We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Marsh Farm Hotel(Royal Wootton Bassett)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
33
70
77
45
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
70
77
45
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslydiard parkbridal suiterooms are basicbar mealslovely groundsfriends weddingcountry parkbreakfast stafffull englishbreakfast was excellentparklandfiensuite
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 274 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very poor considering they lead on to the beautiful lydiard house! Beds we're very uncomfortable and rooms are cold. Wouldn't stay again! Shame as lydiard is lovely and worth a visit. The rooms are very poor considering they lead on to the beautiful lydiard house! Beds we're very uncomfortable and rooms are cold. Wouldn't stay again! Shame as lydiard is lovely and worth a visit

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed at Lydiard conference centre on two occasions now. Once a few years back when my Sister had her wedding there - amazing wedding! And most recently for just a night whilst visiting family.
The staff are friendly and welcoming at check in. The bar is average and reasonable cost wise for drinks. The selling point for this is location. Beautiful countryside and Lydiard House is stunning to look at. The parks are just beautiful. Husband and I enjoyed a late evening stroll and an after breakfast stroll too.
The rooms are basic and really need upgrading to be honest. The bed was smaller than the average sized double and the mattress was really hard and uncomfortable.
Bathroom is average and would be best with a walk in shower than the tiny Bath.
The breakfast was nice and once again the staff serving it were really nice chatty and friendly. The price of the overnight stay was reasonable too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Swindon is not the nicest place in the world, but having to stay nearby I found this hotel, on it's own grounds on the very fringe of the city. While the hotel building itself is ugly, the surrounding land is tranquil and pleasant.
Rooms and bathrooms are quite compact, but satisfactory for a single night. The TV is on the tiny side!
The restaurant/bar area is basically the lobby, and not enticing. I dined elsewhere. Breakfast was adequate if slightly chaotic.

I wouldn't return, but that said, if you get the best room rate it does represent decent value for a short stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 which is on the ground floor overlooking the outside drinking/smoking area which could be noisy, so ask for a room at the side/rear
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The rooms are small and so is the double bed that is up against the wall. It's not so much that the room is unclean it's that it's not maintained very well. There are stains on the carpet, and the chair at the desk was gross. The hall had a mouldy smell. When we went to make a cup of tea the tea pot hadn't been cleaned out. The fan in the bathroom had toilet paper squeezed in along the bottom edge. I didn't want to find out why. If you must stay here make sure you have an even numbered room, as it faces the back as it's much quieter.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I found this an excellent place to stop for business - room had everything necessary - really appreciated the large desk, bright desk light and free wifi. Breakfast as good as anything I've had in hotels twice this price - great selection of fruit, together with haddock, kippers, porridge etc to go alongside the eggs and bacon staples.
Pool is a very welcome bonus
Yes, the bed is a standard double and against a wall - but there was only one of me. The extractor fan in the bathroom is noisy but stops as soon as the light is switched off.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room with a view of the old church (even number) - which was great
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weary_Willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews