We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop off for dinner”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #24 of 442 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Plough on the hill is one minute from Junction 15 on the m4. An ideal meeting place and is a refurbished Gastro Pub serving freshly cooked food. We provide free wifi and welcome customers from 10am and are open all day.
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stop off for dinner”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped in at the Plough for dinner on our way down to Cornwall as It's really handily located just off the M4 at Swindon. We were expecting traditional pub grub but found the food to be much better than that. There is really extensive menu with lots of meat, fish and veggie options. We both had a delicious steak, ale and mushroom pie which was obviously homemade and had really good quality meat. The service was friendly and efficient and we didn't have to wait too long for our food. Other customers around us likewise seemed very happy with their food. We were impressed and would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthieW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    76
    32
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have had a great meal at the plough this evening. Very welcoming, all our Meal's were really lovely all fresh home made food and well yummy home made puds. Well worth a visit going back soon thank you.


  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Empty”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a meal here on a weekday evening & were the only diners. The food was good, but there was no atmosphere as there were no other customers. The staff member we encountered was a bit serious, but keen to serve us.
We may try again at a weekend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gluten free friendly”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on our way down south. Very very helpful with the gluten free food quick friendly service. Highly recommend this pub and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chopchopref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing home-cooked food.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on our travels home just for a break. However, was enticed by the lovely menu to stop for dinner. We certainly were not disappointed. As it was Sunday we had the roast. I had the lamb and hub had the pork and beef. All beautiful cuts. The many veg were perfectly cooked with a slight crunch, crispy roasties with a fluffy centre, huge yorkshire pud and hub said his crackling was the best he's had in a long while.

We were so impressed we also had dessert and were so glad we did. I had the lemon and lime cheesecake and words cannot describe how good it was and hub had the raspberry and chocolate cheesecake.

Service was very attentive and friendly. Lovely people and lovely atmosphere.

Do not let the exterior put you off stopping. Would totally recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadgerSharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing