We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had a great stay at this wonderful hotel in Swindon. Big room, serviceminded people, great bar and a wonderful Starbucks. But dear english people...please wake up in 2013 and remove wall to wall carpets. It`s horrible with this carpets everywhere. And another thing...Bathtub?? Please install showers. You can`t mean that customers should climb into a bath tub, with their lives on stake, just to take a shower?PS. Check airfans on bathrooms, these are not clean. But if we look away from that.....thanks for a wonderful stay in beautiful Swindon. Will i come back: absolutely

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eNron09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,838 - 1,844 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for one night just to get away for the weekend. We looked at a lot of hotels online and were quite surprised by the price it was being offered at- we paid £59 for the night which included breakfast and full use of the facilities.

The location of the hotel is about 10 mins from the M4 and easy to find.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff who checked us in quickly.
Our room was on the first floor and although easy to find, it was quite a trek down the corridors (think cruise ship cabin lay-out style)
The room itself was lovely though. Couldn't fault the cleanliness and it included a TV and sofa.
Apparently you don't get toiletries in the standard package, although this wasn't an issue as we bought our own.
Free wifi throughout the hotel was a bonus. We used the gym and spa once we'd settled in.
This was on the ground floor and had great facilities within it (including gym machines with built-in tv and internet!)
We decided to go out for dinner in the evening, however there are 2 restaurants and a Starbucks on site for other food and drink if you fancy it. The hotel is also situated at the edge of a retail park with a Pizza Hut on it. Drinks were a little over-priced at the bar but I guess that's to be expected.
The buffet breakfast the next morning was standard and offered enough choice for a good start to the day.
Check out was easy- we got an invoice under our door in the morning stating what we owed.

The only faults that we came across in the hotel:
-The bed was very uncomfortable. There was a sign on the pillow when we got there saying we could upgrade our room to get a comfier bed...a bit useless when you don't go to bed until midnight and then realise, which by that point is too late to upgrade.
- no toiletries which is quite strange for a large chain of hotels
-Situation of plugs round the room. The kettle was on a table in the corner with no plug anywhere near it to use it. And there was no mirror in front of the dressing table so you couldn't plug in hair dryer/straighteners etc as you couldn't see to use them!
-The welcome pack was very basic and didn't explain a lot of thing eg room service options, whether to use your towels in your room at the pool or whether you get new ones down there etc

Overall we had a really good stay at the De Vere Swindon and would highly recommend it for shorts stays. For what it includes in the price we paid you can't go wrong! :)

Room Tip: Upgrade for £20 if there more than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy2891xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited the Swindon Village hotel for a long weekend autumn break and, whilst it was very comfortable with a large bedroom, we thought the overall experience was slightly less enjoyable than similar breaks we had spent in the Elstree and Newcastle Village hotels. The hotel was extremely busy (a good sign!) but made breakfast a bit of a bunfight with the inevitable queues at food counters. The swimming pool was smaller than the other hotels, however the meal in the Italian restaurant was very good. Our room was unfortunately rather dark, the blinds were broken, and heating inadequate. We would visit a Village Hotel again, but probably not Swindon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewsgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Mainly writing this due to the size of the room. We didn't stop long and can't judge most of the facilities but it looked and felt like a very nice mid-range hotel. (tbh breakfast was a bit hectic..but just a busy time I think) The triple room though was absurd. I've stayed in many triple or 'family' rooms you can hardly get your luggage into and paid a considerably higher rate. You could lose members of your family in the suite we had. Huge and very comfortable. Can't tell you the relief and gratitude you feel after a long cooped up journey to open up the door and laugh at how much room you've got. I will look out for DeVere from now on if this is the standard they stick to nationwide. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanWWW187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel room was very cold. I asked about this at reception before dinner and they assured me that the meeting would come on. When I went to bed, it was still cold so I tried to phone down to reception: no answer.

The decor of the room is dark. Even with all of the lights on and curtains open, it felt like dusk. I was tempted to put the TV on for added light. The bin hadn't been emptied and some of the corners looked dusty ( with hard light it was hard to clarify!) The only place I could find to plug my mobile phone charger or kettle was under the desk.

I can see this hotel has potential but some basic elements were just not good enough.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Never stayed at one of these hotels before, it was very clean & the rooms were very comfortable. If you have Iphone 5 with new connector, forget the Iphone dock in room. Only had breakfast, which was just OK. Meal in the evening which was a special for us was good and the staff attending us were excellent, thank you. Would consider staying again, can see that it was great for families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pana139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very enjoyable stay at De Vere Village. Went as one of 22 Solo,s Holidays customers. Treated
well from the moment I stepped in the door. Helpful and very courteous staff at reception. Had a lunch in the Pub. It was expensive but very nice and quite a plateful. The only grumble was the
hotel is sooo dark and dingy.......everywhere from reception,to our rooms. You just couldn't see to
read, to putting on makeup. etc. The room where the show was was the same. Couldn't see what we were eating ! Freddie was great, , A good atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent with the staff very good and keeping us with plenty of tea and coffee. I arrived earlier than others so there was no queues but others said they had to queue. The hotel was full so its to be expected I guess. Yes a good time . All the staff made you feel like a human and not a n umber.....Yes I would come back but I'll bring lightbulbs and I torch next time !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubasue124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
699 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,072 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: $47 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing