We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory of St James
Ranked #1 of 26 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I could not fault Adrian and Rosemary's hospitality service or facilities in any way
We had a lovely stay. Nice room .welcoming cake and extremely comfortable bed
Absolutely superb breakfast.
My rating for location relates to Stirchley itself which is no thing of beauty and appears to have no local pub or eating place. Overall geographical position is very convenient however.
Overall you would be very hard pressed to find a better b and b

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your weekend with us and thank you for your kind comments.
We are ideally located for a good choice of pubs and restaurants (all within 10-15 minutes drive or taxi ride) in Ironbridge, Shinal, Broseley, Norton and Coalport. We do serve Evening Meals ourselves - probably the best in Stirchley! - but please give us 24 hours notice.
There is local drinking pub, The Rose and Crown, only 5 minutes walk away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
159
9
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed here for 4 days and sadly leave today , we have been staying in the Bresselow Room , a beautiful room!! .
Its a Beautiful home !!!!!!!!! , and spotless.
Lovely Hosts Adrian and Rosemary have made us so welcome and recommended some beautiful places to eat . This is a very quiet and peaceful location and I really mean quiet !! so a good night had by all !! .
Have loved the selection of fresh fruits at breakfast as well as everything else ,cannot recommend this beautiful home well enough !. Thankyou Adrian and Rosemary .

Room Tip: Im sure all the rooms are lovely ,but the Bresselow was perfect ,large and spacious and the 3 window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123pumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us this week and so glad you liked our B&B. We hope you enjoyed your onward stay and that you can visit us again when coming back to Shropshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we have had . Afternoon tea in the garden , followed by a relaxed get ready for our friends wedding . Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful . The rooms are spacious, meticulously decorated and incredibly comfortable . Imagine the bed of your dreams and here you have it . Crisp white fragrant sheets, spacious serenity to ensure you have he best nights sleep ever. Open your curtains in the morning and view a pleasing sight of glorious English roses and an extensive English garden .The breakfast was delicious with something to tempt even the most discerning palat. Home jams, breads biscuits and cakes , what more could one ask for . A night here is as refreshing as a week abroad . I highly recommend this most glorious of bed and breakfasts , go on treat yourself ,you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for a flattering review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Can't possibly say enough positive things about this beautiful hideaway B and B, Adrian and Rosemary can't do enough for you. There was gluten free macaroons on arrival, a bag of gluten free homemade cake to take away and the worlds best breakfast with fresh berries, yoghurt, honey and a full cooked gluten free brekky with sausage and toast. Apart from the food, the hospitality is incredible, the gardens, rooms, bathroom and feel of the old house is just breathtaking, tranquil colours and you really are made to feel very special. We will certainly be returning oh and they have two amazing dogs too- a wonderful stay on the way up to Northern Wales to MTB:) huge thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonACBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed your stop off on your way to N.Wales. Hope the gluten free cake survived the journey! We hope you make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at The Old Rectory at the beginning of August on route to N. Wales. Unfortunately only for one night. Nothing really to add to all the other reviews - the hosts, the rooms, the breakfast, the gardens are all just spot on. Adrian and Rosemary put in a lot of effort and consequently make this the perfect place to stay.
We stayed in the Fosbrooke, which has a great walk in shower room and it's own front door to the car park.(handy if it's raining!)
Will have to stay again but for more than one night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lively4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your flattering review. Please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Returned yesterday from a five night stay in The Besselow and The Fosbrooke which provided us with the perfect place to stay. The accommodation is spotless and the furnishings are of a high standard.
Hosts Rosemary and Adrian have time for their guests and deserve high praise for all their hard work. Great breakfast and home baking.

Room Tip: The Fosbrooke is ideal for the less able
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you all to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancs
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was perfect, the kind of place that you always hope you will find but rarely do. The host and hostess were very welcoming, the accommodation was superb and the food which was locally sourced was excellent. We even met the hens who laid the breakfast eggs! Thank you Adrian and Rosemary.

Frank & Hilda

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We hope you can stay for longer next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
13.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory of St James

Property: The Old Rectory of St James
Address: Stirchley Road | Stirchley Village, Telford TF3 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory of St James 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal choice for Business and Pleasure. Rosemary and Adrian are delighted to welcome you to this period Georgian Guest House, set in a quiet oasis, within easy reach of the bustling centre of Telford, the footpaths over the Shropshire hills and historic Ironbridge. Originally the Rectory of St James' Church from the 17th century to about 1975, it now provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation, with charm and character, and that little bit extra. We delight in providing a welcoming atmosphere where the simple things are done well; a vase of freshly cut flowers in your room: Afternoon Tea to greet you on your arrival: a well cooked breakfast of locally produced ingredients with homemade bread and jams plus eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory of St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Of St James Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing