We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!!”
Review of Mela

Mela
Ranked #50 of 441 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely food, friendly staff and good service. A great place for a curry. Have visited twice this month!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with 4 friends . I have been here before but not for a while and I have reminded myself to go there more often. Food was lovely and the menu is more interesting than your usual curry houses. The nan bread is HUGE ! They even gave us ladies a bottle of wine to take home. Great service great food and an enjoyable evening

Helpful?
Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice Flavours and Great Service”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went to the Mela with a group of thirty colleagues as a leaving do for another. I was my first visit to the restaurant, but I was very impressed with both the quality of the food and the level of the service. We went on a Monday night and had pre-agreed a deal with popadoms, a mixed starter and a wonderful selection of curries, side dishes and various naan breads, some as big as a small country, on their own hanging frames. Also for the non lager drinker, they also sell bottles of Hobgoblin ale. I will return with a smaller party and sample the standard menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshirewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the flavours”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited the Mela for the first time and was not disappointed the garlic chilli chicken was amazing to taste along with the biggest garlic and ginger nan I have seen.
The service was friendly and welcoming and I left with a full stomach and was satisfied with the experience..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolofSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Melalicious indian food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Welcome greeting from the owners. Was taken upstairs for our table, there was no atmosphere at the top, would booked ground floor next time. Service was excellent, well looked after during our visit. The food was fresh and tasty. Do order one nan bread even if there are 4 of you as its humongous. Every item on the menu was reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mela also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing