We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had to stay there!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I had to stay there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whole experience was really bad
From trying to check in the receptionist prefered to sort the mail out with the Post man our agency had made an error but the receptionist would not even accept there explanation when they rung to sort out.
I was left waiting and waiting finally I was allowed a room gave my credit card and progressed to the room it was cold miserable with very few creature comforts/basic.
next issue was dinner I was confronted to say i would have to pay yet i had already left my card.
Food was the only thing that was acceptable
Breakfast was the next obsttcal .again they claimed Breakfast was not included and it was.
Next was the Bill all wrong again nobody would accept that for me the place was very well worn as were the staff they really need to undserstand that customers pay the wages
£105 per night never again!
Terrible condition terrible service Why?

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Alex P, as you know, we have been in touch you to find out more information on your experience and to apologise for the delays you experienced at various points during your stay whilst we sought clarification from your booking agency on the terms of this booking.
Should you be staying with us on a future occasion, please contact me direct so that I can assist you with your booking.
Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    266
    127
    34
    19
See reviews for
196
151
24
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic service, great pool, lovely food. The kids loved the place. The room, which I think was unrefurbished, was very pleasant. The staff were exceptional, at reception, in the health club, restaurant and housekeeping. I would stay if on business simply because they know how to look after people. Telford does have its attractions (Ironbridge, Wonderland), especially for children, and the park next door is beautiful. Just to note that Wonderland is great but only for children under about six- older ones might be underwhelmed.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a noisy side to be honest but If on business you might ask to be away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear J G

Many thanks for your kind review and for the helpful information for our readers about our beautiful town park and Wonderland.
Your feedback has been passed on to all the team who work hard to make sure all our guests feel looked after.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed in room 204 last week. Very disappointed with the standard of the room. Paper peeling off wall, crack in bath, and looked like it hadn't been updated since the 90's. Felt very shabby compared with a Premier Inn room. There may well be renovations taking place to the rooms in this hotel, but they are still taking bookings for these poor quality rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Mr Mommy

Thank you for your candid feedback and I am sorry that you were disappointed by the standard of your room. As you pointed out, we are undergoing refurbishment of our bedrooms at the moment and are on the third phase already. I hope this didn't spoil your overall stay with us and if you plan to return to Telford in the future, please contact me and I will endeavour to reserve you one of our refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

good hotel and location. It was a bit noisy due to an event gong on but rooms are far enough away to not have any noise (noise only at bar in hotel). Good facilities and nice rooms. Thanks Holiday Inn,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Laura

Thank YOU for taking time to post a review after your stay! All feedback is passed on to our team so its lovely to get such nice comments and I'm glad that you were not disturbed by any noise in the hotel.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thought this an excellent Holiday Inn & have already recommended to many others! Booking was easy, as was extending our stay. A week before we arrived they sent us info on opening/closing times of facilities and also nearby places wich was a very nice touch indeed. It also meant I found out there was a haidresser at the hotel so was able to book us in prior to a wedding we were attending.
The breakfast was fresh and the staff always courteous.
Due to our festive period stay, I suspect slightly less staff so only disadvantage on our first morning was that the plates were not cleared during our meal. But Day 2 we had constant attentive waiting staff.
The only other slight negative would be that, having had to wrench kids away from their toys so soon after Xmas, it would have been nice had the hotel provided some sort of freebie travel pack for kids (such as Hilton Hotels ones) as it would have been something new to amuse kids.
For once we didn't get time to have coffee in our rooms- but I was impressed that hot choc sachets were also in the room- fab!!!! Not many hotels do these so great!
Overall a superb Holiday Inn- in fact every Holiday Inn should be like this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review following your recent stay and I am so pleased that you were able to take advantage of the facilities within Revive Leisure Club. Your feedback is valued and we have noted with interest your suggestion about travel packs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you have to visit Telford then this isn't bad and much better than most Holiday Inns. I have noticed that Holiday Inn breakfasts have been getting cheaper ingredients of late though. The bar is OK, I would not recommend the restaurant - the last time I use it we had to keep reminding the staff that we had ordered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICook30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback which has been passed on to the Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. I was sorry to read that you experienced delays in the restaurant and trust that this did not mar your overall stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Used hotel for visiting Ironbridge museums and it proved to be a good location for this. Pool area was good, but you have to book a day in advance to get in at popular times. Room key card didn't work first time, but quickly sorted out. Didn't use restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Albert

Thank you for taking time out to post a review following your recent stay with us and I'm glad that you enjoyed it.
We are ideally placed for travelling to the amazing Ironbridge Gorge Museums, just 10 minutes drive away from here.
For the benefit of readers, occasionally our swimming pool operates a booking system so that everyone gets to have a pleasant swim without too many people being in there at once. This system can be in place during holiday or high occupancy times. Nevertheless, I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Telford
3.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge

Property: Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Address: Telford International Centre | St. Quentin Gate, Telford TF3 4EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge is ideally located just off the M54 and offers free parking. The hotel is adjacent to The International Centre and is only a short stroll to Telford Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Guests can enjoy free entry to Wonderland Adventure Playground, a short walk from the hotel, and heavily discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions are available from the Hotel Reception. Ironbridge Gorge and its ten awe-inspiring museums are a short drive away. For dining, the on-site Olive Tree restaurant offers a hot breakfast buffet or continental selection. In the evening, choose from a frequently changing menu with dishes made to order using locally sourced ingredients where possible, and then settle into the Olive Branch bar for a coffee or nightcap. WIFI is available throughout. Ask about holding your function in one of our 8 meeting rooms. Relax in Revive Leisure Club: swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym or book an appointment with our beautician. Birmingham Airport is 45 miles away. Capgemini, Windsor Life, Telford Plaza and the railway station are less than 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge Hotel Telford
Telford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing