We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & friendly welcome”
Review of Ruchi

Ruchi
Ranked #3 of 442 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Ruchi Indian Restaurant & Takeaway located in Swindon. We are open 7 days a week from 5.30Pm until late. Try our Tuesday and Sunday Evening Special - You choose 1 Starter, 1 Main Meal and 1 Side Dish and any rice or nan for only £9.90 A person, we strongly recommend you book a table for this great offer!
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly welcome”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I visited Ruchi with a friend late on Thursday july 10th after an evening at commonweal school watching Sunshine on Leith by the chocoalate theatre company. A work colleague had recommended Ruchi as she dines there on a regular basis. I was not disappointed. The service was excellent, we were welcomed warmly, and the food was of the same standard. A complimentary drink was offered after our meal and a loyalty card. I would eat here again and I would certainly recommend to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzysuperskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    98
    36
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rucci rating”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Excellent service and food......highly recommended. Staff are always attentive and food is always served with minimum delay and hot.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Knockout....”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was aiming for Spice (next door) but their empty restaurant, combined with a welcoming smile from a Ruchi waiter convinced us to try, and we struck gold.

Excellent food, we even ordered a dish that we'd tried elsewhere (182 in Neasden) - Chilli Paneer - which they took on board as a challenge and excelled! Service faultless, complimentary brandy's and an attention to customer service that MOST of the eateries in the country could learn lots from ("Would you like us to order a taxi" - how easy is that to say and welcome to hear?!)

I'm working in Swindon and so unlikely to visit in the near future, but I would recommend anyone, without hesitation, to visit and enjoy Ruchi's - really made my week!

Cheers...Ben

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My parents and I visited Ruchi for the first time on Sunday 6th July and we were not to be disappointed! Not only was the food delicious but the meal was excellent value for money helped by a Sunday discount!

There were many highlights but the main ones were the Chicken Chaat which was a taste sensation, the Lamb Bhuna which, judging by the noises coming from my mum, seemed to go down a treat and last but certainly not least the Chicken Tikka Jalfrezi. I have had many many Jalfrezi's during the past 20 years or so and I can safely say this was one of the best if not THE best.

All in all it was a fantastic meal and the free Bailey's at the end of the evening was a nice touch.

Thanks Ruchi, we are sure to come back again soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GNKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Found a new favourite maincourse”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Service was excellent and found a new favourite main course in the Pathia (sweet and sour - not in a Chinese way - and medium spicy) - gorgeous

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuggsSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruchi also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Ruchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing