We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I use this as a training venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I use this as a training venue”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station so I use this venue rather than expensive Central London locations

Meeting room was spacious and well supported by the staff

Food provided was acceptable and more than adequate

The guest room I used was a little tired and had been vandalised by a previous guest. Whilst the damage did not inconvenience me I was surprised housekeeping had not identified the problem and the room been taken out of use until the repair was done

My big gripe with any holidAy inn express is the warm breakfast items. Concentrate on a more comprehensive continental selection and drop the poor quality sausage, hard eggs and tasteless beans. I'm yet to speak to anyone who appreciates the hot selections

I will use the venue again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for your invaluable piece of feedback which we have addressed to relevant parties and helping us create Great Hotels Guest Love! We hope you continue using IHG hotels for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    205
    128
    54
    54
See reviews for
64
113
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

As part of a business meeting I was booked into this modern city centre hotel. The booking in was a little laboured as the company booking although confirmed to us as individuals had failed to be communicated to the hotel, but no matter as the very friendly and efficient hostess sorted to all to our collective satisfactions althoughit toolk some time. apologies to those held up behind us.
The room was extemely comfortable, well appointed and clean.
Breakfast was limited but fresh and tasty.
Will definitely consider stopping here again in the future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Tim H,

Thank you for your complementary review and favourable scoring. We look forward to welcoming you back into our Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Fantastic hotel based in the city centre. Rooms are really nice with free internet access. Staff is extremely helpful and polite. Spread of breakfast was very well spread and the most pleasing aspect was staff being courteous by allowing us late check out for free!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_one2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear traveller_one2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay and your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

"One of the boilers is broken" so there is no hot water. Fair enough, but for 3 days? Surely a chain this big can get a boiler fixed, or does this chain keep costs low by avoiding service contracts? And they didn't tell people who were checking in, which is naughty.
Location is handy by the train station though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMasterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear GMasterGeneral,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback. We take Customer feedback very seriously and so please allow me to explain the situation.

We have been experiencing some issues with our boiler which resulted in a shortage of hot water on 7/1/13. The Maintenance department has promptly organised a Qualified Engineer to attend and rectify the fault, which was done the same day.

Please accept our sincere apology as we appreciate and understand that the matters above mentioned are extremely important to you, and are ‘the basics’ when you travel away from home. Unfortunately things do go wrong at times however we believe that the way a situation is handled, is what is important. We also believe that we have done everything we can to rectify the issues in a timely manner and thus minimising the impact to you, our Guest.

Once again we hope that you appreciate our efforts and continue using our Hotel for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was on a shot business trip to Swindon and stayed at Holiday Inn at the Town Centre. Its an excellent location with most places only a walk away. Staff is amazing, helpful and warm. They are always looking for ways to help you out. Always see to it that you are comfortable. Bedroom was very spacious, neat and clean. Will surely visit it next time when I go to Swindon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghu_Swam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Raghu_Swam,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community as we are aware that many travellers base their choice on actual scoring of other guests. I am pleased that you had a great time whilst staying with us. We value your feedback and hope you had a safe journey back.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 11 days over Christmas. First, let me start with the positives. The staff was amazing. They were all very nice and helpful anytime we needed anything. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The beds were soft and covered in a fluffy comforter. The breakfast was quite nice and served the standard British foods like sausages, toast, baked beans, etc.

With all of those positives, however, I would never stay there again outside of a weekday trip because of the obnoxious noisy from the surrounding pubs and bars. During the week, the room was fine and pretty quite, but during the weekend and on the holiday nights, the noise was unbearable. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper and was woken up at 3am almost every single night. There is a police station across the street, and they do their best, but it is difficult to keep hundreds of 18-20 year olds in check after they have been drinking for several hours. My husband is from Swindon and was nervous about staying here because of that very reason, and I should have listened.

Also, one weird thing about the free wifi is that you had to get a new code every day and on more than one occasion, the manager made me "promise to use the internet for leisure, not business/work." I thought that was really weird considering the holiday inn express bills itself as a business hotel. I think I would have rather paid for the wifi and not had to deal with the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasChick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear TexasChick31,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us despite your husbands initial concerns. As for the positive comments, thank you very much it was a delight to read and I shared your comments with the rest of the staff. We take customer feedback very seriously as it gives us a 'reality check' in terms of our performance. We try to provide personable customer service with going above and beyond in meeting our customers needs, and when the Duty Manager mentioned about the internet use for 'leisure' he meant it as humorous goodwill advice as you were on holiday. The Hotel is located in the precinct where all the clubs, pubs and restaurants are. This we see as an advantage as it provides addition choice for food and entertainment within walking distance however on the weekends the excessive noise is outside of our control. Nonetheless we hope that you continue using IHG Hotel for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed one night, bedroom spacious and very clean.The best of the three hotels visited in Swindon,all the staff very friendly and helpful.Would not hesitate in choosing this hotel for our next visit to Swindon, the bay leaf indian restaurant close by very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldimpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Eldimpo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and such a complimentary review. It is a real delight to read that you find our Hotel Services as well as the customer care excellent. We discuss all guest reviews at our daily staff meetings and it is reviews like yours that really give meaning to what we do and keep us motived to go the extra mile because it is worth it. Thank you once again and hope that you will choose us again in your future visit to Swindon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,463 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#19 of 24 in Swindon
463 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing