We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Spa package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value Spa package”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed one night on a spa package with three friends. Comfortable rooms which can be linked together by an internal door. Staff all very pleasant and helpful, we were able to get a bucket of ice from the bar for chilling a bottle and the food in the Italian restaurant was lovely. Also, great choice at breakfast. Swimming pool good too and lovely spa treatments up on the second floor. Have stayed twice now and would go again for the value and facilities available.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group, ask for the option of interconnected rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    614
    338
    123
    70
See reviews for
346
692
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend and my mum had a room next door. The rooms were very big the beds very comfy and the room was well furnished. I asked the staff if they could open the adjoining door to the rooms and they were up within five minutes to do it. The staff were very friendly and the spa/pool area was very nice. The breakfast was not the best which is the only reason I did not give five stars. Otherwise I can not fault this hotel would recommend it and will certainly be looking to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I really want to love this hotel as it has great facilities, modern clean decor and fantastic staff (Sam in the Victory Pub was particularly helpful and very professional). However I was disappointed by the quality of the food served in both the pub and Italian restaurant. I stayed here for four nights and tried various meals which were all under-seasoned and bland, and often over-cooked and cold too. The worst was the Fillet of Beef from the restaurant which was pricey, small, massively over-done (I asked for medium rare and got well done) and tasteless. I've stayed in numerous other Village hotels and the food has always been excellent, so it's such a shame that it's so poor here. If the quality and selection of meals were improved this would be my number one choice when I'm in Swindon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Valentine's Day, we were greeted at the door with champagne and strawberries which was a lovely touch.

All the staff were very friendly and professional.

We chose this hotel mainly for the leisure facilities which we really enjoyed and made the most of, the jacuzzi, steam room, swimming pool and sauna were all very clean, my only gripe is that they had childrens swimming lessons on the Saturday monring so half the pool gets taken up by that and its not very big to begin with! The gym looked well equipped and modern but we didnt use it.

We stayed in an Upperdeck room which we chose as the price was good and for the Sky movies however the weather was horrendous so there was no satellite signal for all of our stay! Which is not the fault of the hotel at all, it was just a shame.

We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just spent a night at this hotel with my wife, room was very good and clean, price was reasonable considering the sizable breakfast was included in the price. Plenty to do for the more active. There were two minor moans, firstly there was only hand soap on the bathroom sink and for facial washes you had to get it from over the bath. secondly the Victory Pub is missing something in the food department...........no steak! but endless varieties of wraps, its a pity really, we went to Weatherspoons which is a 5min walk away. we did return for a few beers and a couple of glasses of wine though.
Overall though I would return and we will probably book the one in Bournemouth for our next trip away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have recently stayed here. We upgraded to an upper deck room - you got better bedding, starbucks drinks in the room and Skymovies access.

The hotel was very busy when we stayed. It had a pub, Italian Restaurant and a Starbucks. The food in the pub and restaurant were good. I found the food in Starbucks quite expensive. I used the spa nice - it was small but very good. The hotel is on a "retail park" - that had an Indian restaurant, bowling and a cinema.

The hotel had a lot to do nearby - probably best for families rather than a quiet relaxed hotel stay.

Room Tip: Quite a busy hotel - good for families not so much for a quiet chilled out hotel stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked a family plus room for us and our two boys. The size of the room and the bed arrangements (a queen size and two singles) was outstanding - one of the best family rooms we have come across. However the design of the hotel means that everywhere is so dark. Very little natural light and the corridors and rooms are decorated in grey and black. We had black wallpaper in our room. There was a walk in wardrobe which was fully decorated in black wallpaper without lights and so you literally could not see your clothes!!

There are two restaurants in the hotel, an Italian and a pub. We ate in both and the food was average. Okay for the kids. The Italian then doubled as the breakfast room. Breakfast was good.

Overall, hotel okay and a great nights sleep. Just could be better with a change in colours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LoughboroughClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing