We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Lowestoft
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal overnighter”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed over for one night - I found the staff very friendly and helpful - the restaurant was full the night I stayed but I was directed to an excellent establishment over the road which was really good. Bedroom was clean and comfortable. The selection at breakfast was just about anything that you would need.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear shysheila,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Swindon, and that we could have been a part of it. Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    205
    128
    54
    54
See reviews for
64
113
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business this week, and for a chain hotel, where you expect much of a muchness can not believe how helpful and pleasant the staff were. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and a special mention to the staff on reception when I checked in, the manager, and the 2 ladies couldn't have been more helpful. I even left a blouse, called up yesterday and received a call today to say they would be posting it out to me. Even at breakfast the following the morning, the lady looking after guests was very friendly, but not over the top. Often these large chains feel very impersonal and soulless but here this was certainly not the case! A special mention to I think Nicolette (from Slovenia) who is perfectly suited to her role.
If I was in Swindon again I would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisah2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Lisah2302,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. Arrived after a long drive, to find that there is no parking and you have to pay an additional charge and park at the station which is a short walk which shouldn't be a problem unless it is tipping down like it was when I arrived. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Rooms clean and functional. Breakfast is a bit basic but passable. Location is very good if travelling by train but a pain if driving. Check out the brazillian BBQ restaurant next door - exceptional food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear WestWalesHorse,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice rooms, nothing too fancy but everything you need and very clean. I was most impressed by the friendliness of the staff however. One member of staff even walked with me to show me where a restaurant was after his shift was finished. Reception staff were very friendly.

Nice breakfast in the morning, again, nothing too fancy but met your needs, but what could I expect for their very reasonable rates?

Would certainly recommend and I would happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Skymover,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

First stay here. Room was clean and tidy. Check-in was pleasant; two girls (sorry, forgot their names) with a smile and a sense of humour. Checked out at 6am, computer system was down so could not get an invoice. Rob was very apologetic and took my details promising to e-mail the invoice. Got it late morning. Excellent! Parking is a pain and Swindon town center (the new bit) is a total dump, but that is not the hotels fault. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SkyMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Redhead5716,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

have stayed at this hotel on many occasions whilst visiting friends and family. it is very well managed, clean and comfortable. The staff on reception are friendly and welcoming and willing to answer any queries you may have. Breakfast is simple but more than adequate with absolutely no limit on how much you can eat. Tables are cleared constantly so are always clean. I have to give a special mention to the ever smiling,ever helpful Nancy for whom it seems nothing is too much trouble and certainly starts everyones day off with a smile. She and Beth are a good team to have on hand.
If you want somewhere central to stay in Swindon this hotel is ideally situated close to the railway station shops bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead5716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear redhead5716,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and your compliments to the Hotel Staff and namely Nancy and Beth. We always appreciate when Guests take out the time to go the extra mile for us and make the effort of writing a review on a public channel, such as TripAdvisor, so thank you once again and we genuinely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

As a wheelchair user who requires help at night times I use this hotel a lot. The staff are extremely helpful and if you ask for an accessible room there is plenty of space and a great wet room.. Be aware that it is a city centre location so don't complain about the night club noise outside. This never bothers me as I am normally out enjoying myself in the city anyway. It is only at weekends that the clubs are loud so will not be an issue for you weekdays. I do not put up with sub standard service or poor facilities and so am pleased to write an honest and flattering review. As they say, location, location, location. For us that struggle with mobility but want to get on and have a great life you have an easy access hotel in the middle of an accessible city and to top it off, near to a train station. Try it. I did once five years ago and return often! Just need to say once more, the staff are wonderful and extremely considerate.

Room Tip: At weekends get the rooms furthest away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Andrew-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear John-Andrew-Simpson

Thank you for staying with us and your flattering comments about your experience. I am also very pleased to learn that we lived up to your expectations in all areas: service, accessibility, quality, design and location. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
463 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing