We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ole!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Toro

El Toro
Ranked #55 of 431 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ole!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. Friends have been raving about it for some time and last night we went with them.

At first glance the menu suggests this is just a tapas bar. There is a good selection of tapas. but in fact these are avaiable as starters. I had a delicious bean stew with chorizo and bacon as main.

This is only a small restaurant with few staff so service is a bit slow but worth the wait. And staff are lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BennyDiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steaks in Swindon!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My partner travels the world tasting steaks and his steak at El Toro was cooked to perfection, the staff were attentive and very welcoming. There are only 7 tables down stairs but the atmosphere is great. The chef personally asked if our food was ok and I think that added a great touch.

Don't just drive by - definitely stop because this is well worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good food wasn't busy at all on a Friday night so were we're served very quick and the staff were nice too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Steak, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is a gem and the staff make you feel very welcome. looking forward to going back. I would highly recommend :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, Great Value and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Five of us recently visited El Toro for a relaxed evening of food and wine. I was impressed at the selection of tapas available and I liked the fact you can order small or large portions; perfect if you are in a group and want a variety of dishes.

We had a mixture of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes and they were all of high quality. I particularly loved the smooth chorizo on toast! The owner was highly accommodating and even let us go off menu to make our own creations. Perfect!

We had a good fill of tapas, dessert and several bottles of wine between us and the total bill was only around £40 each. Fantastic value for money.

The atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant and I wouldn't hesitate to visit again :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro also viewed

 

Been to El Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing