We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet retreat in Swindon”

Coate Water Country Park
Ranked #4 of 53 things to do in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat in Swindon”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I like to come here from time to time. It can be relaxing to take a walk through the wooded areas or pleasurable feeding the ducks, swans and geese near the entrance. In fact, it is a great place for bird enthusiasts. However, I think the little cafe is overpriced for what you get and the council should do more to control cycling in In areas where cycling is prohibited.

Helpful?
Thank SwindonMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    205
    46
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit in any weather”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We go there at least every week - just a nice country park. Has a little cafe which is often open, little steam railway, playground, fab new (free!) water park for warmer weather, crazy golf, lanterns on the lake around August time. Looks particularly beautiful in mist and snow

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sastrantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have walked round Coate Water many times over the years we never get tired of the seasonal changes,we are in our 80s and it takes us about three quarters of a hour to walk around

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank butcherx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Autumn is so beautiful”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I went there in autumn and it was so beautiful - the grass was crisply cut and all in all well maintained theres a playground for the kids andin the summer a ice cream bar! A really lovely day out.with the family

Helpful?
Thank orla123curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't go if you don't like dogs”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice park but don't go if you don't like dogs. Dogs running everywhere off their leads pestering walkers. Wouldn't go back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank timtomted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coate Water Country Park also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Coate Water Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing