We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed on our first visit”
Review of Bistro Les Chats - CLOSED

Bistro Les Chats
Price range: $14 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro Les Chats is a traditional French bistro where all our dishes are made on the premises with fresh ingredients. We use organic produce where practical and when it tastes the best. Our meat comes mainly from Wiltshire farms, with some specialist items coming from Rungis market in Paris; our chicken is always free range, our eggs are free range organic from Purton House Organics. Fish comes fresh daily, mainly from Cornwall,some from Scotland. Our menu changes monthly to reflect seasonal availability of fresh produce. We also offer a carefully chosen wine selection and range of French beers and ciders. Fixed price lunch and early evening menus are available, as well as a la carte. Reservations are recommended, particularly at weekends, but not always necessary. All our desserts and pastries are made on the premises and celebration cakes and gateaux can be made to order.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressed on our first visit”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Friday lunchtime. While they have a quick cheap lunch menu, we were without the kids so went a la carte.

Thoroughly enjoyable meal which was reasonably priced at £69 for two adults, three course meal including one steak and a large glass of wine each.

The menu choices are not vast, and appear to change monthly; it would be interesting to know how much it changes by. We both found things we wanted.

The decoration of the venue is very well done and gives a friendly cosy feel which fitted the menu well.

For a long leisurely lunch it was great. Wished I'd not driven and been able to have a bottle of wine.

Seeing it was 50% full at lunchtime I guess in the evening you'd likely need to book, but that would be a guess.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guppyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistroleschats, Owner at Bistro Les Chats, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much - it's always great to welcome new people and hope they will join our growing band of regular customers. Because everything is prepared fresh on the premises, we maintain a shortish menu which we change very month so our regulars (and chefs) don't get bored! in practice this means: the steaks always stay and sometimes, if something is very popular and still in season, we'll carry it over, but our aim is that if you were to come every week for a year, you'd never have to chose the same thing twice! As well as this, a daily Plat du Jour (usually fish) is available, and our soups and vegetables also make use of what's available fresh and local. We do tend to get busy even at lunchtime, so booking is best, especially if you're arranging to meet someone or are in a group. Weekends are best booked a week or two in advance at the moment. And finally, thanks for your comments about the decor which is frequently praised - at least if we can't survive the restaurant business, we can always go into interior design!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    57
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us went for a Sunday lunch which was a set menu of two or three courses. There was an excellent selection on each course and all of the food that we had was delicious. The ambience and the staff and service were very good and we would all recommend a meal there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Appealing Menu”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly my rating would be good.
Good atmosphere in the restaurant.Nice and relaxed.
I couldn't decide what to eat as there was a lot of dishes on the menu that appealed to me.A lot of the dishes seem to be done in parcels of pastry.I had the sea trout special which was good.
My brother loves eating here.Would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovegrub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been here many times before hand, but this time was one of the best meals.

We went as a family, were given the table by the window and given time to browse the wine menu. A jug of tap water arrived without asking, and when deciding on the wines the waitress gave us one to try before making our final decision. The dinner menu had a brilliant variety and we were spoilt for choice!

We chose the crab tartelette and the Celeriac soup which were both very nice and tasty as well as good portion sizes. We then had the mussles, the chicken and the pork, which were all delicious and devoured! After a little break we then had the chocolate fondant which lived up to our expectations and was surprisingly light, a perfect end to the evening.

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Swindon and we shall be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elphinstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Food in Swindon”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went for lunch with family, every course was very, very good and eating from lunch time menus was extremely reasonably priced!

Helpful?
1 Thank stevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Les Chats also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing