We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time but won't be the last.!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 20 at The Kings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
20 at The Kings
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
2 reviews
“First time but won't be the last.!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The first time me and my girlfriend ever been in here, BUT after some great food and good service will be back again very soon! All the staff was very polite and helpfull! Would and will recomend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    18
    16
    26
See reviews for
26
34
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I booked the Kings Arms for our Christmas party this year and have to say I was very pleasantly surprised, the private dining room in the new restaurant was elegant and cosy, the food was fantastic and the service was great, we didn't have a wait between courses and the staff could not do enough for us, making it a lovely evening which we will remember for some time. Thanks to Lyn and the whole team at the Kings! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

cant understand so many bad reviews,stayed there in oct,was fine for me,have stayed there many times over the last 5yrs,so think iam a good judge,
if i have had a problem it has been sorted out,just by me asking, staff are very friendly,food is excellent,
staying again next wk,my honest opinion is good value for the price i pay,
from peter

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The rooms are clean and tidy, for the price you're paying what do you expect? Brilliant location. Have these negative reviewers ever stayed in other towns, cities, here in UK or abroad, because I have??? The staff are friendly, chef is good, what more could you ask more for?

Room Tip: Rear of buildin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

The room was horrible, smelly and tired looking with stains in the carpet. The room was cold and the heating wasn't working, instead I was left with a dodgy electric shower. The shower tray was was cracked and held together by tape. It was truly terrible and I left straight away and booked into the Goddards Arms hotel down the road which was lots better and cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stayed The Kings whilst visiting friends in the area and I found this hotel to be of high standards. It was clean, friendly and had a great food Menu. I was made to feel very welcome - I felt like valued customer (even though it was my 1st visit!!) and not like a number like some of the larger hotel chains I have stayed in before. I will be returning and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelica128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

In daylight the hotel seems to be on the amusing side of dreadful. Cobwebs in the roof, dusty shelves in the wardrobe, which was in the bathroom. The extractor fan in the bathroom was missing and everything looked tired. But at night it really gets bad. You either sleep towards the front, where the disco keeps you awake until the early hours, or you sleep at the back, where the bottle man is throwing out bottles and moving kegs until around 3:30. The staff communicate by shouting one the bar has emptied, prewsumably because their hearing has been damaged by the volume of the disco, The noise continued until around 3_30 a.m. Absolutely dreadful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor-Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
2.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#20 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 at The Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 at The Kings

Property: 20 at The Kings
Address: 20 Wood Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 4AB, England (Formerly The Kings)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 20 at The Kings 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 20 at The Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Swindon
Kings Hotel Swindon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing