We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, decent value stay”
Review of Goddard Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goddard Arms
Ranked #13 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Booked very last minuite with the offer of a £45 room on laterooms. Swift call to the hotel and got the same terms over the phone. Hotel had the slightly dowdy appearance of many such venues, and had the feel of needing a lick of paint in places. Once we'd got past the various methods of entry depending on the time of day, I was shown to a suprisingly well appointed room, albeit on a busy high st (pointed out by the staff) The ensuite bathrokm had a shower over bath, which imho was too dished, and the shower head too far away - looks like an accident waiting to happen. Didn't eat there but used the excellent old town location to sample the pleasant midweek nightlife of swindon, in this case a jazz trio in the old bank. Note, the location is nof so handy if you're walking from the train station. Slept like a baby on a supremely comfortable bed, woke up, predictably by traffic. Paid £6 for the breakfast which incuded an undercooked sausage, returned to me microwaved into oblivion... And it was going so well! - if you're caught out in Swindon and on a budget, you'll get a better deal here than the big chains, so may be worth a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Alty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 216 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

had to stay over night in swindon and we really struck gold with this place, great staff and warm atmoshere in the pub downstairs, so much so we didn't bother to venture out.
rooms nice clean and warm
good breafast

would stay again!

Room Tip: all good , stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee2806old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel must have been some sort of large coaching house in the past.

It is now a large busy pub with rooms to rent above. The room was perfectly fine and the service for reception was good. Service at breakfast was fine as was the breakfast.

I stayed for £50 - fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We wanted to go for a work lunch as one of our colleagues is getting married soon. As we are limited by time (and had an extremely bad experience with our Christmas Lunch at Longs) we were concerned that anywhere could actually ensure we had our meals on time.
We wanted somewhere with a good range of dishes (we are a fussy lot), close to work and at a reasonable price. After much perusal we decided on the Goddards, well known to us Swindonians in all of its previous guises. During initial enquiries we were assured our food would be on the table at 12.30hrs. There were 9 in our party. Our choices were emailed through in plenty of time and we duly arrived with our fingers crossed....
However, we need not have panicked. Our food was on the table as promised - and really tasty, well presented HOT food it was too. We all went silent as we tucked in - then pronounced it tasty and just the right portion size. It was so good we decided on dessert as well. Desserts are £1.50 for one portion, which is in a little ramekin but you can have 3 for £3.50. It was perfect for me - I hate huge puds which I cant eat, or if I do feel too full for the rest of the day and the 'bigger eaters just had 3 (or 4!). I had the Fish, chips 'n mushy peas followed by Chocolate Fudge Cake for the grand total of £8.25. Definitely good value for money. We all agreed that the food was really good and the service was excellent. the young man on duty was helpful, polite and smiley (makes a chnage from the miserable waiters you often encounter) and the waitress was attentive and polite. It's ahuge thumbs up for the Goddards from us - we are even thinking of returning for another 'team building lunch' very soon AND it will be top of our list for next Christmas. Thank You Goddards 10/10

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driftwood63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed on a Saturday night. It's above a really busy pub - the bouncers wouldn't let me in through the main door during the evening - said I had to queue up to get in even when I explained that I was staying in the hotel! There's a night entrance though which you can get through. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Excellent value if you want a pit stop. Probably too small for a longer stay though.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hard_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this venue for one night recently on our own and had a really good stay and the staff that looked after us were very attentive and friendly and we found it on late.rooms.com and it was reasonably priced and breakfast was additional but again adequately priced and included COSTA coffee because of this we returned a second time this weekend with my parents for a one night stay and again the price was reasonable BUT it was not the same and we will NOT be returning for another visit !!
The Goddard Arms hotel is what i says on the tin but it doesn't live up to that - we returned to the hotel at 11.30pm and ordered drinks that was after a strong resistance from the door staff who were not going to allow us entry until we could prove we were resident. Once drinking up time was bellowed out, the door staff swung into action to clear customers out again that included us until we told them we were resident in the 'hotel' !! we then attempted to purchase another round of drinks but were told by a member of staff that we couldn't and he bar was shut - but this is a hotel ?? quite clearly not........another member of staff who called himself the 'duty manager' then very rudely and abruptly told us they were not a hotel and no longer able to serve drinks in the bar but we could have drinks and take them up to our rooms to consume !! we then ordered drinks which included an 'irish coffee' and this was nothing other than a black filter coffee with brandy in a seperate glass with some milk !!!
We then went to bed as the night was ruined by the service we could not have and the staff who were extremely rude and unhelpful and quite clearly just wanted to go home.
If you are looking for a HOTEL I would suggest looking for a real one and NOT to stay here if you want any form of service past midnight !!
This turned out to be really disappointing after the first visit was so nice but we will not be returning.

Room Tip: don't stay if you want hotel service as this is NOT one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martyn019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My fiancée and I had a rare night off from a 10yr old and were looking for somewhere close by and reasonable and found The Goddard Arms on the Late Rooms website. Even though our stay was on a busy Friday night for the pub downstairs, once you were upstairs you couldn't hear any noise at all, even with the window open as it was a hot night. Room 11 was very tastefully decorated with a lovely comfy bed and fluffy pillows. Tea, coffee, water and biscuits were available in the rooms. We didn't stay for breakfast, but have eaten there before and the menu is varied and very good. Centrally located in the middle of Swindon Old Town with plenty of restaurants and bars. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe20050_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#14 of 25 in Swindon
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
697 reviews
4.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.2 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddard Arms

Address: 1 High Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range: $92 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goddard Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Goddard Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing