We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

First of all the location is very strange, stuck in the middle of nowhere just off the main road. The hotel is set around a lake (more like a swamp) and looks a little tired from the outside. Rooms were very basic, the door to our balcony didn't lock and the bathroom had a lot of damp on the ceiling. Hallways, doors and fittings are very drab and looking a little dated. Breakfast was terrible, by far and away the saltiest bacon I have ever tasted and the rest looked like the fry up your mate makes for you when you stay over at their place after a night on the town. Staff seemed pretty friendly. Overall, not a great hotel, considering I have paid a similar rate recently 4 star places that were worlds apart.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    401
    176
    84
    51
See reviews for
132
713
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This is the second visit to Buckatree and both visits have been delightful, staff all seem to get on and work well together, are very accommodating nothing is a trouble. food is first class, the room we had this time overlooked the lake, only fault was the verandah could have been cleaner. We enjoy walking and this was a great place to leave our car and walk the Wrekin. A big thankyou to Managers and all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Read the reviews with a little bit of trepidation , but knew i wasn't going to a five star hilton, as star rating for hotels are pretty useless.

After a minor hiccup with accommodation, Martin the the duty manager did what all good managers should do , he actually listened and resolved the situation. Top marks.

Excellent breakfast and dinner choices .We would have been more than happy to walk in off he street to pay for a meal . Staff are a credit to the hotel polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strathy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed for a long weekend - just needing somewhere to sleep. Hotel is tucked away in the country, in a lovely idyllic location. The place has seen better days but is clean, homely and the staff work very hard to help you and make you feel welcome.

Indeed - the staff make the difference. Nothing was too much trouble for them, always smiling and ready to assist.

We'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Just returned from 2 day stay at this hotel and found it excellent value for what we paid.We had a two night deal with dinner and wine on both nights. The hotel itself is rather dated and needs some TLC. The first room we were given was not to our liking so we asked to change and this was done with no quibbles. We were given a room with balcony overlooking garden, it was clean and quite adequate for our needs. The plus point of this hotel is the food, we have stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels and not had such wonderful food as we were served here. The presntation and quality was first class and we were most impressed with the service given to us.
If you look past the fading painwork then this is a good experience and I would reccomend you to try it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

On arrival the entrance was littered with cigarette ends and a dirty Wimpy bag. They were moved two days later. Our double room smelt musty and smoky so requested a move and the staff on reception were very obliging. Our second room smelt fresh and clean. Balcony was dirty with many cobwebs. Food and staff in dining room excellent. Generally needs painting and upgrading.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmarWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is a very pleasant hotel, set in a lovely part of England, in a tranquil position at the foot of the Wrekin. It is however easily accessible by car and provides a base from where you can explore the wonders of Ironbridge Gorge, the Severn Valley and the Welsh Marches. Or leave the car at the hotel and enjoy the walks over and around The Wrekin.

The hotel occupies a reasonably large site, having been extended over the years and possesses its own lake. It is well signed from the M54 and has the air of a country lodge as you approach it. The reception and frontage are neat and tidy, giving a good first impression. This is diminished as you walk along somewhat tired and lengthy corridors, if you were in the rooms we were (62 and 63 interconnecting). Our rooms were well appointed, spacious and comfortable, perfect for us as a family. The only fly in the ointment, a musty, damp smell as you entered room 62, the result of these being located on the lower floor at low ground level, near a damp wall and pipe.

There end the negatives as we must comment on the generally very friendly and helpful staff, the excellent breakfasts, the high quality evening meal and the excellent value for money that we felt this hotel offers.

We had seen other reviews commenting on the need to replace a bit of the tired decor and agree this would make a difference. That said, it is only right to say that our rooms had clean and recently redecorated bath/shower rooms.

So we hope it will be possible for the items identified to be addressed as this hotel still has great potential to be a truly delightful country getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAliYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
906 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Property: Buckatree Hall Hotel
Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing