We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal for Coeliacs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory of St James
Ranked #1 of 29 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Phenomenal for Coeliacs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Can't possibly say enough positive things about this beautiful hideaway B and B, Adrian and Rosemary can't do enough for you. There was gluten free macaroons on arrival, a bag of gluten free homemade cake to take away and the worlds best breakfast with fresh berries, yoghurt, honey and a full cooked gluten free brekky with sausage and toast. Apart from the food, the hospitality is incredible, the gardens, rooms, bathroom and feel of the old house is just breathtaking, tranquil colours and you really are made to feel very special. We will certainly be returning oh and they have two amazing dogs too- a wonderful stay on the way up to Northern Wales to MTB:) huge thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonACBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed your stop off on your way to N.Wales. Hope the gluten free cake survived the journey! We hope you make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
155
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at The Old Rectory at the beginning of August on route to N. Wales. Unfortunately only for one night. Nothing really to add to all the other reviews - the hosts, the rooms, the breakfast, the gardens are all just spot on. Adrian and Rosemary put in a lot of effort and consequently make this the perfect place to stay.
We stayed in the Fosbrooke, which has a great walk in shower room and it's own front door to the car park.(handy if it's raining!)
Will have to stay again but for more than one night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lively4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your flattering review. Please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Returned yesterday from a five night stay in The Besselow and The Fosbrooke which provided us with the perfect place to stay. The accommodation is spotless and the furnishings are of a high standard.
Hosts Rosemary and Adrian have time for their guests and deserve high praise for all their hard work. Great breakfast and home baking.

Room Tip: The Fosbrooke is ideal for the less able
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you all to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was perfect, the kind of place that you always hope you will find but rarely do. The host and hostess were very welcoming, the accommodation was superb and the food which was locally sourced was excellent. We even met the hens who laid the breakfast eggs! Thank you Adrian and Rosemary.

Frank & Hilda

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We hope you can stay for longer next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Over the years have stayed in Relais and Chateux and Four Season hotels and can honestly say the Old Rectory is a real gem of a find. Beautiful room with lovely little extra touches. Breakfast was delicious with a wonderful choice of local produce with eggs from the the hotels own hens!
On arrival had a charming afternoon tea with excellent home make cakes. Loved the scones, jam and cream.

Rosemary and Adrian made me very welcome and will definitely come back with family in tow.

Room Tip: Downstairs has a beautiful wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Glad we were able to accommodate you after your long journey/day. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at 'The Rectory' for 3 nights, and found it to be quite superb. We had the ground floor room - complete with wet-room - and were very comfortable. The fixtures and fittings, along with bedding etc were of the highest quality. Breakfast was most enjoyable all cooked fresh to-order.
Eggs courtesy of 'the girls' in the garden, and locally sourced produce made for very tasty meals, served by our genial hosts Adrian and Rosemary. We especially enjoyed Rosemary's home made cakes, along with tea/coffee served in the beautiful gardens on our arrival. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Fitness courtesy of Heston the dog!! Go for the wet room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Great pictures - thank you. Tea and cakes will be waiting for you on your return! Heston will also be glad of more exercise. Hopefully "the girls" will keep on laying for us as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Only stayed one night but had a good experience, the hotel was spacious, clean, comfortable. Had a great night's sleep, lovely home cooked breakfast with produce sourced locally. Little extras e.g. grapes and home made biscuits in room made. Would definitely recommend and if I find myself in the Telford area again would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review; the biscuits do seem to be enjoyed by everyone as we keep having to make more! Hope you can come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
4.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory of St James

Property: The Old Rectory of St James
Address: Stirchley Road | Stirchley Village, Telford TF3 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory of St James 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal choice for Business and Pleasure. Rosemary and Adrian are delighted to welcome you to this period Georgian Guest House, set in a quiet oasis, within easy reach of the bustling centre of Telford, the footpaths over the Shropshire hills and historic Ironbridge. Originally the Rectory of St James' Church from the 17th century to about 1975, it now provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation, with charm and character, and that little bit extra. We delight in providing a welcoming atmosphere where the simple things are done well; a vase of freshly cut flowers in your room: Afternoon Tea to greet you on your arrival: a well cooked breakfast of locally produced ingredients with homemade bread and jams plus eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory of St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Of St James Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing