We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful authentic Italian food”
Review of Casa Paolo

Casa Paolo
Ranked #6 of 501 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Lise and I holidayed in Capri and the most disappointing thing about the holiday was the food, even on the mainland we were disappointed as we had such high expectations of the world renowned Italian cuisine. I have been here before as its my children choice of a family birthday meal, the welcome is very friendly and very relaxed, the restaurant is cosy and comfortable with a nice feel, the menu is extensive and the food is exceptional, its fresh its ascetically pleasing to the eye and even more to the taste buds. We all had different things to eat but all our plates were clear and all agreed that this was food of the highest order. Lise loves her Indian food but was more than happy to come here again as the food like the owners was an absolute pleasure.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 422 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2018

Booked this place for dinner to meet friends. Was a little surprised it didn't look more Italian inside, still felt quite like a pub which it once was. However the staff were fabulous, particularly the young waiter who was most attentive.
Service was quite quick until they went to take our main plates away and one of us was still eating. When the plates were taken away the service nearly stopped...and it took a reminder and a further 10 minutes for the bill to arrive. A three course meal took 3 hours in the end.
The food was excellent though and it was a busy ish Saturday night so maybe this wasn't the norm.
Everything was fresh and of excellent quality, staff mentioned if dishes were hot both in spice and temperature. No pizza on the menu and i wasn't disappointed. the choice was fab!
If in the area, would definitely visit again!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susies389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

4 of us went to this unbelievably great place and as usual it was gorgeous food and perfect hospitality.
Owner came out to go through the specials and explained all of the dishes to which there was many.
Spicy pate, cheese pancakes, house pate and brucetta were all great starters. The wife chicken and ham main was so tasty but it was the steak in my opinion Is the best anywhere i ve tasted. Huge piece of steak with garlic and basil potatoes was heavenly.
I review many places but this is the best in our region for quality food.
Its that good I would probably come here before a curry house and that is saying how special this place is.
Service also so good that you can see why you have to book a week or so in advance.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 146neile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

We have visited Casa Paolo on previous occasions and are always impressed with the attentive service and quality of food. From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted and shown to either your table or the bar area. The menu and any specials are explained, the chef is happy to accommodate dietary requirements where ever possible.
A lot of the food is produced locally, but the style of the food and the ambiance is very much Italian. I would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank holidaybabe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Another great meal. We often come here with our elderly relatives as the attentiveness of the manager and staff makes us all feel very welcome. The food is superb. If you have been here a few times you will find it hard to choose as there is so much that is excellent. The side dishes such as spinach are really nice too. Pricing is fair for such good quality. It's not a big restaurant so nice for an intimate or family meal. Highly recommend booking in advance.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank SteveDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Paolo also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Casa Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing