We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory of St James
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Telford(Telford)(Great Value!)
$73
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Malthouse(Ironbridge)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge(Telford)(Great Value!)
$59
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge(Telford)(Great Value!)
$160
$154
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckatree Hall Hotel(Telford)(Great Value!)
$50
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$109
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
International Hotel Telford(Telford)(Great Value!)
$108
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$106
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon(Jackfield)
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
368
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
368
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakeshomemade biscuitsperfect hostsadrian rosemaryon arrivalafternoon teaeggs from their own chickenseggy breadbeautiful housewarm welcomelocal producea wonderful place to staysitting roomguest loungebreakfast was deliciousfriendly hoststelford area
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 376 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have recently returned from a 3 night break in this wonderful Bed and Breakfast,our only regret being we wished we had been able to stay longer! Travelling with friends, one of which has mobility problems we found the Fosbrooke room on the ground floor met all her needs. Rosemary and Adrian are such friendly, caring hosts who really go out of there way to be helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean, beds really comfortable and breakfast excellent, next time we will definitely have to sample one of Rosemary's evening meals, as I am sure we will not be disappointed. Thank you so much for making us all feel so welcome and completely spoiling us! Marlene, Roger, Irene and Denys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandoutSouthGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We enjoyed having you to stay and making us laugh with your quick wit. Hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I normally do not write a review after visiting a place, but I had to write one for this Lodge, a contrat to an earlier experience from another hotel, the day before!! Its a home away from home, but with the touch of care.

Absolutely beautiful!!! The grounds, the food, the Host and Hostess, Adrian and Rosemary were lovely!. For tea we had freshly bakes scones, with cream and jam, Lovely chocolate cake..all freshly made. Dinner was also lovely, peas grown locally and picked and Made. The scented freh roses and home made cookies, were just awesome

The room was something out of Downton Abbey!! I felt like royalty. I have recommended the lodge to a few people already and hope I can go back for a restful retreat soon!!

Well done to you both!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aderonke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your brief stay and thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed with Rosemary and Adrian for 5 nights they made us very welcome. The room was clean and very comfortable. Afternoon tea and dinner on the first night was delicious as was breakfast the rest of our stay. Would highly recommend the Old Rectory to anyone visiting the Telford area.
Will definately be back
Robert and Janet

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobJanMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a business trip an found the entire experience faultless. I arrived late in evening but was met at the door by the welcoming and hospitable host, Adrian.
Bedroom, on the ground floor, had two single beds and excellent en suite (which, incidentally, caters for disabled or limited mobility access). Nice touch to find homemade biscuits (and a copy of the recipe) with the usual coffee/tea facilities. Wifi is available.
Breakfast was promptly served, well-cooked and delicious - several options to choose from.
I used a taxi to and from town centre - cost c.£6 each way.
Unfortunately I didn't have time to explore rest of facilities or stroll around what appears to be a lovely garden - the setting is a peaceful haven.
In short, faultless. Every service provided politely and professionally.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us after such a short stay. We hope you will find the time to return one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed with Rosemary and Adrian for 4 nights with our children and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and decorated to a high standard and we were made to feel very welcome. Will definately be coming back - thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

We are so glad you had a good time as we do try to appeal to all ages. Well behaved, well spoken and interesting youngsters like yours are a delight to have to stay. (Oh - well behaved parents too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews