We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House”
Review of The Stanage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stanage
Ranked #2 of 28 Telford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at The Stanage for one night whilst visiting family in Telford. From the first phone call to book the room to when we left the next day, we were delighted with every aspect of our stay. Sometimes, staying in a guest house can be a bit hit and miss, especially as you are staying in someone's home, but Hazel came out to meet us on arrival and made us feel so welcome and the house is beautiful, you can't help but relax and enjoy your stay!
Hazel was really helpful giving us tips on how to find the house - our sat nav took us past it, so it was good to get the extra tips.
Our room was lovely - room no.2 - it was very comfortable and Hazel has thought of everything, from mints on the bedside, tea and biscuits and fresh bath robes on the back of the bathroom door. Her attention to detail is impeccable and there are some gorgeous photographs and artwork on the walls. We had a fantastic night's sleep in what can only be described as a marshmallow bed! It is so comfortable I had to inquire where the bed and bedding were from as I want to replicate this experience at home!
After a great sleep, we arose to the smell of a cooked breakfast in the dining room with views of the beautiful garden. As a vegetarian, Hazel ensured that I was catered for (I mentioned it on arrival) and we both ate well, which prepared us for our walk up The Wrekin (a local geographical feature) recommended by Hazel, which was easy to get to and offers spectacular views of the surrounding area.
Hazel is an excellent host, very attentive and obviously takes pride in running this beautiful guest house - and one that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinzAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and managed the walk up The Wrekin after breakfast. On a good day the views are fantastic from the top.
We hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 314 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

The perfect romantic getaway...
After a long drive from Kent, Hazel greeted us with freshly made tea and cake, and had even placed chocolates in the room, for our special Valentines break.
The house is beautiful, with original features and tastefully furnished, a gallery of artworks and photography compliment the stairway and rooms. The mature garden provides a tranquil setting, it was lovely to watch the birds as we sat by the open fire over a delicious breakfast of our choice.
We felt very at home in our room, it was a good size, clean, warm and everso comfortable with everything we needed to enjoy our evening and plan where to visit or eat. The village of Ironbridge was a short drive away for us, a place of unique industrial and natural beauty, where there are a wealth of cultural and historical attractions, as well as places to eat and drink.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it for an extra night. Hazel's obvious dedication and attention to detail gave us a weekend that was unforgettable, and we'll be wishing we were back there for a long time to come - Thank you! x

Room Tip: Hazel was wonderful in helping me to decide which room to book, and was keen to meet our needs. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutestray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Manager at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

We were very happy to read that you both enjoyed your weekend away and found so many things to do locally. Always good to receive such a lovely review, thank you both very much and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at The Stanage for only one night - would have loved to stay longer but had to get back to work. The hospitality was lovely - great attention to detail, lovely clean rooms with great decor and superb photographs
Hazel was a lovely host and made us feel very welcome - afternoon tea when we arrived was very welcome and the roaring open fire at breakfast was a bonus. I would love to come back when we have more time to explore the area. Especially loved the window seat in the room overlooking the garden. Local produce was offered and their recycling and green policy was great to see - all scraps to go to feed the birds in the garden - home produced honey was also on offer!
We attended Campermart, a VW show on the sunday and the Conference Centre was an easy taxi ride away. Hazel was very helpful when recommending where to go, how far away everything was and was able to give us a local taxi company which were very competitive and arrived when they said they would! All is all a very pleasurably stay - David & Mandi (Dave Warren Images) and Steve (VWagen Publishing) - thank you

Room Tip: If you get chance book the room with the window seat - great for sitting and relaxing reading a book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again maybe next year when attending The International Centre. My husband was delighted that you liked his photography.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at the stanage for 8 weeks while working in Wellington and would recommend it to anyone! From the day I arrived to my last week here, I was warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. The lovely Hazel is a fantastic hostess and nothing is too much to ask. The room I stayed in was lovely, lots of space for my things, a lovely view of the countryside and had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Breakfast was always nice and served in good time; with a variety of fruits and yummy homemade cakes and flapjacks. I was also able to have a few evening meals here and the food is very tasty and good quality. There are a variety of amenities just a few minutes car journey away and a local shop just round the corner. If I am in the area again, I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else =)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xRachelBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review and I must apologies for my delay in not responding until now.

It makes my job so much easier when the guest is so friendly as you were. We really enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked to stay for two nights on a whim after a particularly arduous week at work - and enjoyed every minute! The room was wonderful, spacious with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The Stanage is in a lovely village and we caught the bus to Telford just outside. Many thanks to Hazel for the information of the surrounding area. Would definately recommend this B&B and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a B&B not to be missed rooms are wonderful extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Breakfast really is the best meal of the day at the Stanage you will love it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonjanelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Having been in telford for a conference what a wonderful place to have booked into. away from the hustle and bustle of business this B&B offered a convenient and relaxing retreat. The rooms were excellant and extremely comfortable. The views of the surrounding countryside were welcomed and with great service and an excellant breakfast I could definately recommend this accommodation and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLE786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intelford, Owner at The Stanage, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are always glad to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.3 mi away
The Old Rectory of St James
4 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
215 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hundred House Hotel
Hundred House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Norton
495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanage

Address: The Stanage Dawley Road | Lawley Village, Telford TF4 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range: $83 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanage is a delightful Edwardian style house offering a warm welcome to both business and leisure guests. Secure off road parking, Free Wi-Fi, locally sourced breakfast, log fires in winter and clean, comfortable en-suite rooms. Close to Telford and The Ironbridge Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Stanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanage Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing