We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great break destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great break destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came away on a special offer weekend deal and were very pleased with our stay (we didn't play golf!). Very convenient for a lot of lovely attractions and countryside in Shropshire, the hotel is a nice place to be staying with a functional little gym, bar etc.

Special comment needs to be made with regards to the restaurant, this has had a relatively poor reputation, we are told, but on our visit was excellent (2 breakfasts and 2 dinners as part of the package) and the new "team" - chef and restaurant manager - have only just started and both seem to have both high aspirations for the place and the skill to pull it off and I look forward to going back once they have had a chance to make their mark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Monkey_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Doctor_Monkey_99,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such great feedback.

Indeed our Head Chef and Assistant Restaurant Manager are new and i will pass on yopur comments to them both. I do hope that you will be able to return to the hotel in the future and see the changes that the whole team here have implemented.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    408
    232
    89
    46
See reviews for
156
460
31
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on the special deal. Bed, breakfast and dinner for around £50 per head per night proved to be excellent value for money. Restaurant food was surprisingly good. The staff were universally helpful. Special praise for duty manager Laura in the restaurant. Room was fine. Corridors could do with sprucing up - too much suitcase damage on the walls and not enough heating. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Howards19,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a great review.

I will be passing on your comments to the team and especially Laura.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic 2 day Q-Hotels DBB deal. The hotel, staff and food were excellent. Laura in the restaurant was quite suberb as were the rest of the helpful staff. Great value for money and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear PAUL D,

Thank you for leaving such a great review.

I will ensure that Laura, receives a copy of your review and recognized for delivering such Quality service.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I have visited five branches of Q-Hotels as they are normally value for money and the facilities are good with spacious bright clean bedrooms, which when we go away to relax is a must for us as feeling closed in is a no no. Hubby decided to book two days away at TheTelford branch and when we walked into our allocated bedroom his face looked so dissapointed, as we were there to celebrate my 50TH birthday he had payed extra to upgrade but it was one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. To us it felt claustrophobic and a little bit outdated, it certainly wasn't what we expected in an upgrade from past experiences of their normal tariff rooms. Certainly wasn't worth paying the extra, bit of a let down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Has1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Has1963,

May i thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and to also wish you a belated Happy Birthday.

I am disappointed that you feel that the room that you were allocated was not up to standard, indeed our Q Star rooms have the benefit of additional Bathrobes, Complimentary mini bar, snacks and luxury toiletries included as the upgrade, each of our rooms is most definitely "One of a Kind" being of differing shapes and sizes.

Should i be of any further help please feel free to contact me.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goostrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Telford Hotel & Golf Resort,
The Hotel was first class with very friendly staff and superb rooms and facilities, great pool
to relax in after a hard day.
The restaurant was excellent and the food equally as good, one slight negative was that
two of the items on the menu ordered by us were not available.
The golf course is well laid out with wide fairways that allow for some error but well
placed bunkers for the careless.
Unfortunately it was very wet under foot, the ground being clay meant that it did not drain
very well so was very muddy in places making it hard going spent a lot of time on the first
day trying to get round the mud, we actually lost a couple of balls on the fairway when we
thought we knew where they were.
We met a few other golfers who felt the course was too wet to play.
However the greens were great when you got there and were undulating and very fast making
them a great challenge.
Would not go again in the winter or when it had been wet for any length of time much too hard
work getting round .
Would rate the two days a 6 due to the state of the course.


Best Regards

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecGoostrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear DecGoostrey,

Thank you for leaving a review.

As you pointed out the course recently has been wet underfoot indeed this area saw twice its normal rainfall last year, we hope that 2013 will be a better and dryer year. I am pleased that the rest of the hotel was up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when hopefully mother nature will have been a lot kinder to us all.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the third year in a row that we've stayed here for a 4 day break for a Regimental Reunion. The stay was amazing as always. The staff are so friendly, and, at the same time well mannered and respectful. This is a group of staff that want to make your stay as pleasant as they possibly can, and they DO.

The restaurant is exceptional, as is the lounge bar menu. If your late coming into breakfast they shall make something to order for you.

We used the Spa for massage treatments. I work in a high pressured environment but after the treatment I slept like a baby for the whole time there, and, after.

There are national trust walkways around the gorge area and the views are fantastic.

We just hope that the regiment chooses this hotel again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear cpldoc,

Thank you for leaving such a great review.

It was good to welcome you and your ex-colleagues back to the hotel this year, we look forward to many more years.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I work in Telford most months and have yet to find a decent hotel, until this one. It's all you need in a hotel. Great rooms, brilliant shower and wifi! I ate each night in the bar and the food was really nice and good value.

I have been staying in the area for over a year and my only disappointment was that I did not find this earlier! I am back again next month and will continue to do so.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod L, General Manager at Telford Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Danny G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review.

As always we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Jerrod Latham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
5.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telford Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telford Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Great Hay Drive, Sutton Heights, Telford TF7 4DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telford
#1 Family Hotel in Telford
#2 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Telford Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel resides in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Ironbridge Gorge and overlooks the gorge. You can look out over them from our 1779 Restaurant, while you feast on seasonal dishes. Or from your contemporary suite, with LCD TV, stylish décor and fabulous bathroom. You can daydream of them while you’re massaged into a state of relaxation in our spa. And you can walk amongst them as you wander our 170 acres of idyllic grounds, or play a round of golf on our exceptional course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telford Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford Hotel & Golf Telford
Telford Hotel And Golf Resort
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing