We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional English Warmth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stanage
Ranked #2 of 29 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional English Warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrived late evening at the Stanage, to be greeted with a very friendly owner, who straight away offered me a cup of tea and a teacake. Room was lovely and very well presented and had all the necessary amenities and more. Bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was very plentiful and the log fire added to the very warm atmosphere. Having travelled down via coach, it was necessary for me to use public transport to get to my place of work. All necessary information was straight to hand from Hazel, as nothing seemed too much trouble when it came to helping her guests.
Overrall, the stay was a lovely one and jar of homemade honey I purchased on my way out, was delicious. I even received free advice and help on marketing for my own business!!!
The Stanage is a very rare gem of a B & B and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon123Watki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you, we were very happy to read your review and see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hope to be able to welcome you again if you are ever visiting Telford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
98
45
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

this is definatly one of the best B&B`s iv stayed in. i instantly felt felt very comfortable. the room was great and the bed realy comfy. i was in telford for a training course and returning back to the stanage at night was great. and very relaxing. lovely house and gardens. the owners were really nice and very helpfull. i couldnt think of the smallest grumble about anything. and will be my first choice if i need to stay in the area agian, thank very much

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymousbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you next time you are in Telford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Nibley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

From the warm welcome on arrival to the log fire in the dining room..... Hazel and Graham are perfect hosts, friendly and helpful. Many larger establishments could learn a lot from their customer care! Comfortable accomodation, with thoughtful extras. Wish there were more places like this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for writing your lovely review. We really do enjoy reading all our reviews and appreciate the time taken to leave them. Hope to see you on a return trip to Shropshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I worked in Telford for four years and over that time I have stayed in many of Telford's B&B usually 3 nights per week so a comfortable stay is very important to me. All are of a high standard but there is no doubt in my mind that The Stanage stands out above the rest overall for price, location, accommodation, breakfast and friendliness. There is nothing that is too much trouble for Hazel to ensure that your stay will be as comfortable as possible and for me it was like a second home. I have no doubt that when I am back in Telford I will be calling on Hazel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a super review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your long stay with us and felt so at home. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed two nights en route to the Lake District. The location is convenient for M54/M6. Friendly welcome with tea and scone. Hazel is a hospitable host and made me feel at home. I enjoyed single occupancy of a peaceful double room looking out over the garden. The room was light, cosy and comfortable and I appreciated the extras of drinks and toiletries- especially the bathrobe!- with a comfortable bed. It was lovely to stay in an Edwardian house with the original features. Breakfast is very good. Excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving your lovely review. It really does help to know we are getting it right. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed with Hazel at The Stanage while attending the V Festival. There were 4 of us altogether (2 couples) and as we're rapidly approaching our 50's the days of camping with the youngsters have long gone. Pricewise, the difference between camping and staying in a lovely b&b 10 miles down the road is minimal, but the great room, bed, shower and breakfast was a godsend!
Lovely house, garden (well done Hazel's dad!) and hostess, definitely one to recommend!
Martin, Jan, Mark & Shelagh from Sunny Runcorn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Lovely to read your review and hope that we can welcome you next time you are visiting the area. Many thanks, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I arrived at the Stanage mid-afternoon and was met by Hazel who immediately asked me if I'd like a cup of tea, which she brought to my room with a homemade chocolate brownie - very welcoming. My room was light and cosy, very clean and well set out. The bed was very comfortable, so had a good night's sleep before an excellent breakfast overlooking the pretty garden. Hazel was very helpful with advice about the route to Much Wenlock and Ironbridge. The Stanage is a lovely house with many Edwardian features, but it's a shame that the surrounding houses are all new property developments, but it was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank provencepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed what Shropshire has to offer.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.9 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.9 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanage

Property: The Stanage
Address: The Stanage Dawley Road | Lawley Village, Telford TF4 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanage is a delightful Edwardian style house offering a warm welcome to both business and leisure guests. Secure off road parking, Free Wi-Fi, locally sourced breakfast, log fires in winter and clean, comfortable en-suite rooms. Close to Telford and The Ironbridge Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Stanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanage Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing