We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family and 2 dogs”
Review of The Freke Arms

The Freke Arms
Ranked #68 of 508 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the freeke arms Saturday evening 4 adults 2 dogs. Had a lovely meal I decided to have chicken curry it was made extra hot to my delight did not disappoint I would say best Pub curry I've had in ages so well done. Portion sizes spot on . Very friendly staff who were eager to please my wife surf and turf steak came out as medium but she asked for medium rare however meal was changed immediately with no fuss. Dogs both had pigs ears which they loved . Would definitely recommend to take dogs and have a lovely meal thank you staff

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile27565456474, Owner at The Freke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Paul G
Thank you so much for your great review!
I glad everyone was happy and I'm glad the mix up was sorted promptly.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
All at the Freke Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’ve stayed away for a while from the Freke arms, I found the previous manager to be rude. There’s new people now who are actually welcoming and friendly. You can also bring your dog in which is great because I live in highworth which is walking distance on a nice day. The food is very good and reasonably priced. It’s great to have an old favourite back in the area.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hevlangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile27565456474, Owner at The Freke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Hevlangs.
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
People like yourself are the very reason we decided to open the doors back up to our four legged friends,
I imagine its nice to have somewhere to stop for a bite to eat and a refreshing drink after a long walk in the beautiful countyside, we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
All at the Freke Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Just looked at previous reviews for the Freke arms and I agree with a review regarding the Sunday lunch being hardly generous with vegetables accompanying the Sunday roast.I thought the veg .dish was for two instead of four people.Not as good as the last Sunday lunch there a while back.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile27565456474, Owner at The Freke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello David W
I'm very sorry for the delay in response, its taken some time to gain ownership of the trip adviser link.
I have also commented on the previous post that you're referring to.
In response to your reviews, we have now upped our weekly order of potatoes to ensure we can keep up with demand and our staff are asking all customers if the vegetables put out are enough or if they would like more, some do and some don't but we're quite satisfied that we have now overcome the problem that's been raised.
If you choose to return we hope that you will find everything to be resolved.
Kind regards
All at the Freke Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

very disappointed with sunday last Sunday . roast potatoes not cooked enough very pal colour , veg was poor one dish for two , one dish for three, and one dish for four , would not want to go in there with ten people on one table it would be one dish of veg for them all not very good , it will be along time before I visit the freke arms again

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank harryw j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile27565456474, Owner at The Freke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Harryw j
I would like to apologize for the delay in response, it's taken some time to be able to take ownership of the trip adviser reviews.
We are very sorry that you didn't have a great experience with us last month, we have taken your comments on board-
we have upped our weekly order of potatoes to ensure that we do not run low and have plenty of time to leave them to brown, we also are checking with all tables that they have enough vegetables on the table to allow people who would like more to be able to have them with no embarrassment of having to ask.
We do have different size dishes for the vegetables to cater for different amounts of people but understand some people prefer more than others, if you do choose to come back for another visit we hope that you will find things more satisfactory.
Kind regards
All at the Freke Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

It has been some years since we have been to this pub restaurant. We found much improved service, good quality food. Good value for money. We were especially impressed with quality of the vegetables.

Most impressed with the landlady.

We will be back and tell our friends of the improvement

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile27565456474, Owner at The Freke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello GrecianHighworthUK
Thank you so much for a lovely review, we believe these positive reviews really help us grow with our business and continue to help us to offer the service that we endeavour to provide.

And you've made one landlady very happy!

Kind regards
All at the Freke Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Freke Arms also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Freke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing