We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Pear Tree is a lovely building, in beautiful grounds, and easy to find. The room was small but comfortable. Dinner was excellent, well served, lovely food and a relaxing environment. Breakfast was disappointing, cold toast, over cooked egg and under cooked tomato! However, service was first class, from the moment we arrived.

  • Liked — Comfort, lttle extras
  • Disliked — Not very big
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P_SWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    79
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
68
176
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

From the moment I pulled up in the taxi outside the Pear Tree I felt relaxed. I received the warmest of welcomes and was delighted with my bedroom which was very spacious and had homely touches such as fresh flowers, a decanter of sherry, homemade biscuits, fresh fruit and ducks in the bathroom! The best thing about my bedroom was the stunning views which, having arrived late, I didn't get the joy of seeing until the next morning. I had a patio door out onto a balcony and had far reaching views across the beautifully manicured gardens and pond to woodland - idyllic! Shame I had to go to work but that was why I was in the area!! The dinner was exquisite and the friendly staff in the restaurant made me feel very at ease which made it a pleasureable experience even though I was dining alone. Would I stay again? - at the drop of a hat! I have raved about it so much to my husband that we are determined to find a reason to re-visit!

  • Liked — Homeliness and the fabulous views
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWeiryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Had the pleasure of staying here for two nights on business on 18/19 Sept.
Service at reception was excellent on arrival and they made every effort to make me confortable. Room has nice views over well tended gardens. Room itself was spotless, with fresh fruit, drinks, double bed etc. Turned down beds in evening (and they even hung up my clothes I left around)
Restuarant food was excellent and service to match and plenty of choice for everyone.
During the first day I spent much of my time working in the library - comfortable, nice views and plenty of tea delivered without being asked. (thanks Helen). Hotel was well furnished with lots of flowers to add that extra touch.
Really nice to walk around gardens and the whole atmosphere was extremely relaxing - shame to leave really after just two days.
Was about 10 mins from motorway.so good in that regard also.
One of the best hotels Ive stayed at for overall comfort and personal service at this level - would absolutely go back for sure (and indeed will). Well done the team there.

  • Liked — Comfort, quality and service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
352 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I've been going (on and off) to the Pear Tree for the last 15 years. This time was dinner for 9 with two couples staying over. Despite having a full restaurant and a large private party (in another room) the service was excellent. Another wonderful meal in a great atmosphere.

They also had a special on which was £55 for B&B if you had eaten in the restaurant. Excellent value. A good full English breakfast to start the day. Room was clean and comfortable.

You can always rely on the Pear Tree for a consistent high standard.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

A lovely hotel with friendly staff and pleasant rooms. The personal service is fantastic and the restaurant boasts one of the UK top 100 chefs, and it shows in the qualityof the menu and the food. First rate! The menu had it all, salmon, deer, beef, tuna and more and the desserts were to die for!!
The hotel is very dog friendly, with large grounds and little extra's like a chew for your dogs and a bowl. The staff were very kind and nothing was a chore for them.
The hotel decor is old, but clean and the executive room we had was lovely. Staff do their work promptly and without fuss and were almost always wearing a smile. The maitre d' was first class as was the waiter, Adrian.
The hotel was good value for money and I would certainly go back for a visit and would jump at the chance to eat there again. It cost my partner and I £400 for 2 nights, with two dogs including an executive room, with drinks. Well worth the money!

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The decor could be a little brighter
  • Tips/Secrets — Go when summer, so you can enjoy the lovely country walks
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

I have traveled a good deal throughout my life. This was one of the best experiences I have ever had with lodging. It was more of a B&B, which to me is a good thing. The wonderful, warm, friendly accomodating staff met our every need. The beautiful gardens in the back of the stone house are tranquil and enchanting (even for December).

Breakfast in the conservatory was just the best way to start a day. We enjoyed dinner one evening, as well. The service was impeccable. My husband's favorite part was basking in front of the 1400's hearth in the library, where they let us to take our dessert & coffee after dinner. I also loved the in-house pet, Jake. It truly made it feel like a home.

The decor of the interior is delightful with lots of fresh florals and greenery. The fresh fruit, flowers, home-made shortbread, complimentary sherry and water were unexpected treats awaiting us upon our arrival.

I witnessed a company Christmas party and was very impressed with the organization and wasn't surprised at the delight of the party guests.

I look forward to the time that I can visit there again!

  • Liked — The garden view from our room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank normalisrelative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing