We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to break up a long journey.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carpenters Arms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carpenters Arms Motel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Newquay
1 review
“Great place to break up a long journey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stopped over for one night, to break up the journey from Cornwall. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything that we needed, lovely to find a bath as well as a shower. The food was good and competitively priced. Very friendly owners we were made to feel very welcome. Would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewquayTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
25
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is ideal place to stop as a work overnight or for longer stays. I stayed approximately 3 months and would not hesitate to stay again. It is reasonably priced and the accommodation is a good size with nice facilities. Pub has good food at reasonable prices

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spider W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We try to maintain the relaxed atmosphere that our guests seem to appreciate. We are glad you enjoyed your extended stay with us, and good luck with your next contract.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great place to stay just outside Swindon with 9 motel style rooms all well equiped. Pub has nice local beers and refreshinbgly over 7 veggie options on the food menu. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review we do our best to ensure all guests have a nice stay. I have passed on your kind words about the food to my wife, herself a vegetarian, hence the range available.

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The food was so good and the room was so comfy that we decided to stay another night. The shower was the best one I've had on our holiday so far. I loved the selection of music (classical) in the dining room. Check in and check out were quick and hassle free. Plenty of room for parking and a very quiet area but only a short drive to Swindon if you want shops.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
How Julie, Barbara and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and you felt so comfortable that you stayed another night.

As for the music, I personally hate loud obtrusive, toneless stuff blaring out. Many people comment about the relaxing nature of the music.

Once again thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

What can I say? This is not a corporate hotel, but a small country pub with chalets attached. The rooms are a good size and clean; the hosts are very friendly and helpful; and I can thoroughly recommend the food!

Excellent value and a refreshing change from the ananymous corporate hotels.

I've stayed there many times and wouldn't consider anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments Peter. I hope you new contract in sunnier climes goes well, and perhaps we'll see you sometime in the new year.

Bob and Barabara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

At one time there was 5 of us staying and working on a local contract.
My first contact with Bob, he stated that accomodation was available and let me view the room, the room/bathroom was very clean and well laid out.
We used to work long hours and come back sometimes not to clean, but B & B would smile and say what would we like to drink and eat, perfect.
The meals were incredible, always something on offer to meet everybodies pallete, drinks were not to bad either.
Towels are changed by leaving them in the bath if too soiled, but changed on a regular basis anyway, the state we came in sometimes its a wonder they did not end up in the bin, but again no complaints.
All the guys that stayed with B & B, loved every minute of their stay.
Anybody working around the area and needs accomodation dont hesitate to look at the Carpenters Arms Motel, you will not be dissapointed, well set out rooms, clean, tidy , brilliant shower,good food, good beer.
What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: all rooms are much as like, clean, all amenities,good pub food and beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Hi Richard, thank you for your kind review, I have to say it has been a pleasure having your team stay, that cannot always be said sadly about construction contractors, but your team were a credit to JT Hawks, and I am sure your professionalism as a company will be rewarded with more such contracts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The motel is in a quiet lane not far from Swindon. A pub with with chalet type rooms at the rear. A friend and I stay every year for a couple of nights and are made very welcome by the landlord and his wife. We have found that the rooms are always clean and comfortable and of a reasonable size with toilet and bathroom facilities for each room, also tea and coffee making facilities and TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kchap50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freedomWiltshire, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thanks for your kind words Ken, we do our best to make every guests stay the best it can be, sometimes we fail to meet guests expectation but it's not for the want of trying.

See you next year God willing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.2 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
2.4 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#1 of 1 in Wanborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms Motel

Property: The Carpenters Arms Motel
Address: Old Vicarage Lane | South Marston, Swindon SN3 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carpenters Arms Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carpenters Arms Motel Swindon, is on the Wiltshire/Oxfordshire border and provides you with quality rooms at guest house prices. In the country but just minutes from Swindon, Shrivenham, Wanborough, Blunsdon RMCS, Honda as well many other towns.Our reputation for quality accommodation, food and Arkells Real Ales has grown to reach the number one for accommodation in Swindon, on the biggest review site in the world, TripAdvisor. If you wish to stay Monday to Thursday you need to book early as we have long term satisfied guests who stay weekly. Why choose the rest when you can choose the best. The Carpenters provides an ideal haven for the business traveller or tourist seeking peace and tranquility. The Carpenters Arms lies approximately 3 miles north of Swindon and is ideally placed for visits to Bath, Cheltenham, Stratford-upon-Avon and a host of Cotswold beauty spots. If you are looking for a boisterous, noisy, over the top establishment, The Carpenters is not for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Carpenters Arms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing