We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived Friday 16 November 2012 around lunch time and warmly greeted and booked in by the reception staff. On arrival at the room it was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, a surprise was the balcony with a great outlook over the lake and lovely views. We went down into the Lounge Bar for a light lunch, very reasonably priced and spent our first afternoon relaxing in the lounge planning our visits to the local area, villages, museums etc. The hotel is ideally placed to visit Shrewsbury and surrounding museums of the Ironbridge Gorge. The evening meal was taken in the restaurant, this was most enjoyable, a different and varied menu. All the staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and professional. The breakfast on Saturday morning was plentyful in fact kept us going throughout the day until our evening meal.

All in all, we enjoyed a very pleasant long weekend stay, in a comfortable and well presented hotel. We would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    393
    174
    84
    51
See reviews for
130
703
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked at the last minute to go to a funeral. Amazing value and good breakfast. The room we had and the main rooms had all been decorated recently snd pur room ws spotless. Only two very minor quibbles: the pillows we had seemed old and slightly lumpy and the lack of a breakfast menu. We were ok with being told we could have "anything hot" but our neighbours from Germany found it bit confusing. Did it mean a fry up or kippers or porridge? An A5 menu saying what choices there were would be help especially for foreign visitors unused to cooked breakfasts. I'll go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on our way to North Wales. We arrived at 8.30pm and checked straight into our room which to our amazement had a sloping floor and bed to go with it of course. After consideration of whether we could make do for the 1 night we decided to have dinner and ask about the possibility of a different room. Apparantly reception didnt know of the problem but none the less moved us to a better room.

We had dinner in the restaurant and when explaining to the waitress that my food was undercooked her reply was "I will inform the chef". I waited for a response but nothing, in fact she just asked if we wanted desert.... In my view laughable and lack of training.

We were advise breakfast is served between 8 and 10 so made sure we were up and in the restaurant for 8am as we still had a drive to do and needed to leave by 8.30. At 8.30 we gave up as there were 16 people in the dining room, none of whom had been servced breakfast by the one single waitress who was on duty. As I was leaving I complained yet again only to be told we cannot refund your breakfast due to our booking being made through an agent (hotels.com).

We therefore left the hotel and really would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewdayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mr Day,
Firstly please accept our sicncere apologies, I am deeply dissapointed that you felt your stay warranted such a review and hope that other visitors to the the site will take into account our previously good record of customer satisfaction. Haveing discussed your experience personally I hope that you are happy with the outcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We travelled down from Scotland for a long weekend at this hotel as a family wedding reception was here. First room allocated was above the bar room 103, requested a change and was allocated room 66 overlooking the lake. Decor lovely and good room facilities. Reported 2 minor room faults on checking out, this did not spoil our stay but would enhance the stay of other guests. Restaurant and bar food was excellent top marks to the chef for the high standard of cuisine, it would be hard to be disappointed. the service in the restaurant could have been more efficient, on first morning at breakfast had to request our tea and toast on 2 occasions and it only arrived after we had been served our cooked breakfast. On second night at dinner wine was served after main course arrived and having made 2 requests. Waiter apologised and said this would come off the bill which it did,nt. Overall a great stay, pleasant courteous staff, already lokking at booking again for another family wedding next november.

Room Tip: away from the main reception/bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susannah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Susannah,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that despite some minor faults you still felt we deserved a rating of excellent; I take on board your observations and will ensure we review our basic service standards.

It is refreshing that in today’s culture of guest reviews you have posted balanced feedback whereby both the pros, and cons are considered whilst not detracting from the enjoyment of a weekend away.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Comfortable, quiet hotel on the north slope of the Wrekin – an atmospheric woodland setting. The room has everything you might want: table and chair, kettle and hospitality tray, strong wifi signal, iron and ironing board, comfortable bed, excellent shower and bath. Quality breakfast with natural yoghurt, muesli, fruit compote, fresh juice, etc. On Saturday and Monday my ham and eggs were cooked to perfection to order. Sunday breakfast was not quite to the same standard with precooked items available from a hot buffet. Pleasant service from British staff but be sure to scrutinise your itemised bill on checkout – I saved myself a tenner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear James,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate our wonderful location. Please accept our apologies for the error on your final bill.

You are clearly a well travelled individual with an eye for detail and your review is both informative and appreciated.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The price was amazing. We booked a superior family room with breakfast for just £39 and there was no other hotels nearby for that value. When we arrived we realised that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere but this didn't really bother us as we were driving to see friends anyway. Our room had a balcony which overlooked a lake and had beautiful views over the countryside. Excellent value for money. Me and my partner also thought the breakfast was of a good quality. The continental side was a bit bare but the full English had everything you needed and when we went down (about 9) they were just putting out a lot more new food. We would definately stay again, but only at this price. Now for the negatives unfortunately. Upon arrival although friendly the receptionist didn't really seem like she knew what she was doing. We have stayed at a lot of hotels and she just was not up to scratch. Firstly she didn't know whether we had breakfast or not and tried to add it on for another £7.50. We said that it was included and she said "oh yeah, does say that here" she didn't give us any information about car parking, breakfast (location of and times) and we had to ask all of the standard questions without just the usual speach they make! Another point on the staff was the poor girl at breakfast in the morning who I can only descibe as a headless chicken, running around on her own starting to seat all the guests and then by the time she had seated one couple someone else had snuck in as there is no sign to say please wait to be seated people were just grabbing tables and she was running around all over the place. The decor in the hotel looks recently done but not really to our tastes. Looks like they could have done something really modern and they were trying but it just ended up a little busy. The bed was horrifically uncomfortable and the pillows like sleeping on cardboard. It's very obvious that the beds were not a factor in the refurb and me and my partner did not sleep well at all. We would not have stayed here if it wasn't so cheap because I would have thought that there is much better hotels out there for £50+ but at £39 for the night with breakfast we couldn't really complain. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristol_Reviewer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the time and thought that has gone into your review. Unfortunately we were experiencing some technical issues between our reservation system and our partner sites which is why there was some confusion over your rate which then carried over into a disorganised check-in process - may I reassure you this is not the normal standard.

We also experienced some staff shortages which were beyond our control and unfortunately by the time we were able to rectify this it was rather late on during breakfast. I hope that my honest reply to the negative areas raised can be taken into consideration and am delighted that you found many positives to balance your review.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

As you drive in you think your lost, keep going!
If you have lots of luggage drop off outside first as car park is up a very steep slope!
Nice hotel, did notice coach in the car park , thinking oh no a groupon deal ! But stayed in my room and only noticed them at breakfast which was overly busy as only 2 serving !
Room lovely with a little balcony, but could here every word being spoken in the room next door.
Fire alarm went of at 3:30am then went off again , with no word from any staff!
Room service food not great, Thai red curry had no taste, no spice,garlic or lemon grass but plenty of coconut milk ! Lemon posset to die for.
Wifi free but very patchy as set in a forest so tv signal also patchy.
What was most disappointing was no duvet, only a sheet and scratchy blanket, but with a nice cover, in this day and age a duvet is the norm !
I would stay again if in the area if needed to.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the left of the corridor have little balcony that overlooks the garden I was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseAhmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Louise,
Many thanks for your feedback. Due to our excellent location at the foot of the Wrekin we are a popular destination for all kinds of groups which does not have any adverse effect on the hotel, quite the opposite in fact.

I am disappointed that your meal did not live upto your expectations but delighted your found the lemon posset 'to die for’ I believe the choice between blankets and duvets is a personal opinion but take note of your own preference. We do not experience problems with either our Wi-Fi or TV reception but of course this may be an isolated instance on this occasion.

I apologise that our fire alarm disturbed you which was most unfortunate and unforeseen and hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
4.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Property: Buckatree Hall Hotel
Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing