We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple & superb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simple & superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

As someone who used to work for a global hotel chain (IHGs competitor!) I have harsher standards than the average guest.

HI Swindon - well done and thank you for a great stay (rm 113). Superb value for money and even though I had an adapted room I was more than happy. In fact, I quite liked that room.

Jade checked me in and was extremely friendly, professional, and a speedy check in. Every team member is multi skilled and so they don't have any sense of being short staffed. Every team member was very friendly too.

Breakfast was fairly basic but good enough to get my day started. I'd love it if the juice wasn't quite so sweet and sickly but a dash of water sorted that out.

The only thing I'd give constructive feedback on - air con. I hadn't spotted the radiator in the wall sou was trying to get warm air from air con. Receptionist sent up Engineering rather than simply telling me there was a radiator to use I instead. No disaster though!

Without doubt I'll be back. Superb value for money and a great nights sleep!

Justin

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Justin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. We were very pleased to read that we withstood the test of an ex Hotel Manager of a Global Brand (Hilton?) as I know from my own experience, when I am staying away, I turn into a Hotel Inspector myself, often being harsher than usual. The one thing that will always make the difference to me is the Customer Service and therefore I am delighted that you found Jade and the rest of our Team to be forthcoming and friendly, making a real difference to your stay. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    194
    122
    49
    53
See reviews for
60
107
50
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Its not very oftern you stay at a holiday inn and the staff are chatty and smiles but this hotel was full of it, would recommend to stay here, this is our 3 rd time we stayed here and definatly the best. We will be going back, the only slight complaint i would have (but not the hotels fault) is the one way system, it was a nightmare

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear PaulMasonBristol,

Thank you for your repeat custom, and your kind words here on TripAdvisor. They were received with sincere gratitude. Public praise, such as yours, is a great reward for us as we are very passionate about delivering personable customer service to all of our guests, and so it is nice to see that the seed of our efforts has come to fruition. Once again, thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had a four week stay here for business. IHG are not "cheap", but they are a budget chain.

From the minute I arrived, I was treated to fantastic service. And I am not talking about one or two people. Every single staff member, no matter how busy they were, were very attentive and always went that extra mile to help. I noticed that the younger staff members took their cues from the senior staff like Robert & co. Nothing was too much trouble.

I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels that could learn something about customer service from this team.

Room Tip: Go higher if you can. There are a few pubs at the bottom of the city here, so you can get less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear PRFitz,

Thank you for staying with us and your lovely comments, they were received with great pleasure. We try our utmost to meet all of Guests' individual needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a larger party. The location is central and with that does come the usual city centre problems - noise, litter, drunks, etc. But once you're inside the hotel it's fine.

We were welcomed by Robert who was great. Polite and friendly and made sure everybody had rooms and everything they needed.

My room was large and spacious and was typical Holiday Inn Express. Free wifi was also a bonus. The bathroom was a little small and pokey and there was a suspect stain on the floor but overall a nice room.

Breakfast was better than I've seen at other Holiday Inn Express' but still nowhere near up to a 'good hotel standard' ... but then it's free I suppose! Didn't pay for the room so can't comment on value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear simonp820,

Thank you for staying with us. (I think you had no choice :-) ), and for sharing your feedback with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. We are always pleased when the Guests remember the Front Desk Agents' name (Robert - Duty Manager) as this indicated that they really made themselves stand out and made the difference to your stay. Needless to say of course that Robert was equally delighted to read you comments. As you identified with regards to breakfast, it is a Free Offering that should provide a good value to our Guests. Our scrambled egg is made in house by a Chef and we source our sausages from a butcher. Our Continental selection is also great, so there is something for everyone. Thank you oncer again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a clean modern hotel typical of its genre - friendly professional staff with good facilities. The location however is not great. There is no on site parking and the hotel is in the seedier end of town on a one way system that must have been designed by committee. A major junction is even signed as "The Magic Roundabout" so someone has a sense of humour but it was lost on me as I took my life in my hands in negotiating the traffic and trying to locate road signs.Swindon is not blessed with many restaurants ( there are none on the High street after 6pm) so we decided to eat in - a basic menu but little could go wrong we thought. We decided on fish and chips with peas - it arrived with salad complete with dressing - no peas and nobody thought to ask whether this was acceptable - how can a restaurant run out of peas?
We left the salad and ate a very dry and overcooked fish along with chips ( heated from frozen) I then decided to have a sponge pudding but again the "chef" had obviously not read the microwave instructions as it too was overcooked and a knife was needed to cut the base .We asked for a separate portion of ice cream for my wife but this proved to be a problem as well . When asked if everything was OK I said that although our expectations were not high - it was all rather poor. We were given a bottle of wine on the house - not something I wanted. Room was clean and well equipped and with free Wi Fi no complaints there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuisboroughJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear GuisboroughJeff,

First of all I would like to apologise about your dinner experience and I cannot but agree on all points with you. I know this will be of no consolation to you, but are now employing an Executive Chef to ensure that the Menu and the food quality alike are better than great. In addition to this as a direct consequence of your comments the Senior Management of the Hotel are doing random quality checks at peak times.

Swindon: Unfortunately like many other towns in UK, Swindon is a network of one way streets, and if you miss a turning, then you are left with nothing more than having to go around the whole town again. As much as we'd love to, unfortunately we cannot do anything that can affect this.
Once again thank sharing your feedback and I hope that if you do stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Swindon City Centre, you will find a great deal of improvement on our Restaurant front.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for two night B&B at the end of September. Very much on the lines and standards of Premier Inn. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The room was functional, clean and tidy. Breakfast is decent quality and you can eat as much as you want. The meal I had in the restaurant on Monday night was excellent; £12.95 for a large horseshoe of grilled gammon, two fried eggs, grilled tomato, peas, salad and chips. Very good value for money.

I've given it 4/5 for location because the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the railway station. If you're travelling by car it's a differnt matter especially if you don't know your way around Swindon and it's ring road and one-way system even with a satnav Car parking is available at the railway station car park for a concessionary £6.00 a day.

I'd stay at this hotel again without any hesitation but next time I'd go by train. It would be much easier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Brian S,

Thank you for you stay and your review. We always like to hear when people recognise the Brand offerings such as: Free Breakfast, Free Internet, Limited Dinner Menu, - which is to provide a good value. Friendly and professional customer service is what we do, and we were all pleased that you found it to be true. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Swindon!

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent 5 nights in Holiday INN City Centre Swindon. First to address positive sides: location at walking distance from the train station, good breakfast, friendly and efficient staff, comfortable bed. On the other hand, room and bathroom look quite old, but reasonably clean. Also street below my windows was quite noisy, with cars and peolpe shouting late at night. City centre of Swindon itself is quite empty after the shops close at 6 pm, which did not feel quite safe to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Svetlana348,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre for your accommodation needs and sharing your experiences with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted that you found our Hotel, the clean rooms, plentiful breakfast and efficient and friendly staff to your satisfaction. With regards to the Swindon Town Centre, as you rightly identified, once the shops had closed till about 8pm when most of the restaurants, local clubs and traditional pubs open, in the interim period isn't much happening, although generally speaking the location for this reason works to our advantage as we can offer something for everyone. (Shopping Centres, Museums, Restaurants - various cuisines, Pubs, Clubs, Train station, Bus Station, etc. - all within walking distance) Once again thank you for staying with us and hope that you will decide to stay with us on your next visit to Swindon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#21 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing