We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too good for Swindon ????”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce Vita - CLOSED

La Dolce Vita
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Delicatessen, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too good for Swindon ????”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the best Italian food in Swindon, we know we've been to all the others. The service is attentive without being annoying, the restaurant immaculately clean and the food cooked to perfection and reasonably priced, what more could you ask for??

Helpful?
5 Thank Dazed-n-confuzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best and Authentic Italian Restaurant in Swindon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The best Italian Restaurant in Swindon.
I have tried several places in Swindon saying there was Italian cuisine but none of them was authentic and good.
At "la dolce vita" I felt like at home in Italy, perfect.
100% Italian. Worth every penny.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincenzo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, good food but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

What can I say, the service was in my top 3 ever, anywhere in the world! Flexible, friendly, nothing too much trouble. In a very quite and unassuming way, the family members are obviously passionate about what they do and do their utmost to make you feel welcome. The food was good. Funghi Friti to start with garlic mayo .. very nice. I had medalions of fillet steak with a brandy and peppercorn sauce - tender, melt in your mouth beef with a very tasty sauce. Fresh vegetables cooked perfectly. My husband had veal with a masala sauce - also good. Other guests had diablo sauce - quite spicy! and others had pasta - all reports were good! There were 6 of us. Some people had 3 courses, some just 1. Wine, liquors, plenty of beer, some soft drinks and liquor coffees were all part of the deal and the bill came to just under £200. Which I thought was reasonable for what we had.

Support this restaurant folks, it would be a great shame not to see the owners bring this restaurant to it's full potential!

A tip for the owners, turn the heating and the music up a little :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Easy_to_please_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Returning to this restaurant after 'not bothering' for about 5 years. The new owners have a job to turn it around and should get there.
The service was just great and could not have been more attentive and thoughtful. The menu was quite extensive and the starters were delicious. My husband had a fillet steak rosini which was very good. My veal was a little over-done for me but the white wine sauce with mushrooms was delicious. The platters of vegetables served was enough for four people but really nicely cooked.
Pudding was a freshly made tiramisu and a crisp canelli with ricotta! The whole evening was really lovely - music, cleanliness, service all great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easily the best food in Swindon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Following the disasterous demise of the restaurant under the previous owners this really should have been rebranded to reflect the changes. This family run restaurant serves easily the best food in Swindon. Friendly, clean and a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude compliment this superb food brilliantly. My wife won't eat out anywhere else in Swindon. Swindon's best kept secret, don't tell anyone! !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Uktourist51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing