We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoo Farm”

Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Considering it is £37 for a family ticket I was surprised how run down it all looked. Definitely in need of a good paint job. Lots of things for the children to do but all at extra cost! On the plus side there was a good range of animals and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the animals that they look after. The sheep race is the funniest thing to see!

1  Thank sam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will D, Manager at Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hi Sam A,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your day with us and we take on board your constructive criticism, however we would like to take this opportunity to respond to a few of your concerns.

Unfortunately, many of the farm buildings are old working buildings, and as such can show their age. We do try and renovate them as often as possible, and usually repaint the entire site twice yearly (unfortunately this can sometimes be dependent on the weather). We do acknowledge that areas look tired and there are plans to refurbish these areas, however, we receive no government or charity funding and therefore have to spend the majority of our time and money caring for our animals (and rehabilitating rescue animals - some of which can cost £300 upwards to put right).

The only extra cost activities are the pound operated machines and the pony rides, the pedal go-karts, both play areas and all of the animal activities are free of charge.

Once again, thank you for your constructive criticism and we hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards,

William Dorrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,685 - 1,689 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to Hoo Farm after receiving a half day zoo keeper experience as a gift and we had a great time. I was slightly apprehensive before we got there, half expecting to see some sad animals but that was not the case.
We arrived at 10am and seeing a large group of people I wasn't sure what to expect but we were split into 2 groups of 8 which was managable. Half went off to see the reptiles & birds of prey while the others went to see the leamurs & meerkats and after lunch then we swopped.
Will took us first to meet the reptiles & birds of prey. He was very knowlegable, and we took it in turns holding the snakes, lizzard & tawny owl which took about an hour. We then went to the cafe where we were given a free drink & the opportunity to buy food if we wanted to. Next we went with Becky to feed the leamurs & then to meet Jasper the meerkat. Becky too was very knowlegable answering any questions that we had. Jasper was adorable & enjoyed being cuddled, snuggling down on each lap looking very contented.
Our experience finished at 2pm but we were encouraged to spend time walking round the farm.
I enjoyed the day there, yes parts of it are old but I would rather they spent time & money looking after the animals which they do. I think the people who work there actually enjoy what they do and put the animals first. A lot of the animals are rescue animals who got off to a bad start in life.
When reading reviews on here you have to take on board all comments - there will always be some good & some bad. If you go anywhere on bank holiday it will be very busy and at this time of year there are wasps everywhere, especially where there is food so I don't think it's fair to blame them for this.
It's not a big commercialised attraction, there are no big rollercoaster rides so if you're expecting Drayton Manor or West Midland Safari Park it's not for you - it's back to basics which is great for families with young children and I would definitely recommend a visit.

2  Thank Margarett8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Myself and my partner had escaped from our children for a two day break and being animal lovers thought we would give this park a go and we weren't disappointed. There were plenty of farm animals but also lots of more exotic creatures, Wallabies, Coatis, Skunks, Lemurs and Otters, as much a Zoo as a farm. Most of the animals can be hand fed with food brought from the entry desk, we loved feeding the goats and the Ostrich too!
There are plenty of animal meetings to extend the day, we spent 5 hours there.
There are plenty of hand washing points which were fully stocked with soap and paper towels, plenty of helpful staff around too.
Only minus point would be the cafe which had limited and quite expensive food - so take a picnic!
We'll be back as soon as possible with our little girl who will absolutely love this place, especially the meerkats!

1  Thank calcot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited Hoo Farm on a number of occasions and always found it an interesting and freindly place to visit. Plenty of friendly staff to ask questions regarding the animals, the care of the animals etc. Plenty to see if you take the time to look around and enjoy what you are seeing.

Not an expensive venue to visit and certainly well worth the money. Cafe is clean and affordable, good selection of gifts in the shop for the children, again affordable.

I have to agree some of the reviews are hyper critical.

GREAT PLACE !!. Look forward to many more visits.

Thank Kuckuniwi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We searched on the internet for somewhere new to go for bank holiday and Hoo Farm looked amazing. We were left disappointed and annoyed at paying a lot of money for little in return! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by swarms of wasps absolutely everywhere (including all over the top of the picnic tables) with 2 small children this was a nightmare. The children enjoyed the animals but it took just an hour to walk round and see them. The whole place looks dated, tired and dirty, including the indoor play area. There are signs everywhere regarding washing your hands after touching the animals etc but the soap dispensers were empty as were the paper towel machines. We would have asked a member of staff to refill them had there been one around. We ended up leaving after 90 minutes and ate our packed lunch in the car.
'

1  Thank graceandolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will D, Manager at Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Grace and Dolly,

We're very sorry you did not enjoy your day at Hoo Farm.

We do take on board your comments regarding the wasps, although there are not 'swarms' of them. Unfortunately we do have a few wasps around at the moment (as do any outside attractions), we try to manage them, however it is very difficult at this time of year.

Yesterday was a very busy day and therefore the soap holders and hand towels did occasionally run out. They are, however, checked every half an hour and replenished if necessary.

We are very sorry that you could not find a member of staff to talk to, however we had 4 members of staff in our tearoom, 2 members in our shop, 2 in our admissions area and 8 wondering around site, all of who would have been happy to answer our concerns.

We are also a little concerned that you may not have seen all of the park. Taking time to look at all the animals and come to the animal talks, the average family spends about 3 and a half hours with us.

Once again, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit, however if you had simply spoken to a member of staff yesterday, you may have found your time with us far more enjoyable.

Regards

William Dorrell
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom also viewed

Telford, Shropshire
 
Telford, Shropshire
 

Been to Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing