We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable accommodation excellent food A* service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #29 of 45 Swindon B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Reliable accommodation excellent food A* service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been staying at the Saracens Head in Highworth Swindon since last Spring and have stayed there at least twice a month over the last year. (usually for one night a week on business.) There are two standards of room the refurbished and the old style of room. The Brewery only did about half the rooms. The new rooms are really nice, and for a 2 star hotel it is a good place to stay. The breakfasts (prepared and served by Val) are really special and tasty. I have even bought one for £5 on days I haven't stayed. The evening meals are also excellent value. They employ a high calibre chef and with a rump steak for £6 its a no brainer choosing my evening meal! The bar staff are pretty and helpful. They serve great real ale from casks. I love the place....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_anne_mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
17
27
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, it took 3 attempts to find a suitable room. Eventually, I got rm 1, which was very nice, except it was above the door to the patio, which slammed closed every time it was used, so couldn't sleep til after midnight. Also, there was a hole in the bathroom window frame, so it took ages for the bathroom to warm from the towel rail.

Breakfast at weekends not served til 9am, which I think is too late. Breakfast was included i the price and as I was leaving at 8.30, I asked for a sandwich to be made the night before, which they did for me but was obviously a disappointment as I had been looking forward to a full English.

It is a handy location with free parking and very good staff. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and had a good, reasonably priced and well served meal. (Cottage pie was delicious)

Room Tip: The first rooms I was shown were single ensuites 6 & 4. They are not fit for purpose and should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I love this old Hotel in Highworth. I have rated it average because aspects of it are very good and others quite poor. It is a beautiful old building and has a wonderful old bar. Most room are refurbished and en-suite, but I stayed in a single which had its own bathroom elsewhere. A small room, in need of updating and noise from the bar would disturb anyone turning in early. But, what can you say about £30 for the night including the best breakfast that I had had in a long time. It was just as well that the breakfast was good as the evening meal was gristly lamb, described as chops, but in reality just a slab of meat. It is a feature of the pub that I have noticed before, you don't always get what you are expecting, but it is reasonably priced. After the meal and as I had already drunk the 1 bottle of cold Kingsdown beer available I opted for a whisky. There were a few empty bottles on the shelf and only Bells available. In fact a poor selection of spirits. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere good. So great and poor = average.

Room Tip: If you are on your own and cost is important try room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addlethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Advise by local people to eat here. Small selection available but prices are reasonable. However waited for 95 minutes to be served. The wait would have been more acceptable if a member if staff had advised there was a waiting time or apologised for the delay and offered complimentary soft drinks. When food did arrive it was tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaymaxyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in July. A very old pub, beautiful flowers in hanging baskets outside, nice village and yet only about 8 miles from Swindon town centre. There is a 24hr Tescos about 6 miles away.

Village has the usual nice pubs, Indian/Chinese takeaways. A few places to eat. The restaurant in the pub looked nice oldy worldly type of décor although we did not eat there it was quite busy. Pub has very large parking area to the rear and a court yard drinking area.

We stayed in Room 7 which I would highly recommend. The décor was lovely and so clean, a very nice place to relax. Room looked out onto the street but no noise. There is a back entrance so you can come and go even when the pub is closed.

Some reviewers have mentioned difficulty in finding the rooms through corridors etc, you have to remember this is a very old original building. If you want uniformed corridors, even floors and no character you would be better booking a Travelodge.

Would not hesitate to stay there again - but I would ask for Room 7 again.

Room Tip: Definitely Room 7, could not fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie_World94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice rooms with good food and kid friendly.
Good base for exploring Cotswolds.
Breakfast by Valerie second to none!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on business in room 7 which is a single on suite room ( would Also be suitable as a double)
The room was well appointed with a large bed , modern showroom and was decorated in neutral colours making the room very calming.
Being directly connected to the pub meant that good food and even better beer was easily available and was served by friendly efficient staff.
The hotel/pub is on the high street and this has a good small selection of local shops.
Large free car park,Wifi and very keen pricing make this a great alternative to the budget chains that charge for everything !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iprodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.0 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Property: The Saracens Head Hotel
Address: Market Place High Street, Swindon SN6 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing