We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I visited for one night with a friend, check in went well and staff were very friendly. On arrival at the bedroom, I had requested twin beds, but was pleasantly surprised that we had two queen size beds, bathroom was clean but only soap and shower gel, no shower cap etc. Did not have dinner, had drinks in the bar they were fairly priced. Breakfast was good and so was the service. Would book again if I was in the area

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F4V-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear F4V-Wendy

Thank you for taking time to post a review after your recent stay with us and for your recommendation. We really appreciate your feedback.

I trust you will stay with us on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Lis Frost
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    288
    132
    35
    20
See reviews for
211
161
25
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We arrived on a wet Bank Holiday Monday and were unable access our room until 2-00 pm. We received no recognition of our Platinum Elite status and had to ask for an upgraded room as nothing was offered. Whilst we waited for our room we had a light lunch which was very ordinary and quite expensive.
Our room had a very odd odour which may or may not be due to the damp weather. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable neither myself or my wife slept.
Dinner in the bar was not any better than lunch and had the appearance of mass produced boil in the bag food.
Breakfast was much better and was good.
No where near as good as other Holiday Inns we have stayed at recently.
We do not wish to return based on this stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Toptown

I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel and I have sent you a private message about this. In the meantime please accept my apologies.

I have explained that we had not allocated you an upgraded room until your arrival as you had specified on the reservation that you wanted a certain room type and we do not have upgraded rooms in that type.

I do apologise for the disappointment with your evening meal and have asked you to let me know what it was that you ordered so that I can investigate, because I can assure you that none of our food is mass produced or boiled in the bag so I would welcome the opportunity to check this out.

I hope to hear from you.

Kind regards

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

first impressions were great - check in was flawless and the receptionist was fantastic.. Our room was very clean and comfortable - we headed to the pool for some adults only swimming which was great and hit the gym after which has very modern equipment and was spotlessly clean. We then went back to our room and got ourselves ready to relax with a glass of wine and went to order some room service but our phone didn't work, really disappointing as I had my pajamas on and didn't want to be traipsing to reception so we had to leave it. On check out we had a different lady with absolutely no customer service skills... No good morning and no ask if everything was okay with our stay just abruptly informed us she had checked us out.

Overall we had an okay stay but a couple of things spoiled it for us and could of been easily avoided if the reception and maintenance staff were a little more customer focused,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickihowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Vickihowell

Thank you for taking time to review us after your recent stay and I'm sorry that you had a rather inconsistent experience. I do appreciate you having told us all the good things about your stay, but I do also thank you for drawing to our attention the issues that you had.

Please be assured that the telephone has now been fixed and I do apologise for the lack of customer service you experienced on check out. Our procedure is normally to ask every guest how their stay has been as this gives us an opportunity to receive feedback from guests and put right anything that we may have got wrong. I'm sorry the procedure was not followed for you and have ensured that this happens in future.

I do hope you will stay with us again sometime.

Kind regards

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed here during the school summer holidays.
It was a last minute booking and for a single night we got a bargin deal of just over £40 for a family room.

Upon arrival the check in desk were really friendly and gave us a couple of cookies for the kids, comics and crayons! there was a kids play area with toys and books etc... and a big swimming pool for them to splash around in.

There was a restaurant but we like to explore the area so didn't eat there. the prices looked average for a hotel though.

The room was a good size, clean, bathroom was good too. Parking was free and there was loads of it.

The residents get free access to WONDERLAND which is just behind the hotel. Its worth a look with kinds under 7yrs but not more than an hours visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catmar192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Catmar192

Thank you for your kind review after staying with us recently with your family.

I'm glad that you had a great stay and that you were able to take advantage of all the little extras we have put in place for our younger guests on busy weekends.

Wonderland is certainly an advantage for those with small children, and entry is free when you are staying with us.

Next time you come, perhaps you will find time to visit our restaurant, we have a special children's menu available.

Kind regards

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

If you book with Holiday Inn as we did you are not guaranteed the room you book it's get what you are given, we complained and while we were out of the Hotel all our belongings were moved to another room when we were told we would be told when we returned if it was possible because it seemed and impossibility fully booked we felt VIOLATED as all our belongings including undies had been man handled across the Hotel needless to say the time in Telford went down hill every time we returned we opened the door expecting more VIOLATION, good thing the hotel was just 2 minutes drive from a supermarket so we could buy new unviolated underwear. If you book at Holiday Inn take care and know what you expect and don't worry about making a fuss you will not be saddened like us

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyntries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Martyn C

Thank you for taking time to post a review and I am sorry that you were so upset. I am aware that an error had meant that you had not been allocated a double room on arrival. We had not received any information with your booking in relation to other requirements that you had been expecting. When a room move was organised for you, a basket of fruit was placed in the room by way of an apology. I really appreciate that your belongings should not have been moved without your being present and I do sincerely apologise for this on behalf of the team who had really not intended to upset you so much.

Should you be planning to return to Telford in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me personally so that I can assist you with your reservation.

Kind regards

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed there this August BH for three nights, the hotel is clean and tidy and we were able to get a reasonable B&B rate. Our room was clean although a missed dirty sheet was changed.
Free tea and coffee facilities in our room and lots of clean towels.
The hotel has a leisure club swimming pool and gym all free for guests and as IHG members we had free standard internet access for the duration of our stay.
Breakfast was a buffet type hot & cold, on the hot plate it wasn't wiped probably as often as it should have been. Overall I think this is the best mid priced hotel in Telford close enough for Ironbridge Gorge and Blists Hill, RAF Cosford etc.

Room Tip: Internet search first via the Holiday Inn website then ring them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Rich S

Thank you for taking time to post a review. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay though I was disappointed to note that you had found an issue with linen. I have sent you a private message in this respect.

We did have an exceptionally busy bank holiday so I do apologise for the lack of tidiness found at the breakfast buffet. I have passed on your feedback to the food and beverage team so that they can continue to monitor these areas in future to ensure that they are kept clean, fresh and well topped up for our guests.

Kind regards

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a stop over on the way back from South Wales. Main reason was the swimming pool and sauna facilities.
The room was clean with comfy beds, unfortunately a double room only comes with single biscuits (my partner made me put that :)).
The main gripe is the pool facility is a joke at this holiday Inn.
The small print says you may have to book once you arrive on some occasions.
Fair enough, arrive at 18:00 phone to book no places until 20:00 just around when we planned to eat and it closes at a 21:00; so no swimming tonight. Had a meal out back to the hotel, try to book a morning swim told only times are first thing or later in the morning. As you can guess this is becoming farcical, contact the the manager who is very helpful and gets them to some how squeeze us in at our original time 08:00!
Also you can only stay in the pool/ sauna for 60 minutes.
This may be harsh but when I book a hotel with a pool I do expect it to be available and not time limited, poor and has tarnished my opinion of holiday inns.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Darren O

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that you were disappointed not to be able to swim at the times you had hoped. As you noted, we do state on our website and at check in, that we do have occasions when a booking system is in place for the swimming pool for hourly sessions. I am aware that our duty manager did help you to get the slot that you needed so that your stay would not be spoiled. On an August bank holiday weekend, we knew the hotel would be very busy and in order to apply a control procedure for the enjoyment and safety of all, a booking system was in place. Obviously occasionally there will be times within that system when guests will be disappointed not to be able to swim at the times they had hoped, for which we are sorry.

I have contacted you privately about this, but in the meantime please accept my apologies.

Kind regards

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
3.9 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,152 reviews
3.1 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge

Property: Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Address: Telford International Centre | St. Quentin Gate, Telford TF3 4EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge is ideally located just off the M54 and offers free parking. The hotel is adjacent to The International Centre and is only a short stroll to Telford Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Guests can enjoy heavily discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions, available from the Hotel Reception. Ironbridge Gorge and its ten awe-inspiring museums are a short drive away. For dining, the on-site Olive Tree restaurant offers a hot breakfast buffet or continental selection. In the evening, choose from a frequently changing menu with dishes made to order using locally sourced ingredients where possible, and then settle into the Olive Branch bar for a coffee or nightcap. WIFI is available throughout. Ask about holding your function in one of our 8 meeting rooms. Relax in Revive Leisure Club: swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym or book an appointment with our beautician. Birmingham Airport is 45 miles away. Capgemini, Windsor Life, Telford Plaza and the railway station are less than 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge Hotel Telford
Telford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing