We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stay overnight on business. It appears that many areas of the hotel have been recently refurbished. Evening meal was fine with friendly staff, although breakfast was self service. Not all breakfast items were hot and coffee and toast arrived after the breakfast had been eaten.
Room was large and comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am naturally disappointed that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. We serve a selection of continental items along with a full English breakfast from our hot buffet which is self service. Tea / coffee & toast is delivered to the table after it has been ordered, I apologise if there was a delay in receiving this.

I am pleased you found your room comfortable and that you were able to rate us as good despite the small 'blip' in our usual high breakfast standards.

We hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel seems to have even reviews on trip TripAdvisor, seeming to hit a score from excellent to terrible, which to be honest did put me off a little. We took the plunge and stayed in the Hotel for two nights and were pleasantly surprised.

The Hotel itself is tucked away, but easy to find. It is also near some excellent attractions such as The Wrekin hill. My first impressions were good with a smart exterior and welcoming reception (including the staff). Our room was pleasant, very clean and spacious (Room 102, with the Sleigh Bed), and the bathroom was the same. There was a need for a small amount of touch up here and there, and some things were a little worn, but to be honest no more than any Hotel that has been around a while. It seems this Hotel needs someone checking on the small details to make it excellent.

The bar meals were very good, although the layout and tables did make it awkward to eat in comfort in this area. The restaurant meals were excellent and offered a good choice of food and wine, and breakfast was also good. As other reviews it did appear that the staff were rushed off their feet, but despite this were pleasant, helpful and courteous.

A word of warning though, both nights we stayed there was something going on until late (11pm +), something the Hotel fails to inform you of. On the first night there was a Rod Stewart, tribute act and the second night a wedding reception. Although this was audible from our room it was okay and in a way funny (maybe it was the wine). For those who want to rest for an early start then it could be inconvenient, so ask before you book what’s going on.

Overall very nice and will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 102 has a Sleigh Bed, but is over the bar area (which can increase noise). If you have the curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Mark,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased that you have noticed our range of customer reviews as it allows me the opportunity to highlight that since the Buckatree was refurbished we consistently receive good / excellent reviews.

I am delighted you enjoyed the newly refurbished bedrooms and bar area and found our food offering to be 'excellent with a good choice' We strive to produce the best quality of food and ensure a high stand of customer service, even though as you highlight we were very busy during your stay.

We run a regular programme of events throughout the year as detailed on our web site and apologise if on this occasion this had disturbed you.

We hope to welcome you back to the Buckatree Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Buckatree is off the beaten track, but not difficult to find. It has recently been refurbished, the decor throughout all of the public rooms is refreshingly clean and the bedroom that we stayed in was immaculate.
There was a wedding fayre on during the first night of our stay, and an Abba Tribute night on during the second night of our stay - but we didn't hear any noise from any event.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The only comment I would make, on both nights we had tried to look at a menu for the restaurant prior to deciding where to eat, but by 6pm each evening this hadn't been put out!
Excellent breakfast with a very good selection of hot and cold food.
We will certainly use this hotel again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: I took pot luck and was more than happy with the room that I got. They charge a supplement for a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight in this hotel, in room 60. The room overlooked the lake and was very quiet even though there was a James Bond night on at the hotel.
The beds are comfortable and have a good clean bathroom with bath and shower.
The breakfast was a bit poor, the waitresses were all working very hard but could not keep up with the demand and the food was drying out under the heat lamps.
Other than that a very good stay and would stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ocmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My new wife and I have just been married at the Buckatree Hall Hotel in Telford. All we can say is Thank you Buckatree Hall for making our day one of the most special days of our lives and the lives of our guests. The only complaint is that it is over!! All of our guests have said what a wonderful place it is from the beautiful setting just below the wrekin overlooking the Shropshire plain, to the smallest things and attention to detail.
The food was outstanding! The service was excellent, efficient and very friendly.The rooms were
Clean, comfortable and had great facilities.
Although we are still riding on that wave of euphoria that comes with getting married, our guests are not, in all we had about 30 people stay over and every single guest commented on the friendly atmosphere and luxurious rooms and the phrase " can't fault a thing" was said, many, many times!
The breakfast was great and there was plenty of it and we felt our guests were looked after from the time they got there till the time they left.
The cost of our experience was excellent value for money and worth every penny!
As an ordinary traveller I would recomment this hotel to anyone!
As a groom I would recommend this place to everyone!!!!!!!!!
We were looked after from the time of the initial meeting 18 months previous till the time we walked out as man and wife!
Thank you to everyone at the Buckatree for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Andrew,
Thank you kindly for your review. We are so pleased your wedding was truly memorable. Your high praise will of course be shared with the team who contributed towards the success of your special day. Your comments are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Buckatree in the future and wish you both all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business as the hotel I usually use was fully booked. What a find! The hotel is clearly looked after and a refreshing change from the usual 'box's' I find myself staying in. Slightly off the beaten track yet surprisingly close to the M54. I ate in the bar in the evening and the food was great as was breakfast in the morning, quick & easy without the usual fuss. Will definatley be staying again as I received a follow up email from the manager after completing the guest questionnaire thanking me for my feedback, excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bellaofthegates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just come back from 3 night stay at buckatree,as we got married there on 29th sept,didnt want to come home,was made to feel so welcome.
I picked this hotel as we live local and i grew up around the area,the surroundings are lovely and peaceful,its not a 5 star big grand hotel it doesnt boast to be,its a lovely country hotel.
You wouldnt know its there as its nestled at the back of the town ,down a lovely wooded road.
It has had a deserved re furb i admit before it was out dated and needed some tlc,my daughter her prom there in 2010 before the refurb,but now it is so much better and we was surprised how nice it is now.
The staff on our wedding day and all through our stay were helpful and friendly and hard working,i was so stressed out about our wedding but it was all sorted,even when few hiccups occured they we sorted out asap.( what wedding doesnt have any hiccups).
The rooms were lovely, when we needed extra things we was given it by room service who was always on hand by phone,all my guests had a nice stay.
The food was nice breakfast ,dinner (my new hubby loved the thai red curry) and all our wedding food,the bar was nice and always had staff on.
Only moan was there had been a leak in a corridor and the decor had been damaged,few guests said shame as made it look messey ,but there was signs saying work in progress.
Already decided we will be staying again for our 1st year anniversary,even if its 10 mins away from home.
Really shocked at some of the reviews on here,if people have any concerns should tell the staff asap instead of moaning after,i do where ever we go,no where is perfect.

Room Tip: rooms over looking lake/gardens are nice an quiet as on other side of hotel,had balcony,also stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisazippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Lisa,
Thank you kindly for your review. We are so pleased your special day was truly memorable. Your comments are appreciated and we value your feedback, our top priority is to provide a high standard of service and facilities to our guests and we are delighted to have acheived this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Buckatree in the future and wish you both all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
569 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
560 reviews
5.5 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckatree Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckatree Hall Hotel

Address: The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range: $58 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buckatree Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a renowned country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Buckatree Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckatree Hall Telford
Hotel Buckatree Hall
Buckatree Hall Hotel Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing