We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel in a convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed a weekend at Telford Hotel and Golf Resort recently and enjoyed a relaxing time. Spa facilities and swimming pool good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Rooms warm and clean. We took a small dog who was welcomed, but there is an extra charge for this (better than putting her in kennels).

Fabulous views from the restaurant towards the Gorge, so very handy for sightseeing and museums. There was a good selection for breakfast hot/cold buffet. A warm and comfortable hotel which was just what we needed on this wet, cold February weekend. Would definitely return especially if we could get another great deal as we did this time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathPaulR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments, I am delighted to hear about your stay. I would suggest please keep an eye on our website we are always having great offers through out the year.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of few local to us which has great views, hence why we booked our wedding here! Throughout the planning process we were looked after very well by Danielle. On the day (15th) we were looked after by Hannah (? Please confirm name?!) and she was just so lovely, relaxed, helpful and calming! Guests praised how well the day went, especially the setup of the wedding breakfast and food. DJ provided by the venue was also very good, and accommodating to our song choices which you don't always get nowadays!

Thanks everyone for helping to make our day so special :-)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank TelfordGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear of you experience on your very special day.
Thank you for your very kind comments i have passed them on to Hannah and her team.
Once again thank.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just enjoyed a spa day recently at this hotel and it was amazing. It was a time for my husband and I to enjoy ourselves and relax. The facilites are lovely, a steam room, a sauna, a big swimming pool, a special envigorating shower and a relaxation room. Shree on reception was so lovely in explaining everything about the treatments etc and the lovely Rachel who did my treatments was second to none! She knew exactly how to do each treatment and didn't rush and made me feel like a million dollars!There was a noisy conference above the treatment room for which Rachel and Shree apologised profusely and I was given a free gift set of the ESPA products by the manager, bonus! The champagne lunch which was included in our package was pre-cooked but beautifully presented. We decided not to have that food as it was cold and ordered some fresh food. The bar manager wouldn't accept payment for our food as he said we had been unsatisfied with the service so it was a gesture from the hotel. We both thought that was a lovely gesture. The hotel, the staff and the facilities really made our day special. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear of your experience in our Spa thank you for shearing it with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just had a lovely relaxing overnight spa break with my daughter. Hotel was great, very clean modern with great service and food. Spa pool was lovely but no Jacuzzi also could do with complementary hot drinks machine, the treatments we had in the package were ok but not the best I have had but still very nice, the spa package included DB and B and all was delicious. All in all a lovely stay in a very nice modern hotel and spa and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant Spa and stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

very enjoyable stay,the staff were approachable,courtious and friendly,room was very clean and comfortable, bath/shower was very good,tea coffee topped up,dad likes his tea ! Breakfast was good and plentyfull.Both Dad and i would stay here again if either of us where to be in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments, i am delighted to hear you and your father had a great stay with us.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed overnight 19th/20th January. Room was clean and tidy and had all the necessary requirements. Had three course dinner in the restaurant, friendly staff, starters were good, main course had limited meat choice, dessert/cheese board was good. Spent good quiet night in room without any disturbance. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of buffet style cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices, pastries etc as well as a good English breakfast (lacked black pudding) with a proper sausage and freshly cooked eggs (superb). A lovely local lady waited on us at breakfast and she was great- nothing too much trouble. She obtained porridge and blueberries from the kitchen (even when they were not on the menu) for my nephew.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on west side have a view over Ironbridge & the R. Severn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments, I have passed your comments to all my team.
Once again thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very, very dissapointing, we asked for a quiet room and a bath with our booking and got neither.

Had to call reception at 12.30am due to the disco and party noise from the room directly below us and we were told it would probably be another hour until it stopped as there was a function on. The noise eventually stoped but was then replaced with a cooling unit directly below our window firing up every 45 minutes, which was clearly faulty as it sounded like a tractor running.

I would have closed the window at this point, but we couldn't as the heating would not turn off in the room and insisted instead on cooking us virtually all night. The heat was so bad that we tried to run some cold water from the bathroom tap for a drink in the middle of the night (there was no complimentary bottle of water in the room) but the tap insisted on spitting out boiling water only and this was the same for the shower which seemed to have deleoped the same problem as the sink.

We complained to the general manager the next morning who was extremely apologetic, confirming that our requests had been missed and a quiet room and bath were both available and he advised us that they had been having some problems with the heating system, as other clients had complained the heating and hot water was not hot enough. He offered us a gesture of goodwill which we have accepted and we will be revisiting the hotel again in a couple of months.

To end on a positive note though, the Spa is fantastic and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you ring first to check that a quiet room and bath are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, as discussed during our conversation we did miss your request for a quiet room and the heating issues have now been resolved.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Lavizani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
954 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Great Hay Drive, Sutton Heights, Telford TF7 4DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telford
#1 Family Hotel in Telford
#2 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range: $104 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel resides in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Ironbridge Gorge and overlooks the gorge. You can look out over them from our 1779 Restaurant, while you feast on seasonal dishes. Or from your contemporary suite, with LCD TV, stylish décor and fabulous bathroom. You can daydream of them while you’re massaged into a state of relaxation in our spa. And you can walk amongst them as you wander our 170 acres of idyllic grounds, or play a round of golf on our exceptional course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Telford Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford Hotel & Golf Telford
Telford Hotel And Golf Resort
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing