We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Swindon
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed over Christmas while visiting family. Everyone was really helpful and friendly. Because of my mobility problems breakfast was brought to my room and the staff were very kind and thoughtful. My room was comfortable and had everything I needed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizjpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    633
    346
    127
    71
See reviews for
360
715
66
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Well firstly I must commend De Vere hotels on their famiy plus rooms. A room specifically designed for 2 adults and upto 4 children. Our room was huge, with 2 big beds and a sofabed. A huge t.v, walk in wardrobe, and masses of space. I wish more hotels with DeVere offered family plus rooms and other hotel chains should take note.
The hotel was stylish with a friendly, helpful and informative receptionist. The hotel is located in a leisure complex, so teenagers will love it! Laser tag, cinema, bowling all located across the car park. Also Asda is 2 mins up the road for essentials or snacks.
Room service was efficient and the food from Victory was tasty. Great deal on burgers of Friday nights. One item had to be sent back as was so overcooked it was inedible, but a member of staff happily came straight up to collect it and a new rack of ribs was with us in under 10 minutes! Absoultely great service.
The leisure facilities were enjoyed by our 3 boys on both afternoons. Friday was very busy with the pool full of kids and even lessons going on. I would suggest a member of staff being present in the pool as a number of kids were jumping, diving, attempting to drown each other whilst their mothers were oblivious and chatted on the sides rather than supervise their children!!! The pool is not as great as other DeVere hotels we have stayed in, but it served its purpose. The family changing room needs a slip mat, heater and a lid for the loo.
The staff were all very polite and friendly. The room had freeview and some sky channels including Nickelodeon. Enjoyed a starbucks. Reception gave us a discount booklet for the designer outlet for aditional 10% off.
All in all definately recommend for family of more than 4.
PLEASE HAVE FAMILY PLUS ROOMS AT ALL YOUR OTHER HOTELS.

Room Tip: family plus room with bags of space for 2 adults and upto 4 kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Knowing De Vere quality we had no qualms about staying here.

The room was well appointed, and very comfortable - but at around 04.00 the insomnia fairy called and I realised that there was a quiet but insistent hum, that once your ears attuned themselves to it, would not go away.

It was obviously an air conditioning duct and we eventually found it just before turning in for the second night - in the bathroom. Shut the door and leave a cushion against it did the trick - silence!

We needed an early start on the second morning and whilst we could - just - accommodate a breakfast starting at 08.00, we got talking to people who needed to be over 100 miles away an hour later.

Perhaps they should have chosen accommodation closer to their destination - but something for early starters would help.

Would I stay again - Yes - now I know the ropes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ideal hotel to stay if Xmas shopping. Easy access to designer outlet and town centre. We stay here every year and reception staff remember us and give a warm welcome. Maria ....reception...is lovely lady who is efficient and service with a smile is her normal demeanour.
We would never stay anywhere else and the bb and dinner is so value for money.
Looking forward to our next stay and may take a cheeky night for January sales!

Room Tip: Rooms have all been refurbished and upgraded to a great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally2turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room was pretty OK - king sized bed and the normal amenities. What the other reviewers said about the lack of lighting was true - room was a little dark as the few lamps there were quite dim. Came back at about 8:15pm and the carpark was full - had to wait awhile until someone left. We took the dinner and breakfast package. For dinner we ate at Buca (the Italian restaurant) - portions were huge and quality was overall pretty good. The service was great and our waitress accommodated our requests. Breakfast was also served at Buca and was also quite good - traditional British breakfast. Small complaint was at checkout - our bill had an optional GBP1.00 charity donation added which we said was fine. After that they said we had to pay an additional service fee of GBP2.50 for using our credit card. This was not made known anywhere before we booked online or even at check-in. As we were in a hurry, we just paid up and left but felt somewhat peeved at the surprise charges.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Travellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at a few budget hotels for work recently I was pleasantly surpised here. The room was clean if a little dark and the bed was comfortable. The on-site facilities were more than adequate. I will aimto stay here again the next time I am in the area which is always the acid test.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Temple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed over for a short one night stay as we were househunting in the Cotswolds with our two young children. Whilst not really my first choice in accommodation, after a full day in the car viewing houses, we wanted to treat the kids to something that would be fun for them and we weren't disappointed. Its lively without being too loud, great pool and gym, and proximity to leisure centre, ten pin bowling and ice rink makes it ideal. Not the prettiest hotel, nor the prettiest surroundings but we got exactly what we were looking for. Family room was a decent size, clean, modern and, we believe, good value for money. My only gripe is that they didn't have shampoo / conditioner / soaps etc in the room - as I generally stay 5 star this may be normal - but as I hadn't packed anything, this was a bit of a hassle. Otherwise, did exactly what we needed it to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Swindon

Property: Village Hotel Swindon
Address: Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Swindon 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Swindon is situated on Shaw Ridge Leisure Park and 3 miles from Swindon Town Centre. The Leisure Park has a bowling alley, multi screen cinema, restaurant, Pizza Hut and a public house. Within walking distance is an ice skating rink, a small shopping area with supermarket, post office, pharmacy, petrol station. Great Western Designer Outlet Village is within a 10 minute walk. Village Hotel Swindon has 147 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon De Vere Shaw Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing