We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Anniversary Celebration”
Review of Chiseldon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chiseldon House
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. Our rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. The afternoon cream tea was lovely. Champagne was served outside followed by a delicious evening meal in their private dining room. The staff could not have done more for us and the service was excellent. We will definitely be returning and thank everyone involved for making the occassion so special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackie_agar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 220 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Chiseldon house while working in the local area.
Very clean and tidy, located in lovely grounds.Great service by all the staff, food very good in fact everything to a very high standard and I would definitely use it for a leisure break and would recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank neilpalser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A friend of ours was holding his 80th birthday party at Chiseldon House a Hotel. We booked in overnight. Our room was large, well furnished, light. Views over the gardens. Comfortable bed. Good service from reception and bar. Smallish lounge - maybe there was another? Built of stone with an air of dignity. Breakfast was excellent, and the function went like clockwork. We want to go back for a few days short break sometime.

Room Tip: Room 10 - we would have it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

After being gone for two years, I again took seven students to Chiseldon, England for a sketching trip. The hotel of choice was Chiseldon House Hotel. I cannot say enough about this place. The accommodations are wonderful--charming and clean, the food scrumptious and the staff delightful. Unfortunately, on this trip their high-speed Internet wasn't working as well as before. If you are considering a trip to England, this is the place to stay. It's well situated for touring--only twenty minutes from the train station, which can take you from Cardiff to London. There's even a public bus that will take you to Salisbury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently met as a family for Sunday Lunch as it was our daughter-in-law's 30th birthday and wanted somewhere convenient for us all to meet. I chose this hotel as most of the reviews were very favourable and we were not disappointed. There were nine of us and 3 children aged 6 and under who were catered for very well. Despite a number of other bigger parties also there we were served very efficiently and the set menu was very good value. It was a lovely sunny day and we spent the afternoon in the lovely garden where the children were able to play and let off steam. The staff offered to cut the birthday I provided while we had it with a cup of tea on the lawn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our first visit was for a birthday celebration, they had a "Dessert Indulgence" evening, they really need to do this more often, We were so impressed that we booked the venue for my parents Diamond Wedding Party which we had about 60 people for a 2 course Sunday Lunch - everything was perfect, nothing was too much trouble.
Our third visit recently was for a family Afternoon Cream Tea for a 90th Birthday, again perfect.
We were impressed with the refurbishment that had been done, and the staff are so friendly, Mark was on duty on our last visit, and remembered me from the previous visit.
Will I go back again - Most definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you have enjoyed all your visits with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your comments on Dessert Indulgence, we will be holding another soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed with two friends for a couple of days at the end of May 2014 and we were very pleasantly surprised. Having read some of the adverse reviews we were obviously concerned but our fears were quickly laid to rest. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful, even preparing a special meal for us during their busy Sunday lunch. Most of the hotel has been redecorated to a very high, tasteful standard. Work is still in progress in some areas but looks like it will soon be finished. In any case it did not disturb our stay. Our meal on Saturday evening was excellent, well presented and served. The location is quiet and well placed for visiting the many local historic attractions. All in all, a good hotel and one we certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan&Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us & found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am delighted you like our redecoration so far. I hope you return to see the completed redecoration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
6.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
810 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,069 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
7.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiseldon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiseldon House

Address: New Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 ONE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: $117 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiseldon House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chiseldon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiseldon House Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon Hotel Swindon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing