! We had to wait to be served a drink as they only had one behind the bar. There was a wait for the carvery and they were running out of veg. It was a very average meal and at £9 eac, too expensive. Used to be good here, not any more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Sorry to here about your negative experience, We are now under new management and hope you will give us another chance. see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing