We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Swindon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central Swindon”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First impression of this hotel is that the entrance appears to be just a door in a wall. There is no hotel car park - you have to walk about 5 mins to the main station car park, but it is only round the corner. There is only space for 3 cars to drop off your luggage and check in. These spaces were full when I arrived so I parked on the pedestrian area next to the hotel. The police station is close by and there were plenty of police around but they were unconcerned that people park in this place so it must be ok. When I arrived it was extremely busy but the staff did a great job getting everyone checked in. I got an upgraded room which was very large and had an excellent shower. You get the usual wide range of pillows to choose from as per all HIXs. This was my first trip to Swindon and I didn't know the area so I had dinner in the restaurant. The choice was limited but the food was tasty. The bed was comfortable and choice of food for breakfast was what you would expect from a HIX. The hotel is easy to find - Satnav took me right to the door - and is well situated. The staff are excellent - they took care of the keys for my hire car and organised a taxi for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoggy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Smiggi_Chris,

Thank you for your comments on your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that you found the dinner quality to your satisfaction. I was very happy as well to hear about your comments on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff...they are a bunch of very passionate people and I have personally passed your comments to the whole team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    205
    128
    54
    54
See reviews for
64
113
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Ghe holiday inn is probably the same as every other in the country. Good clean rooms with all you could need. But the staff here are the best bit. All very helpful and friendly with excellent customer service! Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sully1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sully 1690,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have found our staff to make the difference…we are very passionate about creating a great customer experience hence everybody shared my feelings when receiving your comments. We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's starts by finding the entrance and the combination of reception and bar in such a small place makes you want to turn round and find your way out. The rooms are typical holiday inn and adequate for one night although I was woken early by the sound of dustbins being emptied. The reception area doubles up as the restaurant . Service poor and very slow. Food though is better than expected. The staff were thin on the ground , unable to work at the bar and not sure how to charge the food order to the room. Breakfast is best avoided as limited in choice and the hot food only warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear TB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. First, please allow me to apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the set up of the bar and reception in the same place - this is a particularity of the Holiday Inn Express brand and generally we get very comments from guests looking for a "home away of home" , cosy feeling. I am also sorry to hear your comments regarding the slow service - we are working closely with the local colleges and Job Centre to help young people get back or get into work - hence over the past months we have had a number of new starters in training. This does not change your experience but hopefully it gives a more in depth view of the situation. We are fortunate to have a very passionate team and all new staff has managed to fully integrate within the team. Regarding the complimentary hot continental breakfast this represents another particularity of the Holiday Inn Express brand, and regarding the temperature of the food this is closely monitored throughout the breakfast shift to ensure the best breakfast experience - I will investigate your comments and discuss it/learn from it with my team. Again please receive my sincere apologies for not fully meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

St. Nicolas de Pierrepont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed here for one night. The rooms are clean comfortable and well equipped. The hotel is right in the middle of Swindon city centre, and it was a Saturday night but we weren't too much disturbed by the noise from the bars and restaurants nearby. only disadvantage is the car park is a short walk away with the cases about three minutes, and not secure. Good breakfast in the morning and we did have Wi-Fi access in the public areas too.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear William D,

Please allow me to start by thanking you for the time taken to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the location of the hotel and the rooms at your satisfaction...we hope to welcome you back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel.VERY clean and tidy, nice food and drink! staff more than happy to help and assist. Would like to say a massive thank you to Nancy, Melody and jade also i do apologise but i cannot remember name of other girl working with Melody overnight! sorry. If you are lucky enough to stay when these staff are on duty you will not be disappointed, there service is impeccable and very welcoming even though we had six children with us. Holiday Inn must be very proud to have you girls on their payroll. If we are ever in Swindon again it goes without saying we will be visiting you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Hayley317,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I was extremely happy to read your comments on the service received while at the hotel and I have personally thanked the staff mentioned on your behalf. It is a great feeling to have our efforts and passion recognized...we are genuinely very passionate about customer service and cannot have enough of this kind of comments...ha ha. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

this was my 2nd stay here visting family , all i can say is the the management and staff at this hotel are great. if we needed anything we got it , breakfast was basic but its free so you can't moan. was good to have the late bar so you can have a drink or take to your room. some nice restaurants in local area. was givin a room on the quite side of the building and would say if staying at weekends i would ask to move to the quite side , was also nice to stay on are final day till 2pm at no extra cost. will be back again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear jay651, Thank you for your warm words. I am glad you and your family had a pleasant experience.Our motto is 'Great hotels Guest Love' and I will make sure to share your comments with rest of the Team. 2pm check out is one of many perk our Priority Club members qualify for in return for their Loyalty to the Brand. I also appreciate you mentioning to call the hotel upon making a reservation and request a quieter side of the hotel on the weekends. We already have an allocation process in place however given the occupancy on some weekends, it's sometimes challenging, therefore we always advise that if staying with family or not a 'party goer' then call in advance and request a higher floor on a quite side. Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and tips with rest of the TripAdvisor community and we are looking forward to Welcome you back in Swindon and Holiday Inn Express - Swindon City Centre.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting the area. Room was large and clean with en suit shower (no bath). Room had coffee making facilities but only enough supplies for one drink each (2 people). WiFi charged at £15 a day which is ridiculous but go to fast food outlets or pubs for free WiFi. Breakfast small selection but free and as the hotel was cheap no complaints. Staff friendly enough. Stayed on a Friday and no noise from other guests. Car parking £5 a day in station car park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Chris O, I would like to thank you for sharing you Holiday In Express experience with rest of the TripAdvisor community. Your comments are surely informative and serve as useful tips to other travelers choosing to stay with us. Internet fees are set by an external provider, however in this day and age we recognize that WiFi is an absolute necessity and should be available free. We are currently in negotiations with the current supplier to enable us to offer complimentary WiFi in all areas and we hope that this will materialize in the near foreseeable future. Car parking is set at £6.00 / 24 hours and just a short walk away from the Reception. For our Priority Club members this fee is reduced to £5.00 as a token of appreciation and Loyalty to the Brand. Thank you for your comments and hope to Welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
463 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing