We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Farm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Church Farm Guest House
Ranked #9 of 29 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stowmarket
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

we hane just spent a very pleasant two nights staying at church farm guest house we were made to feel most welcome by mel&martin. our room overlooked the garden&church very peaceful ,our room was clean and comfetable,
Great breakfasts in a lovely inviting dining room,we will most certainly stay again next time we visit our family in shropshire.
We loved dear basil the dog.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
49
72
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Niseko, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stumbled upon Church Farm Guest House on a journey back from North Wales and within 30 minutes we knew one night wasn't going to be enough at this delightful Georgian farmhouse in the heart of Shropshire. Mel, Martin, Rosie, Megan and Basil, the dog, were fantastic hosts and we were all treated as part of the family. Our eldest (3) was whisked away by Mel and the girls and treated to extended playtime; we finally managed to have a few minutes of peace in the lovely town of Wrockwardine.

After the delicious full English breakfast, in the good company of Basil, we chose to spend another night here and explore the area including a visit to Jungleland for the boys and Shrewsbury for the shops. On our return, we spent time with Mel and the kids and felt like we had returned home. Our entire stay felt like we were with old friends and pulling out a debit card to pay felt oddly uncomfortable. However, our stay was worth every penny.

A stay with Mel's family is highly recommended for all; especially for families with children.

When you do visit, give Basil a scratch for us (and sneak him a little bacon at breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The property was as its name suggests, a farm. A family dispute saw the land being divided iand sold off leaving this lovely large period farm house sitting in an ample sized garden. Whilst most livestck has long gone there remain chickens and hens who ensure the eggs at breakfast could not be any fresher. Breakfast is a hearty affair ensuring walkers get a great start to the day.

There is ample off road parking. A vehicle is not essential but having one is an asset for getting round the area. With a little bit of notice walkers can be met at a bus or train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beurwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We booked Church Farm after reading some great reviews on here.

The place lived up to it's reputation. Mel & Martin run very delightful B&B with a great atmosphere and lots of space.

Basil is a feature of the place and he wanders around make friends with all the guests.

Are only regret was that we didn't get to enjoy the place fully as we were rushed over the weekend.

So we have booked for next year and added an extra night to ensure we make the most of it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juswant_rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

A great feeling of a once-important farm house, now important for other reasons! for rest and re-victualing. And being escorted to breakfast by the Maitre d'og.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaja02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was our second occasion of eating at Basil's and once again, we were not disappointed! Greeted warmly by Mel and prompty seated at our table, we were presented with the menu of the evening. Our wine was poured for us and the bottle of white taken away to keep chilled. During the meal, wine was brought out regularly and our glasses were always topped up. Our Starter was jerusalem artichoke soup with a duck confit and was possibly the most delicous soup we had ever tasted. This was followed by a roasted cod fish course and then the most scrumptious beef main course. After three fabulous courses, we were presented with our final course... dessert. An apple trifle with cider granita and a home made (and hot) donut. Words are unable to describe the taste. My mother-in-law summed up the evening perfectly in one word... exquisite. Now, some would think that £29.50 for four courses was expensive and we certainly don't eat like this every day or even week, but for a top-rate meal, excellent service and fantastic quality, it was worth every cent. We would highly recommend dining at Basils and our only advice... book early !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Had the best food I have had in this area for years - and we have a magnitude of great eateries around here!
A small restaurant at Church Farm Guesthouse. Faultless. Fantastic food from top notch chef Martin, served by Mel in a spotlesslty clean and very tastefully decorated drawing room (with roaring fire.)
We had 4 course set menu - just sublime - and very good value at £29.50. Not licensed so we took our own bottle of wine. Mel hostessed perfectly and the length between courses was spot on.
This is a must - have not stopped talking about the food. Can't wait for a return visit...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneandSteve110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
2.7 mi away
The Stanage
The Stanage
#2 of 29 in Telford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Guest House

Property: Church Farm Guest House
Address: Wrockwardine Village, Telford TF6 5DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse providing 4 star luxury accommodation & award winning food. Ideal for Ironbridge, Much Wenlock & Wroxeter Roman City – a true hidden Shropshire Gem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Church Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Guest House Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing