We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my local”
Review of The Wrekin View Public House - CLOSED

The Wrekin View Public House
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“my local”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

used it alot not a bad pub. Food is a bit up and down though. Good atmosphere good parking and a park next to the pub for the little ones

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a fantastic evening with friends! Great service and friendly staff! Will be returning in the future!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'View' of The Wrekin View - 'Superb'”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have tried The Wrekin View over several ownerships, and quite frankly, am dumbfounded at the recent reviews. This venue is a good all round - value for money - family pub. Yes on Bank Holidays it will be busy, like everywhere else, and because Lucie & Chris make such an effort with providing superb entertainment on special bank holidays, it will be extremely busy. Have you not queued at pubs, restaurants and concerts in venues in Birmingham to be served a £6 glass of wine and charged £3.50 for a 330ml bottle of beer!!!! And if you want a restaurant meal, then go to a restaurant and pay between £15.00 and £25.00 for a main course, I'm sure you won't be disappointed, your purse will however, be much lighter. If you can be succcessful for putting in hard work and lots of effort, then Lucie and Chris will definitely succeed, so go on give The Wrekin View a try, you won't be disappointed. Oh and did we mentionn the superb view of The Wrekin!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dusty5852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible.”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Being a regular customer because of our football team using the pub, the jubilee celebrations should have been a good day. Far from it. Kids had wristbands that entitled them to food. They never got any because of the total incompetence of the staff. The bar was woefully undermanned, and the toilets became a discussing unusable mess. Never again will I open my wallet in this place again. They must have made a fortune today. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK for a drink and pub grub”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have been to the Wrekin View for many years, since it was known as the Poachers Pocket and it always seems to be under new management or refurbishment. It is an ok place to go if your a local and fancy a couple of drinks without the hassle of travelling. However, there are certain things which always let it down which have never been changed, which makes me think this is why it has never done exceptionally well. Firstly, the toilets have been the same for well over 15 years, grim. Secondly, it has always lacked distinction, is it a pub that serves food or is it a restaurant? Its not really a restaurant as the food isnt amazing but it isnt a proper pub as there is next to no seating in the bar.
That is not to say this pub/restaurant/ whatever does not have massive potential, for years i have waited for the right owners to realise the best direction for this place, taking inspiration from from other large pubs that do very well, for instance if it were to become more like a wetherspoons. Providing cheap pub grub, no separation between bar and restaurant so there is plenty of seating, certain promotions to bring in the crowds as well as showing all the main matches (i'm sure at one point over the years they had a projection & screen for the matches.) and of course, a much needed make over!
In conclusion good for a drink or two, will i be visiting this weekend for the Jubilee celebrations? probably.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wrekin View Public House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing