We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Booked for 2 night stay to visit the Cotswolds. Perfect location for exploring the local area. Comfortable room, friendly staff. Pub next door was ok for dinner but not amazing. We found a local Thai for dinner one night and there was plenty of choice a short drive away. Don't feel you have to eat next door, get out and explore!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    122
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
128
106
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
barrow-in-furness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stay here wen we go to visit family as they don't have spare room we love it comfortable will use it again and again nothing too much trouble for the staff the pub where we eat next too the hotel is great food fab I will always go back to this hotel they are building one where we live and I hope it's as good as this one

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grannyhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location of this hotel is not in Swindon itself, but several kms to the north. We picked it because we thought it would have been in Swindon town itself, however this is not the case. In saying that, the area is just off the main highway and is relatively easy to find. It is also fairly quiet as we didn't hear any outside noises at all. There is plenty of parking for guests, although patrons from the hotel next door use the car park also, so at times there could be a problem, even though the hotel patrons are not supposed to park there, they still do.

The room itself was quite large and very clean - a comfortable bed/pillow also. Staff were more than helpful and willing to assist us find our way around. We also ate dinner for one night at the hotel restaurant next door and the food was very good. Highly recommended. Wifi at the Premier Inn is only free for the first 30 minutes, if you want more you pay 3 pounds for 24 hours. However, there is "free wifi" at the hotel next door.

Would I stay there again if I was in the area - probably not, as it is too far out of town for me although it would suit others for sure (and Swindon is a nightmare for tourists to find their way around).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because it was within walking distance to Swindon greyhound track.
The room was spacious and clean. The shower was amazing. Tea and coffee provided. Although there was only two tea bags and two sachets of coffee.
There was also only one set of towels, and there was two of us!
My husband went to the reception and asked for more towels and tea and coffee and this was put right immediately. Thankyou.
Bed was comfortable and my husband and I both slept well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jugs1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coseley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed at quite a few Premier Inns and they range for very good to pretty poor. The hotel side for PI Swindon North is in the lower end of an average of all of the ones I ve been too. As usual the room was clean and tidy but a tad on the cold side as the room temp had been put down as far as it would go. Put the heating up as far as it goes, 23 degrees C, but the small wall heater couldn't seem to cope with the size of the room. The room still remained cool despite supposedly reaching 23C as set. During the night, the temp unit reset itself so the room temp dipped to the low setting. The TV was a small flat screen around 15 to 17 inch, but had a reasonable picture.

The restaurant, a Chef and Brewer named Cold Harbour, served excellent evening meals, which has generally be my experience of this particular chain. Having said that, poached eggs were sent out hard boiled rather than soft and runny on a starter, which was redone relatively quickly without any fuss. There was an apology but no offer to take the cost off the bill, which has generally been the case elsewhere.

Breakfast was not great! The single toaster used couldn't be setup to allow items to freely fall of items put through it where it was consistently placed throughout my stay. The continental type buffet was crammed onto one (quite small) table, which resulted in queuing when more than two people were trying to choose and prepare their cereal, toast, tea/coffe, etc. Lighting, especially around the drinks area was poor, making it difficult to work out which of the flasks were water and which were coffee. When raised as an issue with a member of staff, they agreed and said that nothing could be done. When it was suggested a standard lamp would suffice and could the duty manager be informed, the made a sarcastic remark and shouted to their manager " Line Manager, I must tell you that a light is needed for the drinks area" and then laughed. Cooked breakfast was by individual order through the waiting staff.

All in all a little disappointing and could certainly do much better.

Room Tip: If visiting over the winter ask the staff for an additional heater. You may be as well taking your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

As a family of 6 we booked two rooms here for an overnight stay. As requested the rooms were really close together just opposite each other. When telephoning to confirm this reception staff were extremely helpful.
We arrived about 11pm and check in was quite slow as the one member of reception staff was busy.
Both rooms were clean and well equipped, there were individual heating controls but the room remained a little too warm despite turning heating down, beds were comfy and everyone slept well. We certainly weren't disturbed by traffic noise. Breakfast the next day was good value for money and enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotes D'armor, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

To be honest, the price was the main attraction , combined with the look of the bedrooms and the location. £35...for the two of us (without breakfast, of course) and en-route to our long journey up north after a long ferry trip from France...what's not to like, as they say. As it happened, out plans went wrong due to missing the ferry- always check departure time even if it ALWAYS departs at a certain time....So we arrived at 23.00 hours instead of 20.00- too late for anything but having a coffee in the room and falling into the very large comfortable bed. The clerk had smiled, welcomed us warmly and offered to direct us to a 24-hour shop where we could buy something to eat even at this hour....but sleep was imperative.
We decided next morning to have breakfast "next door" at a Chef & Brewer pub. What a super surprise...refurbished inn with lots of character and a really interesting evening menu. We chose the Continental breakfast- buffet of cereals/fruits/juices/yoghurts/muffins/toast/croissants etc. At £5.90 a great bargain and in interesting surroundings. Coked breakfast was available at about £3 more- but we were going to have a big lunch.
For us - this stop will be a must on our next trip over; good bedroom- bed- super shower- pub with charm...what more can one want??

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daviesbagrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
Address: Broad Bush | Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Swindon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 500 hotels across the UK, Premier Inn is the UK's biggest hotel chain. We have more hotels in more places making it easier for you to stay away from home... Our guests have been enjoying staying with Premier Inn for over 20 years. They tell us they love the value we offer, our clean and comfortable rooms and the warm welcome they receive from our team members. If you've not stayed with us before give us a try - you'll soon see why we're the country's number one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel Swindon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing