We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in Parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good in Parts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this hotel as part of a large group (35 people - mostly middle aged couples) and we had a really nice and enjoyable time. The hotel is located just perfectly to enjoy much of the lovely county of Shropshire and mid Wales. Nestled in the foothills of the Wrekin, you are straight into lovely countryside and walks as soon as you walk out the front door.
Our bedroom was at the front of the hotel and near the lakeside. This is without doubt the best location as we enjoyed relative peace and quiet, a small balcony and views over the lawn and lake. Some of our friends were not so lucky, experiencing either views of brick walls or enduring noise from the bar and wedding disco there on the Friday night. So beware when you book.
The hotel overall is well appointed and decorated, and looked like a Swiss ski resort in the laying snow that greeted our arrival. A comfortable bar and lounge area made for good socialising with our group. Thankfully the wedding party with whom we shared the hotel seemed to be elsewhere in a function room for their dinner, although joined us at breakfast causing the staff and facilities to struggle at times. I imagine it does a lot of weddings as it’s a lovely location and their advertised packages seemed very reasonably priced.
Our bedroom was lovely, newly refurbished I guess and a perfectly nice place to sit and read or catch up on some sleep. The bed was firm, just as we like it, but may not suit those with softer tastes. Nice bathroom and power shower - all good.
There were from our part only two real negatives;
1) The bar service was really bad nearly all the time and we waited for simply ages to get served on all three evenings.
2) The food was very hit and miss, and varied greatly in quality, it had more of a school dinner feel to it than 3 star restaurant at times. We had a good group deal from the hotel and maybe this was reflected in our specific menu options, but some of it was very badly prepared.
Overall we had a great time and would go again only hesitating to make sure we got a good room location and avoided any big weddings.

Room Tip: On the Lakeside at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    390
    171
    84
    51
See reviews for
129
695
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst on business. The surroundings were really tranquil and pretty and there is ample parking. My room was lovely and had a little balcony. The room had ample amenities and it was nice and warm when I got there. Although the staff were very friendly the service was a bit slow in both the evening at the bar and waiting to be seated in the morning for breakfast. None the less I'm going to put this down to the fact they had a wedding/function but that doesn't take away the helpfulness and politeness of the staff as they were all very professional, maybe they were just a little understaffed. Overall though, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wollyjollywonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my 4th stay at this hotel in the last 8 years but the first since a refit a couple or years ago.
Room have been nicely decorated,clean, good beds and quality linen. I love that most rooms have a veranda or open straight out onto a patio especially if you are overlooking the pond. Good food but I wish they would make it a bit more traditional in the restaurant instead of strange concoctions. The bar menu is a bit better for me but maybe that is just my taste. Staff are lovely and very helpful. I stayed for busines purposes this time and there are great conference facilities but would equally stay at the Buckatree for holiday.Overall a good hotel and will definately stay again

Room Tip: Ask for room on the pond side with either patio access or balcony. Other rooms are still fine but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmajj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked this hotel through, booking.com. Great Hotel, lovely position in a very quite setting. Hotel in fabulous condition throughout, staff very polite and helpful, food in restaurant great quality well served, well cooked, faultless. disappointing part, bath was dirty and a lot of hair, toilet seat hanging off, but most important of all virtually no wine, no red, no rose and limited choice of white. For a hotel, of outstanding quality, this was extremely poor. Quite a few people in restaurant couldn't get wine so finished up with water with there meal. I would stay there again but would check the room and wine list first..

Room Tip: check it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr Arnold,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you consider the Buckatree to be a hotel of “outstanding quality” and recognise the attentiveness of the staff. I am of course disappointed that your room did not meet with expectations and hope that we were able to rectify this for you whilst you were here. We are in the process of reviewing our wine list at the moment and stocks are abnormally low, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is truly a hidden gem. Set back in lovely scenic woods and green fields, ideally situated just off the m54, but quiet enough to not even hear any traffic or passing cars. Checkin was quick but not very efficient, no info on basic hotel info like meal times or general info. We had booked a superior double over looking the gardens. Rooms are newly decorated but not very big. Upon entering the room, it was very cold and heating was set on a timer throughout the day. Staff weren't very polite and didn't seem interested, didn't make conversation or even acknowledge you at times. Tom in bar on the Saturday evening however was polite, friendly and professional. Upon breakfast both mornings, me and my partner experienced dirty looks from older guests, we are both in our late twenties, maybe these looks we're because we were a same sex couple, even my parents who joined us on the Saturday for 1 night were disgusted. Overall, a nice place but lacks on customer care and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed that you have chosen Tripadvisor as a forum to raise issues about how the general public perceive your sexuality and have asked that your review be removed.

Our team are usually very polite and attentive (see review above) and I am sorry that you did not experience this. I will take away from your review the feedback regarding your check-in and use this in a positive way to reiterate to the reception team the importance of letting our guests know basic information which is also contained within our guest directories in the bedrooms.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It all started when we arrived we had booked two superior rooms however the room we were given was Not a superior room '28
After complaining to the receptionist she knocked 20.00 off the bill. Not really happy but not wanting to cause a fuss we accepted room.
Secondly my husband took a shower only to find the bath towel was wringing wet and the only other towel was still in a laundry bag. Down to reception .
We then asked to be booked in for evening meal asked for 7 o'clock meal only to be asked by staff if we could move meal forward not happy but so as to not to cause a fuss agreed went
into restaurant only to be told we were not booked in back to reception...
After a very noisy night no thanks to other guests we got up ready to have a shower only to find NO TOWELS staff had not even replaced the dirty towels.Then waited at least twenty minutes for
tea and toast at breakfast and to top it all no Internet to even write or contact anyone to complain.
We are not the sort of people to complain and we tried very hard not to and although we had a small discount on our bill it is Not good enough our stay was spoilt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 24Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the time and thought that has gone into your review, I only wish I was able to identify who you are in order to make an informed response for both your benefit and fellow readers.

May I assure you that we take great care in our standards and we are extremely disappointed that you feel your stay warranted such criticism.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night, as the Holiday Inn, my preferred hotel chain was full (I am a platinum priority points member). I paid £42 for a room for two with breakfast.

The decor of the room was truly outstanding, rooms nicely and tastefully refurbished to a very high standard - unlike the local Holiday Inn. The breakfast was adequate, but for the money we paid, it was excellent value for money.

We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Property: Buckatree Hall Hotel
Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing