We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended - You will not find a better Guest House than this.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory of St James
Ranked #1 of 28 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August and could not fault one second of our stay. From the warm welcome we received from Adrian and the tasty tea and freshly baked cakes on arrival to the beautiful, peaceful bedroom and delicious breakfasts. Everything was superb. The extra touches like fresh flowers, home made biscuits and chocolates in your room each day as well as the tea on arrival makes this place very special. The Guest House is set in tranquil gardens, away from the hustle and bustle but 10 mins from Ironbridge and Telford. Adrian and Rosemary were perfect hosts. Highly recommend this Guest House - you, like us, will definitely want to return.

Room Tip: All room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

We certainly look forward to your return - thanks for taking the time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Old Rectory of St. James really is a wonderful place to stay. The perfect hosts Adrian and Rosemary certainly go the extra mile to make your stay here relaxed, comfortable and most memorable. Beautiful spotless rooms, superb breakfasts and lots of welcome extras like fresh flowers in your room, cream tea on arrival, fluffy towels and bathrobes, free Wi-Fi all make your stay so enjoyable. We have no hesitation in recommending the Old rectory to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandJ0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and giving us yet another high rating - much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was looking for somewhere to stay that was close to the Ironbridge museums as a birthday treat for my partner and fortunately found this 'B&B' - and are we glad I did! The term 'bed and breakfast' doesn't really quite fit The Old Rectory, as it is so much more than this. When I read the superb reviews, I wondered if people had exaggerated, but soon realised that they hadn't. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special. Tea on the lawn, complete with linen table cloth, home-made cakes, scones and preserves, was a delightful introduction to the place; our room, spotlessly clean and furnished in keeping with the age of the house, was huge and utterly charming, with views over the extensive gardens. Added beautiful touches were the roses on our bedside tables; the home-made biscuits and macaroons, complete with recipes, on our tea/coffee table; the selection of good quality and recent editions of magazines on our chaise-longue - need I go on? We opted for an evening meal on the first night of our stay, which was a brilliant decision and we were only sorry that we hadn't asked soon enough for our second evening's meal there as well. Rosemary is obviously a keen and very talented cook, which meant our meal was a delight, three courses of utter delicousness!

In all, if you want to go to Ironbridge, you would be mad not to make this your immediate choice for accommodation; we cannot wait to return. Thank you, Rosemary and Adrian!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Besselow room, which was lovely, but we didn't see any other rooms to compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your detailed and very complimentary review. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay in all respects and hope you will book with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My Mum and I have just stayed at The Old Rectory of St James and it was certainly a beautiful place. The hosts Adrian and Rosemary were such a lovely couple, very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. My Mum needed to have bottled water for all her drinks, so they put aside a separate kettle just for her. On arrival we were greeted with the offer of afternoon cream tea in their spacious sitting room. This consisted of homemade scones and cakes, homemade jams, cream and a choice of teas and coffee, all very tasty. We had the Fosbrook room, this is a self contained downstairs twin bedded room with ramp and all designed for wheelchair access. Although we didnt need the wheelchair access, It was handy to have our own door to the garden and be able to come and go as we pleased. The room itself was decorated in a very tasteful style, high quality bedding, furnishings, fresh flowers from the gardens, and all spotlessly clean. The tea/coffee making facilities were excellent, with china cups and saucers, teapot and with the lovely added touch of fresh grapes and homemade biscuits (even gluten free macaroons) and some chocs. Fresh milk was available on request. The television had a built in dvd player, so I was able to take a film along for Mum to watch on one of the evenings. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower, lovely thick towels, bathrobes and toiletries. The rest of the house was also very tastefully decorated with fresh flowers from the garden and again all very clean and fresh. The gardens were extensive and gave us some lovely shade from the sun (we were lucky on one of the days!!). It was lovely to meet the hens that would be laying the eggs for our breakfast and their two excitable (but well behaved!) dogs were a pleasure to meet as well. Breakfast was very relaxed, with a comprehensive range of things to tempt us. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices and cereals, then a wonderful cooked breakfast to follow and toast (Rosemary's home made bread) and jams etc (again Rosemary's home made) were all available. Both Adrian and Rosemary were around to chat and make you feel very much at home. The proximity to both Telford and Ironbridge was a bonus, yet still offering a peaceful haven at the end of the day. My Mum commented that this was the best guesthouse she had ever stayed in. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse to anybody, as their facilities and accommodating nature cover any requirements you may have, and certainly the personal touches so much nicer than any hotel I have been to. Adrian and Rosemary are also custodian of the keys for St James church next door - no longer in use as a 'working' church, most definitely worth a look in. I will certainly look forward to a return visit!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a comprehensive review. We enjoyed having you both and hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay for the weekend to visit an air display at RAF Cosford and also make a long overdue re-visit to Ironbridge Gorge Museum. We had originally intended to stay nearer to Cosford but are really pleased that the other B&B's we tried nearer to the airfield were full, as we have now discovered the delights of The Old Rectory of St james and the wonderful hospitality of Adrian & Rosemary who go out of their way to ensure that every aspect of your stay with them is just perfect, from the delightfully designed rooms named after past Rectors of the little St James church next door through to the gourmet breakfast with the emphasis on home made ingredients including Rosemary's very tasty preserves and Mavis, Phylis & Co's new laid eggs (their own very free range chickens!). The location is really convenient for Ironbidge and anyone intending to spend a few days visiting all the various museum sites around the Gorge ( there's a lot to see!) and the beautiful surrounding Shropshire countryside could do no better than stay with Rosemary & Adrian. Many thanks to them both, we will be back!!

Room Tip: We chose the double room with en-suite bathroom at the "front" of the house which is actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streamline_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

We too, are glad that other B&B's near Cosford were full! Very pleased to have you stay with us and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Telford is the natural centre from which to experience the Ironbridge complex of nine Museums. Visitors come to explore the region and others, as I did, stay because of work requirements. The Old Rectory of St James is a haven in the middle of busy Telford. The beautiful old house has been renovated with elegance and flair by its owners, Adrian and Rosemary Brown. Visitors are welcomed with genuine warmth and delicious tea, home cooked scones with finest home made preserves. Bedrooms are varied in colour, style each with their own en suite facilities; baths, showers and flooring are all finished to a very high standard. Rosemary's feeling for colour, rich textures and fabrics are displayed to excellent advantage. Having worked in Telford for many years, I am still surprised at the peace and serene atmosphere that enfold this beautiful place. Allow time to enjoy the garden and the restful sitting room, select locally sourced food, professionally prepared, from the breakfast menu and then find an excuse to arrange a family festival as your hosts will fulfil each person's requirements with quiet, friendly professionalism.

Room Tip: Discuss your likes and requirements with your hosts when you book; they will do everything possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review which I am sure other visitors will find very useful and helpful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having stayed in B&B's around the UK over many years this is undoubtedly the best! We do not usually bother with internet reviews however The Old Rectory of St James is worthy of note as it was excellent in all aspects. Both Rosemary and Adrian were the perfect hosts creating a welcoming and friendly experience in lovely surroundings. The accomodation was immaculate - spotlessly clean, spacious and interesting. Breakfasting was also a treat with a wide choice of options using homemade and local produce - we will definitley be back - highly recommended
William and Janis

Room Tip: Try the afternoon tea and home baking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for taking time to leave us a very flattering review. Very pleased you enjoyed the home baking and we hope to see you again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
20.2 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
4.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
2.3 mi away
The Stanage
The Stanage
#2 of 28 in Telford
313 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hundred House Hotel
Hundred House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Norton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory of St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory of St James

Address: Stirchley Road | Stirchley Village, Telford TF3 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range: $116 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory of St James 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal choice for Business and Pleasure. Rosemary and Adrian are delighted to welcome you to this period Georgian Guest House, set in a quiet oasis, within easy reach of the bustling centre of Telford, the footpaths over the Shropshire hills and historic Ironbridge. Originally the Rectory of St James' Church from the 17th century to about 1975, it now provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation, with charm and character, and that little bit extra. We delight in providing a welcoming atmosphere where the simple things are done well; a vase of freshly cut flowers in your room: Afternoon Tea to greet you on your arrival: a well cooked breakfast of locally produced ingredients with homemade bread and jams plus eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Rectory of St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Of St James Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing