We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”
Review of Harvester Swindon

Harvester Swindon
Ranked #72 of 439 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Harvester Swindon in Wiltshire food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Wiltshire, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Haydon Wick, Highworth and Penhill, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Dirty plates,dirty cutlery,had to swop starter plate had dried on food from previous use,bits of food under table,don't know what has happened to portion size???,prices still the same though.gone downhill since last visited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Swindon, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied in your visit to the Harvester Swindon, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    116
    89
    58
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Reading some of these reviews I was quite wary of going here, even with our 20% off voucher. I think people need to understand this is not a classy posh restaurant, but a typical Harvester which serves good value meals and is a family restaurant. The salad bar had good choice and was frequently replenished with a huge choice of dressings and as many bread rolls as you like. The starter platter was not the best I have had, the chicken was in fact barely warm, but the rest of it was good. Huge choice of main course and the choice of chips mash or jacket potato. All our main meals were good. The ice cream sundaes very good value too.
The service was prompt and friendly, and our waitress very helpful. Personally I think they could turn the background music down or off when it's busy because the restaurant becomes very noisy.it was clean and a nice atmosphere. Overall a good experience and I would return. It does not deserve all the bad ratings it is getting

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetsue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Swindon, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Swindon. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where is the management???”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Used to go here often however after today's performance never again - there never seems to be anyone in charge!

15:00pm stood at host stand for 5 mins before the only staff member working said shed b a minute 4 mins later (9 mins in total) we were seated only 1 other table in the building yet took 5 min for a drink order I then had to go chase them after a further 5 mins - food arrived after 20 mins that was actually nice however the service or lack of completely let's it down - all the time I've been going there I've only ever seen the manager once!

Oh last gripe 4 staff members plus 2 chefs sat at the bar in uniform eating there lunch - not prof!

Helpful?
Thank Reggie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Swindon, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Swindon. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for a Harvester”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is one of our friends' favourite places to eat, as the food is reliably good, the salad bar is almost always totally fresh (cucumber is sometimes a little shrivelled!) and the staff are lovely.
Try a few different things here as you can afford to!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Swindon, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Swindon. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Having had a rare evening off work decided to go out for dinner. Was seated quickly. Waitress was friendly and bubbly good atmosphere. Order was taken took a while to arrive which is fine as was fairly busy. When came order was wrong. Waitress took it back to sort it out as well as mine. But when came out was luke warm and seemed like been under the hot plate being kept warm. No check back was done and nothing said when clearing plates as to see if everything was ok with meal. And no one asked if we would like any more drinks.
Slowly going down hill

Helpful?
Thank crazy-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Swindon, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Swindon. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester Swindon also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Harvester Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing