We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the swimmers in the family”

Oasis Leisure Centre
Ranked #17 of 52 things to do in Swindon
Attraction details
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun for the swimmers in the family”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

First visit to the oasis with friends and my daughters aged 8 and 10 years. Upon arrival,it looked as though they are beginning to refurbish the reception area, which would be ideal as it is looking slightly dated along with the changing rooms. Once in the pool, the fun starts, at regular intervals there are waves which all in the pool enjoyed. There are 4 flumes with varying speeds of descent, The storm,Great white and The Sidewinder. My favourite had to be the Storm, it is dark, which took 2 attempts to get used to as it is going into the unknown, you descend down quite fast. On The Great white, you have to go down head first on your tummy, with the added option of using a mat,that was extremely fast ,although my friend said I came down the slide much faster than he did,so I suppose it depends on how you start off. The sidewinder was slower,although you build up speed towards the bottom. A money well spent day out..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    58
    55
    46
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishment”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from Oasis. Over half of the lockers don't work and the rest are intermittent, hopeless when you have little kids in tow.
Floor is filthy , I still don't understand why more pools don't take an idea from France where you take your shoes off before you enter the changing rooms. Would be solved if they just had an attendant wash/mop the floor regularly.
Not enough family changing and the ones there need updating.

Pools and slides are ok but cold and absolutely heaving at weekends.

Overall expensive and not good value for money when you only get 60minutes before your band is called.

Won't be revisiting as Bracknell or Basingstoke are better until it is fully refurbished.

Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a very busy and versatile leisure centre.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we have seen concerts here by the likes of Plan B, Peter Andre, Matt Cardell, john Barrowman and shows by Diversity.
The Oasis also has a wave pool, gym, and other facilities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank swind0nnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good fun for children but in need of an update!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I used to come here regularly as a child but not so much any more, although I took my daughter (just turned 5) a few days ago. It looks exactly the same as when I used to go (in the 90s). Although children don't really care when they're going down the slides and having fun in the wave machine, it desperately needs a refurb and could potentially be fantastic.
I would not recommend the Oasis for an 'adult swim', nice and calm with lanes etc. This is a place to take children and for them to have fun. There are two pools, one is large, has the wave machine, hose (very cold water sprays in to the pool), 3 slides going in to this pool.
The small pool has a small pirate ship with slides going from it in to the pool and a bucket that tips up when it's full of water. Also a small elephant slide.
There are also the dome busters, tube slides which you go up stairs for and slide down in to another small pool. As I said all great fun for kids.
Personally I find hygiene is not great in Oasis with regards to the changing rooms.
Other things such as badminton courts, gym with crèche, cafe etc are available but again all in need of a refurb.

Helpful?
Thank frankienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great for kids.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a good place, I taught my son to swim here, you have the astro turf, the BMX and skatboard area, indoors the hall, gym, many concerts and the swimming that has the wave machine, firemans hose (Very cold) and the dome busters, all very good fun and to top it off, it has recently been aquired from the council and is under a big money re-developement, which I beleive to have a new indoor arena that can seat 3,000 for bigger gigs, I have seen Paul Weller, Steroephonics, Kasabien, Ocean Color Scene, Beady eye and a couple of others, all great, and there is talk of an indoor ski slope to be built?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Budgetman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Leisure Centre also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Oasis Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing