We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
269
286
122
44
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
286
122
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsgood sizeleisure clubbreakfast was excellentsteam roomair conroom rateleisure facilitiesreception deskrestaurant staffshort staychanging roomswould stay againplenty of parkingfriday nightbuffet styleweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 740 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Myslef, husband and our two girls stayed in the Swindon Marriott from the 4th January for 2 nights in a family room as birthday weekend away treat.
Our room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed - EXCEPT 4 cups for tea or coffee..... When we asked the receptionist on our way back in after dinner if she could provide us with an extra 2 cups for the children they were quickly delivered - along with biscuits for the children in case "they need something to dip in the tea"! So began the first of many little "touches" that showed that the staff in this hotel are thinkers as well as do-ers....
On our second day I requested from reception a knife and 4 plates - the receptionist asked what it was for and my daughter explained that it was my birthday and we were about to have some cake. A knife and plates were quickly found and off we went to eat cake - knock on the door and there is a waitress with a lovely bottle of wine for the "birthday girl"! How thoughtful!
Later that evening we were again lacking in two extra cups so asked the receptioinst (again) if we could have a couple of spares, these were quickly located - along with some sachets of hot chocolate for the children.
Whoever has trained or recruited the staff here has done a fabulous job - they are smiling, polite and happy to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.
Sadly I didn't get the names of the two girls who worked reception that weekend, but if anyone at the hotel reads this - HANG ON TO THEM!!!!! They are great staff!!!!
The gym facilities were good plenty of machines and no waiting to get on, the pool is quite small, but clean and has nice loungers - it was also quiet most of the weekend, the exception being Sunday morning when there were a few Health Club members using it - but even then it wasn't packed. The sauna, steam room & jacuzzi are all good and work well.
About 40 minutes from Bath and the same from Oxford this is a great hotel to use as a base for sightseeing.
The room was clean and comfortable and the usual good Marriott standard.
What really made this stay above average was the staff though - everyone we saw, even if we had no direct dealing with them, seemed happy, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Checked in Christmas Eve and checked out Boxing day. A very enjoyable stay with particularly attentive staff. Had a nice spacious very clean and comfortable room with two double beds.
WE ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was good and had family of six join us for Christmas lunch which was very nice,again with great service.
The Hotel seemed quiet ,so it was a nice relaxed environment.
We will hopefully return next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve smith_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were checked in by Jane, she was very warm and friendly and so was her colleague. They helped us with directions and explained all the services available in the hotel.

We had a Superior Room, very spacious, with a huge bed, nice desk chair and a sofa bed. It was good to see an extra set of towels in a bag inside the wardrobe for a 3rd person, shame it didn't have a bathrobe for the 2nd guest, or any slippers at all. Anyway, the bed linen was good quality, everything in the room worked and it was pleasant. The minibar was filled, the kettle could have been cleaner, there was some lime scale inside. The room is comfy but not luxurious, it looked like a good 4 star property, although a bit of modernisation wouldn't go amiss.

The bathroom is a bit dated, the tub had some stains and marks, it looked quite old, the seat was moving, I guess it's time to bring the bathroom up to date a bit. The toiletries were good quality but not designer (such as the ones from Hilton). There was also a scale, a complimentary bottle of water and good soaps.

We used the Health club, lovely pool, the Jacuzzi was warm but very small, it would get very cramped if more than 3 people tried to use it at the same time. Sauna and steam room were good too. This area in the hotel is also showing it's age but it was clean, and that's important.

We had a problem at night when a group of rowdy party goers came back aroun 1am, it sounded like 50 people screaming and running on the corridor, and we were the unlucky ones staying in the room next to them. Because of the connecting doors, we could hear everything, all the loud laughing and the music. Reception came up to tell them off but the noise continued so I had to call reception again. Georgina went the extra mile and moved us to another room on the same floor and later send a letter apologizing for the night's events and offering a late check out, that was unexpected and made me happy that the hotel seemed to care about our stay, well done to the reception staff.

Breakfast was good, not a huge spread but again, the service was perfect, Sarah made us feel welcome and was very attentive, as were the others working in the restaurant. We could have freshly fried eggs, omeletes, fresh fruit and bread. The muffins were tasty! Sadly the coffee tasted funny, like it was too strong, but then sarah brought us another pot of tea and we were happy.

Check out was painless, again, the receptionist apologized for the night's troubles and asked if there was anything else the hotel could do for us. The hotel should keep the staff members, they're worth it!

This is a good place to stay if you're in Swindon, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid interconnecting rooms, sound travels a lot.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This weekend I took a coach party of 53 to stay at The Marriott Swindon whilst on a weekend to Bath Christmas Markets and a trip to The Cotswolds. I could not fault the service. First of all we were talked in by a girl on Reception because the coach driver was unsure of the location. Nothing was too much trouble. Extremely efficient check in, all guests had keys in named envelopes and there were absolutely no complaints. The breakfast was excellent. The service in the restaurant was efficient and friendly. The girls on reception were very helpful, professional and friendly.
The rooms were a very good size, very clean and well stocked with towels and bathroom accessories. It was noticeable that the decoration was a little tired and showed its age but everything was in working order and totally acceptable.
I didn't have time to sample the pool unfortunately but nevertheless good to know it was available should I have had the opportunity.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to visitors to Swindon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is now an excellent, comfortable and relaxing hotel. It is so much improved since our last visit about 5 years ago. The Reception was great, the room was very comfortable and the restaurant was excellent. We enjoyed a swim in the renovated pool. We will be visiting again on our next trip to Swindon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pukkajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews