We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a special celebration.”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #126 of 446 Restaurants in Swindon
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a special celebration.”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Enjoyed a memorable Sunday lunch with my wife and five friends to celebrate my wife's Easter birthday. A very genuine welcome awaited our arrival; we were seated in an intimate and cosy alcove which had been nicely decorated with balloons, etc. The service, menu choice, food, wine list and atmosphere were faultless, also very good value. All of us there would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FairbanksSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Food & Service”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a great Family Meal here on Saturday; the service is warm and the menu is well thought out with a good selection of specials too. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing meal or quiet drink”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have visited the Crown on many occasions since it reopened under new ownership a couple of years ago. It is a lovely place to go for a relaxing meal or drink with family, friends or work colleagues. The food is first rate but not pretentious.

There are several menu options including sandwiches/wraps at lunchtime and Sunday lunch as well as the standard menu and specials board. The standard menu includes a number of favourites such as fish and chips and a burger but also includes a number of more unusual dishes. The specials menu often includes a number of fish options.

As well as the food there is also a good range of drinks with a couple of well kept real ales and a good selection of wines - all reasonably priced.

They also do takeaway fish and chips a couple of nights a week.

All of the above is served by the friendly family team who make everyone welcome.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexPeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Really good and worth going again.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I visited the Crown on the evening of Saturday 7th April. We booked a table and arrived just after 7-30pm. We were greeted and seated in the bottom end of the restaurant, but it was pleasant enough but a bit of a squeeze between the fire place and the wall for arrivals after us. At that time the restaurant was less than half full but by about 8-30pm all tables were taken. We started off sharing the Anti Pasti which had some very nice flavours as well as ample portions for two to share. A bottle of Rose wine accompanied the meal which at £13-95p was not bad at all although the one on the wine list was not available. For mains I had the House Burger and my wife had the Chicken Breast, both of which were very good. I am not sure about the serving of the burger, roll etc on a wooden platter as in my view they would be very difficult to clean from meal to meal. However all in all a very good evening and we would definitely call again. Perhaps when the weather has improved and the open courtyard is available at the rear of the premises.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely, family-run establishment”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

A warm welcome made us feel at home immediately. We had arrived quite early and it appeared empty but soon filled up with couples and a number of small groups.
Prices are good value and this applies to the wine list - a well priced red wine.
A nice starter platter was followed by pork belly for her and a steak for him, both were well cooked and of good quality, the vegetables were nice although a little unimaginative and a bit sparse.
It got a little noisy as it filled up as it is a bit echoy and bare but a nice pub-like ambience. Overall a nice eating experience with a friendly family feel.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornishtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing