We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location better than average.”
Review of Jurys Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Swindon
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here last year and found it comfortable and good value so returned for one night. It's still good value,nicely decorated with good, clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Nice to have a nice deep bath to wallow in. We had a room on the 8th floor overlooking the road on a Saturday night and even though we had the windows open any sounds of traffic and revellers was muted. Pillows could be better. Usual selection of food at breakfast. Meal in the evening was fine, nothing amazing but perfectly presented and fresh. Our young waiter was lovely. All in all a pleasant overnight stay. The car park is quite small and gets filled up and you have to pay £5 to park overnight. Wifi not free £5 an hour!! Not good. Close to shops if you are a shopaholic.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to avoid traffic noise. We heard nothing much from other guests even though our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,389 - 1,395 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is my second stay at Jury's Inn Swindon. The first stay I had a 'superior' room. It was £70 and then I paid £10 for breakfast. I was woken up at 11am by knocking having not been told what time check out was the night before. I then was late for breakfast, again I wasn't told what time this was? They did however find me some food, which was nice. The young man working was wonderful! Mr Parker I think his name was.

However, tonight I paid £39. I have a room on the same floor as my 'superior' room, and the only difference I can see is that last time 10 minutes after I arrived in my room a woman turned up with water in bottles, and biscuits. Oh and a wifi code. So as far as I can see I paid £30 for wifi and water? These things to be honest I expect to be free?

Swindon is a load place. So is heathrow airport. If they can cancel out the sound why can't this place?

All in all it was a comfortable stay. However I do feel I've been let down by the price. The breakfast considering I was late, was good!

I didn't use the night time bar so I can't comment, it looks good though.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room. The traffic is non stop and every car in swindon has a giant exhaust!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etchy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

That's my second stay at Jurys Inn Swindon, and I will definitely go back!
It's not a Palace, but the staff has always been very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and good size, the location is quite central and the facilities well thought for business traveller.
A great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yugs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The competition for good hotels in Swindon is not high. I have to travel here for work and the look of the alternatives for the price makes staying here an easy decision.

The hotel appears to be relatively new and is clean and the staff are attentive, however it seems that no matter what im told when I check in, that info isnt passed on.

ie, told Breakfast included, went for Breakfast and the name not on the list for either day. Have credit in the restaurant and its not automatically applied. Its been the same all 3 times ive stayed now..

And, please, can you sort the bar area out, the service is so slow. For example, last night there were 4 people behind the bar and only one serving. I waited 10 minutes for a drink and I was the only person waiting. Not really good enough for me

Room Tip: If you can get a king sized room, get one! the rooms with a double and a single in them have limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a very good hotel that offers great service. The hotel staff is friendly. The rooms are cosy and have comfortable beds. The bath room is clean. We only stayed for one night but had a great night's sleep there. very recommendable if you are staying around Swindon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here last Saturday night whilst visiting friends. Good online rate of £39. This did not include breakfast and you do have to pay an extra £5 for the car park, but the hotel is right next to the town centre, so left the car there and walked. Checked in at 1pm, quick and easy and our room was ready. We asked at reception for a restaurant recommendation and the manager gave us two, Di Vinci and Rendezvous. Decided on De Vinci (Italian) – great recommendation.
The room was average size, clean and quiet, possible because the hotel did not look busy and we was on the 8th floor which meant there was no outside noise.
The only food we eat in the hotel was lunch in the bar with a drink watching football on the big screen. The food (chilli con carne and chicken burger) was freshly cooked and not warmed in a microwave; a pleasant treat.
If you are looking for a simple low cost stay in Swindon then Jury’s Inn is the place.

Room Tip: On a fairly busy junction, so choose a higher floor (there are 9) then you don't hear any outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Jurys Inn, Swindon is conveniently located close to the town center, railway station and bus station, however parking here is very limited and the car park is often full meaning that you have to use the council run car parks to park here.

The check-inn process was certainly very lengthy, on a busy Sunday evening, there were a number of people, however only one desk was open. It took nearly 20 minutes to check in which is totally unacceptable.

The room was what you would expect from this type of hotel and met the requirements. It is a shame that a number of hotels now include wifi as part of the offer, however Jury's do insist on charging you £10 for 24 hours, totally unreasonable.

The staff in the restaurant were friendly, however waiting 45 minutes for a pint of coke, despite several reminders whilst they changed the post mix container is not on. On average a 3 course meal took over 3 hours to arrive and the food was of an average standard. On one morning there was not enough people staying in the hotel so the breakfast buffet turned into an order through your waiter, which again was a lengthy process.

All in all it was an average stay. If work is not paying for you like it was me and you don't want breakfast and can go somewhere else for dinner then its an OK place to stay, however you would get better value at Premier Inn etc if all you wanted for the night was a room to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradfordgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review Bradfordgull. I would like to sincerely apologise for the standard of service that you received during your stay. I will be thoroughly investigating delays experienced at both check in and in the restaurant and appropriate steps will be taken to prevent against a similar occurrence in the future. Jurys Inn Swindon does charge for Internet, however free connection can be obtained against a purchase in the bar or by signing up to Jurys Inn Rewards. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further should you wish to contact me direct. Tel: 01793 445 600 Mail: paul_clifford@jurysinns.com. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post this review, your co-operation and constructive comments have been very worthwhile and will help to ensure that service standards are restored.
Kind regards, Paul Clifford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
1.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
692 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Swindon

Address: Fleming Way, Swindon SN1 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Swindon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: $62 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Swindon offers an ideal city centre location, just a short 8 minute walk from Swindon train station. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minute drive/ 14 minute bus ride from the Windmill Hill Business Park for those visiting on business, and within an easy 5 minute walk of The Brunel Swindon shopping centre and Wyvern Theatre for leisure guests. Jurys Inn Swindon is within a short walking distance to a variety of restaurants, cafes, bars and local pubs. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the Multi-storey Car Park between Princes Street and Islington Street, a short 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable and stylish bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Swindon with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing