We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few minor niggles, but overall a decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Few minor niggles, but overall a decent hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

As a brand, I like Holiday Inn Express – they are perhaps my preferred hotel brand for business trips. Generally more comfortable and well maintained than their more budget competitors, but not pretentious. I feel relaxed when I stay at one. And this one is a fairly standard example of the brand.

I’ve stayed here a few times and have always been basically happy. It does however have a couple of niggles that are worth mentioning.

At night time, the hotel is well lit by a very bright orangey yellow light which can be a bit intrusive if you have a room on that side of the building and don’t get the curtains completely shut. There is also a massive, ominous looking electricity pylon passing through the car park which would spoil the view if there was one worth spoiling. However – this isn't a hotel you choose for its view; it’s one you choose for convenience.

The hotel is something of a victim of its own success. It is usually full (or very close to full) and its close proximity to the M4 seems to make it a particular favourite with “white-van man”. This means that parking can be a bit challenging if you don’t arrive early. I've never not been able to park, but I have had to circulate a few times and because of the high percentage of wide, white transits in the strangely shaped car park, some of the ‘gaps’ might be OK for a Smart car or 70’s vintage mini, but parking a modern saloon in them can be challenging…

The one real gripe I do have however, regards the restaurant area. The free breakfast at HIE hotels is always welcome and is very good, but at this hotel, it just feels like the restaurant area is too small. Every time I have come down for breakfast I have struggled to find a free table. For a hotel that must have a higher than average number of single occupancy rooms, there are very few small tables for one or two people. It would be really nice if the hotel would think about this a bit more and maybe split the tables for 4 up a bit. Also for reasons known only to this hotel, they don’t provide trays which means the tables are slower to be cleared and which makes it difficult to get your breakfast to a table (assuming you can find one). Suddenly, a nice, welcome breakfast has become an unnecessarily complicated activity.

If this sounds like a pretty negative review – it isn't meant to. These are all minor little niggles that don’t put me off using the place. The rooms are clean and tidy; the beds are comfortable. The staff are great. Overall it’s a nice place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPGDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hi and thank you for the review.
We recognise that it is the small things that can affect whether our guests return to us or not.
You are completely right that there are some mornings where there are no spaces and lots of single people sitting at tables of 4. We will be trialling a change in the layout over the next few weeks to give us more options and hopefully you can tell us if it works!
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Andy and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    276
    104
    26
    12
See reviews for
153
206
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We've stayed here before several years ago, so returned when we wanted to visit the area again. We arrived a bit early, but the duty manager sorted us a room within a few minutes. The room was basic, but spotless and the shower was excellent. Although near the M4, you could only just hear the traffic. We made a request to the General Manager, Andy, when we returned later in the evening for some sundry item and he personally sought them out and delivered them to our door. He also chatted to us (and others) at breakfast, not something that generally happens at busy hotels. The whole staff were friendly and helpful and made it their business to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Again not always the case at Business hotels.

As usual the doors made a noise when closing, but this is a general comment on HI Express Hotels

Would we return - most definitely when we are in the area again.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for the review.
As a team we aim to make all our guests feel welcome and valued and this should be seen from all of us. We love meeting guests, making their stay special and if we get recognised along the way then that is a bit of a bonus.
As for the banging doors please mention to the team the next time and we will get on the case to adjust the doors to ensure you get an undisturbed sleep.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Andy and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised, we had a party to attend in the area and we could not have chosen a better location as our base. The only thing that I would say if that if you include sausages in the "free" (included) breakfast whats the difficulty with cooking bacon?
If that's the only niggle then HIE are obviously doing something right, and I would not hesitate to book here the next time we visit our friends who live locally.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan190742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for your comments.
It is a difficult thing to deliver a breakfast within the room rate that is appetising, tasty and with enough variety to please the majority of our guests and on the whole I think we manage to achieve this.
The "bacon question" comes up regularly and although we keep reviewing our offer it is unlikely that Holiday Inn Express as a brand will look to change this in the near future.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on company business with three other colleagues. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. The staff were competent and professional. The evening food in the restaurant was really great! We were surprised, expecting basic food and getting really tasted meals.
One gripe is that the cooked breakfast was a bit limited, no bacon!! But for something "free" it's hard to complain at all :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good morning,

Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We work hard to deliver a great experience for all our guests.

I am pleased you have recognised that what we do we do it well.
Our competitors may offer bacon or mushrooms for their breakfast offer, but is it worth another £8-9 per person on top of what we offer as part of the stay? (My question may be controversial, but we do believe that we provide a great value offer with excellent rooms, free wifi with no time restrictions as well as a substantial breakfast that sets you up for the day ahead)

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Arriving at 1 in the morning, after a delayed flight, all I wanted was a quick check in and a comfy bed, which is exactly what I got. I had phoned ahead to say I would be late, so when I arrived the man on reception had my information and key card to hand. The room was comfy, and quiet, and it was nice to have a sofa in there too. The breakfast was good, I would have liked a bit more of choice with the hot food, but considering it was included in the price, it was fine. It was particularly good to see the manager going round at breakfast, clearing tables and actually chatting to guests. I noticed he was asking everyone he spoke to if everything was OK with their stay - makes a change being asked that part way through rather than just when you're checking out. Overall all the staff I met were excellent, polite, friendly and helpful. A couple of bugs - more to do with the chain than the hotel. When trying to find the phone number online to ring ahead, I could only find an 0871 number. Also it wasn't very clear from the booking confirmation email I received that I would be paying at the hotel - I had assumed my card was charged when I booked. That said, if I was in Swindon again I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for you kind comments about the team (and me)
We want all our guests to have a great stay and it is so much easier trying to sort issues when they occur or when you don't feel pressured at check-out.
All of the team want to sort out any issues so please feel free to ask them (even the small stuff)
We do operate an 0871 number for the hotel (charged at 10p a minute from a landline) but if you want you can book with our central reservations team there is an 0800 number.
The bookings confirmation should clearly say if the room is payable in advance or if payment is due on arrival, but I will investigate to make sure we are clear in our confirmations.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hykeham,Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions whilst visiting friends in the area and have never been disappointed. The bedrooms and bed linen are spotless and are a credit to the cleaning staff. The check in was fine and all staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and we found the staff quickly filled up when getting low. Although the hotel had two bus parties in when we were there the tables were cleared quickly and certainly caused us no worries. We had a slight problem whilst we were there and Leigh on the reception desk handled it swiftly and efficiently and couldn't have done more and we thank him for that and is a credit to the Hotel. We look forward to returning to the Hotel in the future especially if we can find some good rates and thank the staff. Well done.

Room Tip: near the motorway but even rooms on that side were quiet as the windows well glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanHykeham_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am pleased we consistently meet your expectations and it is great to see team members recognised for their customer service. (I can assure you this will not go unrewarded)
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a family room for three nights over the weekend. It was lovely and spacious and the beds were comfortable for both us and our girls.
Having breakfast included in the price is always a bonus and there's a nice selection of Continental and cooked items. However on each of the three mornings we found that stocks ran low or out before being replenished and whilst staff were visible, they seemed very busy clearing tables etc, so it wasn't always possible to catch their attention to show that items were running low or had run out, let alone ask if they had any trays for us to use.
Holiday Inn Express nationally is our current hotel of choice and this latest trip has not changed that view.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank QueenBess16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks for the review.
Although we are clearing tables and replenishing the breakfast, we are never too busy to speak to any guests, so please don't feel awkward asking us for anything.
I am pleased you had another great stay and thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Express.
See you soon

Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing