We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin as possible”

Toby Carvery The Friary
Ranked #108 of 442 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery The Friary. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Swindon’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Thin as possible”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A big que builds up, one chef serving on the carvery and they still insist on spending ages slicing the meat as thin as possible. If you look at other carvery's such as Sally pusseys, the Toby is so really dated. Roast potatoes are hardly cooked let alone crispy, I had all four meats and couldn't tell the difference between the turkey and pork. Not a great experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    124
    75
    50
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We almost live in here!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Whilst the restaurant is tired, the staff and very friendly and the food great value for money. We always use the online vouchers and get there early as we have a 1 year old. He loves it in there too. He makes a mess but the staff just accept it. Can be busy at times, but worth the wait

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicki_J46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mostly amazing some times not!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Visit this restaurant alot as i generally enjoy it although on rare occasions its been not to the standards i usally experience, with the food tasting like it has been left sitting around to long it isnt so tastey, but it will always be my favourite roast !!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Amiee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous every visit”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fabulous every visit and a great choice of Gluten free. The service is friendly, fast and top class. Great for all the family

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a midweek roast”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here on a Wednesday evening for a roast, the carvery meat was beautiful and they had some really good veggies. Also liked the thick gravy, pleasantly surprised by the overall experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWoodwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery The Friary also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery The Friary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing